We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Fromental B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Spain, what a find! Our room was an extremely comfortable suite on the top floor which had a separate twin room for our two children. The bathroom was spacious and spotless with plenty of towels (and a lovely view of the garden from the bath)

Whilst we enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the shade, the children explored the beautiful garden with the help of Sophie. Dinner itself was home cooked and delicious, everyone dining sat at the same table, we really enjoyed chatting with the other guests.

Kate and Ian had just sold the B&B so I really hope the new owners have kept up the high standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmsterdamCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
88
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed overnight with Neil and Melanie en-route from Bordeaux to friends who live in the Loire.
Neil and Melanie are a delightful young couple who were really welcoming and friendly, offering us tea on arrival (which was much appreciated as we'd have so much coffee on our trip!) and was served in their lounge.
The house is large and well presented and we were impressed with the size of the bedroom we had. In fact we had the choice of 2 - we chose the one with a larger bathroom (though the room itself was preety big!)- which was indeed extremely large and fitted out with modern, immaculate fittings. The added touches of quality toiletries and luxurious towels were much appreciated.
Having had a poor night's sleep the night before (due to an old mattress we suspect) we were delighted that the bed itself was so comfortable - again attention to making sure the bedlinen was good quality and fresh. We had a very restful night.
Breakfast was lovely - continental, served in a large and light dining room where I assume they serve evening meals. Though we hadn't booked dinner, we wish we had as we are sure it would have been delicious! We ate down the road Manoir Henri IV - (see our review!) - a mix of highs and lows!! On our return we were offered a glass of wine and a beer which Neil and Melanie were happy for us to take to our room which was very much appreciated as we were pretty tired by then.
Our stay was perfect. Quiet, comfortable with luxurious touches and perfect hosts. We highly recommend La Traverse and thank you Neil and Melanie for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: I am sure any of the rooms would be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabithascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed one night en-route to Spain. Neil & Melanie were wonderful hosts and could not do enough for us. On our arrival we enjoyed a chilled glass of wine in the lovely garden and afterwards we dined in style in the beautiful dining room and were served with delicious home cooked food. Our en-sutie bedroom was very comfortable and traditionally furnished. We would have loved to have spent more time here and hope to return in the future for a longer period. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for one week in La Traverse and it was a wonderful experience in a beautiful l typical French House. The house is set in lovely peaceful grounds and our hosts were amazing, very friendly and attentive. The evening meal was just superb and our room was a delight with en-suite, fluffy white towels and good quality bedding.
We will certainly return and can really recommend La Traverse.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of similar size and Quality with en-suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EumundiDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked this B&B at the last minute and were delighted with the experience from the minute we arrived to when we left. The new owners Neil & Melanie O'Donnell were excellent hosts and couldn't do enough for us to ensure we had everything we needed. The house is just gorgeous and could have featured in an edition of homes & gardens in France. We had dinner which was really good and very good value, featuring home cooking at it's very best. We both slept wonderfully well and woke to a lovely breakfast of the freshest bread & croissants and good coffee. We'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janlikesorchids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for one night en route to the Pyrenees. The house was easy to find, close to the motorway but in a peacful setting. We were warmly welcomed with a drink and shown to our room which was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view over the garden. The bathroom was huge and spotlessly clean.
We chose to have the evening meal which was excellent and served either indoors or in the garden. Although all the other guests chose to eat indoors we were assured that it was no problem for us to stay outside. The food was extremely good and accompanied by a nice bottle of wine.
We had a very relaxing break in our journey and would go out of our way to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neetwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

An oasis on the L'Occitane. The B & B is just besides this highway. The kitchen is simply first class (do not hesitate to book menu). The rooms are nice. Ideal as a stopover. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rietkast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fromental
2.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 3 in Bessines-sur-Gartempe
54 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
#1 of 1 in Saint-Etienne-de-Fursac
103 reviews
10.5 mi away
Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Domaine de Vareilles
Domaine de Vareilles
#1 of 1 in Vareilles
105 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chateau Lezat
Chateau Lezat
#2 of 6 in La Souterraine
82 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alexia
Hotel Restaurant Alexia
#5 of 6 in La Souterraine
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B

Property: La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B
Address: 75 la Traverse, 87250 Fromental, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Fromental
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fromental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning 19th century "maison bourgeoise" has been tastefully and sensitively restored maintaining many of its outstanding original features such as marble fireplaces, ornate ceilings and oak parquet floors. Rooms combine the opulence of traditional French fabrics and chandeliers together with the convenience of modern bathrooms. Situated just 5 minutes from the A20 Paris - Toulouse autoroute and 25 minutes from Limoges, La Traverse Chambres D'hotes is the ideal place to stay in the beautiful Limousin area, just near Bessines-sur-Gartempe and La Souterraine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Traverse Chambres d'Hotes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing