We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time in authentic atmosphere”
Review of Buffelsfontein

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffelsfontein
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I had such a great time at Buffelsfontein. Willy was the best host/ranger we could only ever imagine. The national park doesn't feature the big five, but that didn't bother us at all. We were more than happy to see giraffes, rhinos, ostriches, springboks any many more. Even though some animals (lions, lynx and a cheeta) are in a cage, the experience of being there when they get fed was unforgettable. We stayed for two nights and the standard of the bungalows is very high. We can only recommend going to Buffelsfontein. Only little downside: The food in the restaurant was not a highlight.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil_grieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 44 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Due to my work I have the privilege of staying at many game parks, but I have never experienced the service, quality of food, friendliness, professionalism and luxury accommodation at any of then as my wife and I experienced here. Willie was outstanding and everyone went out of their way to make our stay so unbelievable. I can wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What a wonderful lodge - spotless, such friendly and helpful staff, excellent food and the general hospitality of all is unbelievable - nothing was too much trouble. Will recommend to anyone going near there - you cannot go wrong by staying there

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Glorious views, perfect food and a very comfortable room. Saw the night feed and had a game drive the next morning when saw nearly all the animals, an amazing experience. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Just before dinner the owner's son came and told us to jump in the jeep - he took us off to see the Rhinos at the water hole, an incredible sight...... and so was my steak when we returned...the biggest I've ever seen. Many thanks Indeed. George & Di

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We chose Bufflesfontein because it was close to Capetown, but we discovered it was a fabulous place to spend the day. Our guide was personable and knowlegeable. He went out of his way to make sure we saw many of the game reserve animals. The cheetah and lynx were fantastic! We loved seeing the graceful giraffe! We had a lovely lunch outside on the patio. Our servers were always there to assist. We highly recommend a day trip to Bufflesfontein!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Came here after a visit down the road to the San people cultural village !Khwa ttu which was also very informative and about five minutes south of the turn-off for Buffelsfontein. The ostrich seemed to be the welcome receptionist. We had reserved lunch and the room was very open as we were there in winter. The guide was quite personable and informative and we got to see blue wildebeest and springbok which are not native to the Elephant Coast safari reserves in the northeast of the RSA. Also many other animals. It was a great intro to native fauna. As we booked the 2 pm tour we returned to the lodge to pick up some others- it was just us two on the ride- and went to the pens containing jaguars and caracols. We were allowed in the pen with the jaguar to pose for a photo with it in the background being totally focused on its frozen chicken dinner. Then we went to the building with the outdoors area and lion cages where five of them got fed by us- mostly tossing a frozen chicken on top of the inside cage. Up close and not for the feint of heart. Hey, we're talking food chain here- predators that were in rehab and couldn't be released back to the wild. Quite an experience and a great day! BTW- lunch was reasonably priced with ample, tasty portions.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight so we didn't view the rooms, which I suspect were well-appointed as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonagold4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a lovely venue for a day outing or a week! The safari drives guarantee animal sightings. One can also view the lions and if you are lucky there may be cubs. Large swimming pool, clean comfortable rooms. The most scrumptious South African home cooked meals. Well worth a visit for the whole family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darling hotels
0.2 mi away
Darling Lodge Guest House
0.1 mi away
Jacaranda House B&B
Jacaranda House B&B
#3 of 7 in Darling
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Granary
The Granary
#7 of 7 in Darling
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Disa Lodge
Disa Lodge
#5 of 7 in Darling
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daisy Darling Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsfontein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsfontein

Address: P.O. Box 116 | Darling, Darling 7345, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Darling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Darling
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing