We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Fromental B&B and Inns
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in La Traverse in April 2013. It was the perfect alternative to an impersonal hotel in the center of Limoges. It is five minutes off the A20 motorway so can be a great place to make an overnight stop when travelling South. Neil and Melanie are a friendly couple who run the place since September 2012 when they bought it off the previous owners. While we were there we saw all the bedrooms and bathrooms and they are all as nice as each other. The huge garden is the perfect place to have afternoon tea while the kids run off and play or a quiet aperitif before dinner. The dinner is very much like a nice four course meal you would have at home. I would definitely stay here again and I have already recommended to all my friends!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
88
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

La Traverse is an attractive building set in lovely grounds. The rooms are a good size and very clean. I particularly liked the attention to detail - quality shampoos and conditioners in the spacious bathroom. We stayed at La Traverse for three nights and during our stay Melanie and Neil couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. We enjoyed beautifully cooked food here every evening and the desserts were delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just stayed at La Traverse for the 2nd time and will return again in the summer. The building is beautiful, set in lovely grounds. The rooms are luxurious clean and spacious. Our rooms were perfect for our family as it was a large double and a twin linked by the bathroom (also lovely!!) Neil and Melanie are wonderful hosts, who clearly know how to make children as well as adults feel welcome. The food is beautiful and was the best meal we had during our France trip. The garden is very peaceful and we were lucky enough to enjoy some sunshine!! I cannot recommend la traverse enough and guarantee that you won't be disappointed if you choose to stay!
We look forward to seeing Neil, Melanie, Baxter Bear and Boris Bear again in the summer!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cateyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champniers-et-Reilhac, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here whilst traveling through this area of France, we received a warm welcome on our arrival, were shown to our spacious room with views of the garden.
The dinner was to a high standard and all home made, served with a nice bottle of Corbières.
Our bed was very comfortable with nice quality linen and we both slept very well.
If you would like to have the experience of a fine piece of French architecture carefully restored to it's former glory La Traverse is certainly worth a try.
Neil and Melanie are great hosts and I can not recommend this b&b highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Spain, what a find! Our room was an extremely comfortable suite on the top floor which had a separate twin room for our two children. The bathroom was spacious and spotless with plenty of towels (and a lovely view of the garden from the bath)

Whilst we enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the shade, the children explored the beautiful garden with the help of Sophie. Dinner itself was home cooked and delicious, everyone dining sat at the same table, we really enjoyed chatting with the other guests.

Kate and Ian had just sold the B&B so I really hope the new owners have kept up the high standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmsterdamCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed overnight with Neil and Melanie en-route from Bordeaux to friends who live in the Loire.
Neil and Melanie are a delightful young couple who were really welcoming and friendly, offering us tea on arrival (which was much appreciated as we'd have so much coffee on our trip!) and was served in their lounge.
The house is large and well presented and we were impressed with the size of the bedroom we had. In fact we had the choice of 2 - we chose the one with a larger bathroom (though the room itself was preety big!)- which was indeed extremely large and fitted out with modern, immaculate fittings. The added touches of quality toiletries and luxurious towels were much appreciated.
Having had a poor night's sleep the night before (due to an old mattress we suspect) we were delighted that the bed itself was so comfortable - again attention to making sure the bedlinen was good quality and fresh. We had a very restful night.
Breakfast was lovely - continental, served in a large and light dining room where I assume they serve evening meals. Though we hadn't booked dinner, we wish we had as we are sure it would have been delicious! We ate down the road Manoir Henri IV - (see our review!) - a mix of highs and lows!! On our return we were offered a glass of wine and a beer which Neil and Melanie were happy for us to take to our room which was very much appreciated as we were pretty tired by then.
Our stay was perfect. Quiet, comfortable with luxurious touches and perfect hosts. We highly recommend La Traverse and thank you Neil and Melanie for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: I am sure any of the rooms would be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabithascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed one night en-route to Spain. Neil & Melanie were wonderful hosts and could not do enough for us. On our arrival we enjoyed a chilled glass of wine in the lovely garden and afterwards we dined in style in the beautiful dining room and were served with delicious home cooked food. Our en-sutie bedroom was very comfortable and traditionally furnished. We would have loved to have spent more time here and hope to return in the future for a longer period. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fromental
2.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 3 in Bessines-sur-Gartempe
54 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
#1 of 1 in Saint-Etienne-de-Fursac
103 reviews
10.5 mi away
Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Domaine de Vareilles
Domaine de Vareilles
#1 of 1 in Vareilles
105 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chateau Lezat
Chateau Lezat
#2 of 6 in La Souterraine
82 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alexia
Hotel Restaurant Alexia
#5 of 6 in La Souterraine
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B

Property: La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B
Address: 75 la Traverse, 87250 Fromental, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Fromental
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fromental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning 19th century "maison bourgeoise" has been tastefully and sensitively restored maintaining many of its outstanding original features such as marble fireplaces, ornate ceilings and oak parquet floors. Rooms combine the opulence of traditional French fabrics and chandeliers together with the convenience of modern bathrooms. Situated just 5 minutes from the A20 Paris - Toulouse autoroute and 25 minutes from Limoges, La Traverse Chambres D'hotes is the ideal place to stay in the beautiful Limousin area, just near Bessines-sur-Gartempe and La Souterraine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing