We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks & atmosphere, service a little slow.”
Review of Hippo Creek - CLOSED

Hippo Creek
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great steaks & atmosphere, service a little slow.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

3 of us came for a meal on Sunday night. Staff very friendly, got seated right away. Wasn't overly busy. Good menu choice, ordered steaks and pork ribs. 45 minute wait on our food wasn't great, but other than that everything was very tasty and cooked perfect! Recommend for meat lovers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SIW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    19
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good meat”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to the Hippo Creek on a Saturday night and were lucky to get the last table when we called in to make the reservation on Friday. We all had meat - different cuts - and everybody at the table seemed to be pretty happy with what they got. Same goes for the starters.
We had a very nice Shiraz from SA - a bit pricy though, like many of the wines on the menu.
The dessert list is not the most extensive one I have ever seen, but the mix platter we took was again a winner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdalhoefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Steaks were good but not worth the prices they are charging, the staff need to slow down and smile beacuse we are there to relax not be rushed.
The chicken main on the menu may want to be reviewed as it was marked as a gluten free dish and had couscous as a side, i asked the waitress was it gluten free as traditionally made from 100% wheat she had no idea!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went to this restaurant for a birthday celebration dinner & everyone was pleased with their food. Steaks were done exactly as ordered & those who had the chicken were delighted with their meal. Outside the restaurant is not very impressive, but the interior is designed in African decor, wait staff were African or South African & very efficient & polite! A very enjoyable evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An Experience with Mixed Results”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited Hippo Creek to celebrate our wedding anniversary with some friends. The atmosphere was good and the furnishings were appropriate and tasteful. There were a bunch if chairs in the entry and this made us feel like we were coming in the back door in a way. The menu was not very African - there was a crocodile dish but it was tiny for the price. There was smattering of biltong and buffalo and venison but generally the meals were steak. The tiger prawns, chicken and crocodile were very very dry. It was overall a fairly average meal. I don't think we will visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Creek also viewed

Subiaco, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing