We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Fare in restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Halyards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halyards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor Fare in restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Visited the Charthouse restaurant in the Halyard Hotel in Port Alfred, South Africa for lunch. This is a three star hotel, in a pleasant location on the marina. However that is about all going for this restaurant. The food is off indifferent quality, poorly presented and lacking in taste or subtlety. Additionally the restaurant area was dirty with flies sitting on the open platters food. Altogether, although not expensive, this establishment is in sore need of a shake up. If you must stop in Port Alfred, play safe and try one of the national franchised establishments.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarkastad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    99
    75
    22
    23
See reviews for
86
106
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We visited the Halyard Hotel in Port Alfred (luckily) for one night only. Upon arrival, we waited an hour to be checked in. They took our ID's and everything needed for check in, and then advised us to sit in the lobby and wait while they do the check in and cleaning of the room. Before arriving, we called them to ask what time check in is, and we arrived an hour later than that - so there is NO excuse why the room was not ready.

Secondly, we wanted to have dinner in the hotel's restaurant, when we arrived there at 7, they were still busy setting the tables and cleaning up after lunch. We were really looking forward to their dinner, as we have read in their brochure that they have an excellent menu for dinner. Finally, after we had to seat ourselves, and call for a waiter ourselves, we were told that the dinner menu is NOT available and that only the lunch deck menu is to offer (in other words sandwiches etc.). We got up and left to eat at an outside restaurant!

Their rooms are clean, so no problem there, but we only had one coffee, milk etc. even though we paid for a double room (2 people).

Another thing that really bothered me, is that, just outside the hotel room, there is a small house that holds all the litter. The "house" is open, with no door, and the litter was pealing out lying on the grass everywhere. You have to pass this to get to your car!

Read my other reviews and see my positive input about the other places we have visited - this review is not just negative because I am difficult person to please or a pessimist - Halyard Hotel was REALLY disappointing and totally overpriced for the service we received.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AEMSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Alfred hotels

Johannesburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We booked into the Halyards Hotel for 3 nights after Christmas. The pool and deck area is very nice, and the service there is good. The room, however, was disappointing. The bed (2 singles pushed together) was very soft and uncomfortable, the fixtures are old and outdated, the bathroom is tiny and they only leave 1 toilet roll when servicing your room!! The room (bathroom) was also not very clean on arrival.The breakfasts were quite nice and the room a good size with a nice view over the marina. For the price paid, it was an expensive stay which didn't match up to expectations. Next time we would much rather book a B&B or smaller more modern and comfortable lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Nice modern hotel with good sized rooms with balconies overlooking an attractive waterside development. Large beds, separate loos, sport filled TV, nice bar (very slow service with 30 thirsty punters & one bar staff) reasonable buffet supper & large, good breakfast too. Nice decked area with pool.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

We found the white (reception) staff to be fairy abrupt - bordering on rude, however the black staff within the hotel were lovely and so friendly. The town itself is nothing special but at least the hotel had views of the gated canal estate which temporarily made you forget about the very run down town on your doorstep.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We decieded to treat the kids to their first hotel stay, one that we could sort of afford and where we thought we could enjoy the kiddies program and have some Mom & Dad time for our 12 year wedding anniverssary. Needless to say, the kiddies program so wonderfully advertise consisted of a jumping castle & a conference room (not mentioned on check in) filled with toys - great - but in a state, no supervision etc. The 'kiddies co-ordinator' was unfriendly and unhelpful and because we did not stay Friday and Saturday night (but Sat-Tues), the kids were not included in any activities. The rooms were lovely and the managers on duty fairly helpful. I never complain about places we stay and most times we are invited to top lodges all over SA for free, here we paid a fortune and were treated as if we were a mission. We still waiting for the ice......

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulovane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

The Halyards Hotel is located in the marina in Port Alfred. This is a superb location, right on the water and away from the main road. It is a very attractive location and surrounded by boats and other stylish properties.

We stayed for 2 nights in the Luxury suite (room 28) with a lounge and 2 upstairs bedrooms. The views from the balcony were superb and, if you can afford the extra, take one of the two luxury suites.

The food is excellent, with a magnificent evening buffet and a good breakfast option. The waiting staff are very pleasant.

Port Alfred itself is pretty ordinary except for the beach (wicked sand dunes) and harbour. It is, however, a fantastic location for visiting the game parks and surrounding areas.

The hotel has, apparently, recently changed hands and this may be part of the reason why the managerial and reception staff are so rude. We arrived at noon to be told that we were early and that there was no where to store our bags. They eventually agreed to put them in reception but we were told there were no porters, so we had to move them ourselves from the car park.

When our rooms were available, we asked for some help to be told that they did not employ porters but that housekeeping will bring our bags to our room. Fortunately we were there where a poor old black lady was asked to move all of our heavy bags to the room. The reception staff were rude to us and her. Needless to say, we took our own bags but is just goes to show that, whilst there may have been elections and a new political agenda in South Africa, the attitudes of the whites in this area are yet to catch up. This was even more surprising, as the place holds itself out to be a Christian owned organisation.

The reception staff are more interested in their social lives than helping the guests and the only time we saw a member of management was when we almost parked by mistake in one of the prime parking spaces they reserve for themselves by the reception building.

There is an outdoor pool at the hotel and an indoor one at the Halyards Lodge (which is about 500m away and is free to use for hotel guests). The Lodge, unfortunately, is very poor quality, the pool changing rooms are filthy.

What is a great shame is that the attitude of the white staff here is the only thing stopping this from being a world class establishment.

  • Liked — Location and food
  • Disliked — Staff attitude - it was so bad, it would mean that I would not return but other might find it OK
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWB2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.5 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
0.2 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 25 in Port Alfred
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#7 of 25 in Port Alfred
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halyards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halyards Hotel

Property: Halyards Hotel
Address: No 8 Albany Road | ., Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Hotel Class:3 star — Halyards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halyards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halyards Hotel Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing