We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
119
15
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful garden honesty bar guest house attention to detail lovely place on arrival lovely room cape town the main street excellent breakfast we loved our stay fossil park little touches perfect choice guest lounge comfortable rooms kind regards
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 135 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The house is funished warm and romantic and makes you feel at home at once. We had a lovely room with Victorian bathroom, lots of space clean and comfortable. Breakfast is more than complete with fresh fruit, good bread and the owners are cooking your egg and serve them how you wish.

The garden is like a secret hidden place with beautiful flowers, a big palmtree and in the corner is a lovely pool with deck chairs where you can stay the hole day relaxing and enjoy the silence of Darling, the little village with a name worth it.

Unfortunately we staid here only on night but this guesthouse is one of the reasons to go back to South Afrika. Stefan and Oliver, thank you for your hospitality, sipping wine in the back yard and bying art!

Room tip: room on the street side; Darling is a very quite place.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citr0en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver_and_Stephan, Owner at Darling Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear citr0en,

Thank you for giving us your kind feedback about your very recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt at home at Darling Lodge Guest House.

It is especially nice to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility of our garden as well as our rich breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit in South Africa!

Best regards from Darling,
Oliver Studer & Stephan Moser
Owners Darling Lodge Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

A lovely place to stay, very exquisite rooms (try the bath tub!), each one individually and tastefully decorated, wonderful hosts who know where to go and what to do (and serve great breakfast!!). We had just a great time, thank you Oli and Stephan. We will come back, not only for the Basler Läckerli :-).

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

During our 3 week holiday in South Africa we also made a trip to Darling which was a great pleasure but too short. We saw a wonderful performance by Peter-Dirk Uys in a hilarious satirical political show which we enjoyed immensely (as well as the delicious lunch served in his establishment) and we only wished that we could have seen another one. We stayed at Darling Lodge which was taken over from its previous owner about 4 months ago by two Swiss guys who have really made their own mark on how the lodge is run. The whole place is full of very thoughtful and charming touches which made the stay there very pleasant. The rooms are not big but delightful and comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast prepared by them, both meals were unbeatable and delicious. Other lodge guests and the hosts joined us for the 3 course dinner for which we could bring our own wine – the evening was a delight. The next time we travel to South Africa, Darling, Peter-Dirk Uys and the Darling Lodge will be on the map, but we will definitely make it a longer stay.
Ole and Yvonne

Room tip: We had a pleasant little room and en-suite shower at the back of the garden near the swimming pool. See photo.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ole_and_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 3 lovely nights in this "boutique" guest house. Stephan and Oliver (both Swiss) took it over in September and are truly hospitable hosts. On 2 January there were no restaurants open that evening so they cooked us a delicious 3 course meal which the 4 of us enjoyed in their gorgeous dining room. They have a full honesty bar and great wine selection. They are very knowledgeable of the area and nothing is too much trouble for their guests. Our rooms were well equipped and spacious and set apart from the main house down by the pool. We shared a lovely flower festooned patio where we enjoyed our sundowners each evening. Their garden is beautiful and the lounge and dining room in the house very tastefully furnished. Fantastic breakfasts too- try the muffins!

Room tip: They are all lovely!
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swift2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

First time for us in Darling ,happy to find room at Darling Lodge without any prior reservation.
At this charming place.. in this special village ,Dorf; Stephaan and Oliver did everything they could to make our stay very ,very pleasant. They have just owned the Lodge for a few monts after they relocated from Switzerland and really express their passion for the guests and their guesthouse.
The traditional full English breakfast was a treat .Nice bedrooms with full linnen beds.
The cottage in the colorful garden by the pool gave nice privacy.
Excellent place to stay at that provides value for money in a charming warm atmosphere.

Room tip: Ask for the garden cottage ,calm and nice privacy by the pool.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karl_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews