We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Perth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro des Artistes

Bistro des Artistes
Reserve with
Bistro des Artistes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 98 Restaurants in Subiaco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value for Perth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

All 6 of us Thoroughly enjoyed our meals. 3 courses for $75 including a small bite of cheese after the main & a pre-desert desert. This is excellent value in a city where the cost of eating out can be quite prohibitive. The beef olive was beautifully cooked & the mash lovely & creamy, creme brûlée, whilst served cold, had a crunchy toffee top & hint of orange liqueur through the custard. Atmosphere is very French bistro indeed.
A mix up with my overcoat being given to another patron has not yet been resolved & I have had to suggest they call other patrons to resolve it.... I assume they will offer to express ship it to Sydney for me - we shall see.... Overall though a good experience with food, value & atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lferretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    51
    27
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cygnet, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food But...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is always sad when a restaurant experience is ruined by something as irritating as pompous staff. I treated a good friend to lunch there and although I wanted her to experience the food I was sorely tempted to walk out of the restaurant because of the waiters over inflated ego.
Our food was good in fact the John Dory dish was amazing with beautifully balanced texture and flavour. The Duck Comfit was as always meltingly good but when served with sauteed potatoes a little on the greasy side, but it was a treat so my cholesterol worries were placed on hold. The Creme Brulee was very well exectuted but served cold without any trimmings. A little cream would have rounded out the dish. The Bluberry pie was all bit " Ho Hum" but then again this is a bistro. I did contemplate a bottle of wine but the waiter was getting impatient! We decided on a glass each which pleased the waiter who seemed to be in a hurry to finish his shift.
So our long lazy lunch was cut short. All a bit odd considering the Bistro opening hours are from 10am to 10pm. While we lunched quite a few patrons were turned away for being too late for lunch. So much for customer service. All in all wouldnt return for this sort of service.
On a positive note the waiter who was taking over from the lunch shift was bright and friendly and our post lunch coffee was the hightlight of the meal. Second time here and honestly not worth the money for the substandard service. '

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank starz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fine food, ambiance lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having booked 1 week ahead for a Friday lunch was not enough to secure a nicely placed table, with a white tablecloth in a quieter area. On arrival our initial irritation was to be sitting next to the bar alongside a very busy aisle. Service was fast and efficient, so efficient an unfinished glass of wine was whisked away. The food was beautifully presented and perfectly prepared, from the wonderful quiche for starters and the meal of the day of duck. Our next visit will be enhanced by nominating the table we want in or close to the front window alcove with a tablecloth. We found the small area very noisy as the restaurant filled. This hastened our departure without desserts.
.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Devine food, great French bistro vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch on a Saturday, didn't book but got lucky with a table. Would recommend booking to not miss out on this Subiaco gem. Firstly the service was very good, our waitress was attentive and happy to assist with information about the food and wine. The wine list was small but good, with a nice selection of general and premium wines. We started with salmon croquettes which were a generous serve of glorious fresh salmon, cheesy potato filled crispy wonders served with a lovely tartare sauce. My companion decided to try the lamb neck in sweet/sour sauce that the menu description did not do justice. The lamb was amazing, the sauce infused the meat and left it melt in the mouth. The John Dory fillet was equally delicious served with creamy mash and a very good beurre blanc sauce. Dessert was divine, an orange infused creme brûlée that left us wanting to lick the plate! Great coffee to finish, this was an amazing meal at a very reasonable price in Perth. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fork Talk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floreat, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My second visist and whilst the food was good, albeit small portions, the service from staff who had little knowledge of the menu or service was dissapointing. There is increased use of backpackers in resturrants these days however that is no excuse for not giving them effective training. Lack of knowledge of the menu and options, poor drinks service including no beer glasses (and when we got a glass it was a wine glass, wine poured into a half drunk glass of beer etc is not good)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro des Artistes also viewed

Subiaco, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 

Been to Bistro des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing