We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be taken in by the Internet website”
Review of Halyards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halyards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The booking agency that we tried (SafariNow) was unable to obtain any response to our enquiry for accommodation at this establishment, so after several days of fruitless waiting we made a direct telephone booking (lured by the impression created by the hotel's Internet website). In order to obtain both "luxury" and a king size bed I was told that the "honeymoon suite" was the only accommodation that complied.

The reception was confrontational (the description of another reviewer as "bordering on rude" is apt). We were allocated room 9 at ground level. It did have a separate lounge and a king-size bed but that was where meeting our expectations ended. The suite was tired and dank. There was a pervasive smell of mould that worsened during the night, and it appeared obvious that the suite was left closed up for extended periods and not maintained to any significant extent (this seemed to be confirmed by the facts that both television remotes had batteries that were dead, and that lamps did not work). One of your recent reviewers (apparently a nearby resident who visits the hotel's restaurant regularly and is presumably not a staying guest) speaks of the rooms having been renovated. If room 9 has been renovated one shudders to imagine its previous condition.

All in all, this is the worst place at which we have stayed, exacerbated by a price more usual for four- or five-star accommodation (R1260 for the night).

Room Tip: Choose another establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KMK_GBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 320 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in Halyards en route to a Game Reserve and had an excellent stay. The position is superb and the facilities excellent. The pol is a welcome relief from the heat. Just sittin on the terrace and watching theactivity on the river was so relaxing. The breakfast buffet was ok but we have had better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnfurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Visited the Charthouse restaurant in the Halyard Hotel in Port Alfred, South Africa for lunch. This is a three star hotel, in a pleasant location on the marina. However that is about all going for this restaurant. The food is off indifferent quality, poorly presented and lacking in taste or subtlety. Additionally the restaurant area was dirty with flies sitting on the open platters food. Altogether, although not expensive, this establishment is in sore need of a shake up. If you must stop in Port Alfred, play safe and try one of the national franchised establishments.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarkastad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We visited the Halyard Hotel in Port Alfred (luckily) for one night only. Upon arrival, we waited an hour to be checked in. They took our ID's and everything needed for check in, and then advised us to sit in the lobby and wait while they do the check in and cleaning of the room. Before arriving, we called them to ask what time check in is, and we arrived an hour later than that - so there is NO excuse why the room was not ready.

Secondly, we wanted to have dinner in the hotel's restaurant, when we arrived there at 7, they were still busy setting the tables and cleaning up after lunch. We were really looking forward to their dinner, as we have read in their brochure that they have an excellent menu for dinner. Finally, after we had to seat ourselves, and call for a waiter ourselves, we were told that the dinner menu is NOT available and that only the lunch deck menu is to offer (in other words sandwiches etc.). We got up and left to eat at an outside restaurant!

Their rooms are clean, so no problem there, but we only had one coffee, milk etc. even though we paid for a double room (2 people).

Another thing that really bothered me, is that, just outside the hotel room, there is a small house that holds all the litter. The "house" is open, with no door, and the litter was pealing out lying on the grass everywhere. You have to pass this to get to your car!

Read my other reviews and see my positive input about the other places we have visited - this review is not just negative because I am difficult person to please or a pessimist - Halyard Hotel was REALLY disappointing and totally overpriced for the service we received.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AEMSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We booked into the Halyards Hotel for 3 nights after Christmas. The pool and deck area is very nice, and the service there is good. The room, however, was disappointing. The bed (2 singles pushed together) was very soft and uncomfortable, the fixtures are old and outdated, the bathroom is tiny and they only leave 1 toilet roll when servicing your room!! The room (bathroom) was also not very clean on arrival.The breakfasts were quite nice and the room a good size with a nice view over the marina. For the price paid, it was an expensive stay which didn't match up to expectations. Next time we would much rather book a B&B or smaller more modern and comfortable lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Nice modern hotel with good sized rooms with balconies overlooking an attractive waterside development. Large beds, separate loos, sport filled TV, nice bar (very slow service with 30 thirsty punters & one bar staff) reasonable buffet supper & large, good breakfast too. Nice decked area with pool.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We found the white (reception) staff to be fairy abrupt - bordering on rude, however the black staff within the hotel were lovely and so friendly. The town itself is nothing special but at least the hotel had views of the gated canal estate which temporarily made you forget about the very run down town on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
0.5 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
385 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
18.7 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halyards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halyards Hotel

Address: No 8 Albany Road | ., Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: $54 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halyards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Halyards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halyards Hotel Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing