We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house with lots of room”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Westend House

Westend House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Westend House
Lounge Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Westend House
Lounge
Dining area
Main Deck
Kitchen
Main deck overlooking West Kleinemonde estuary
Lounge
Braai and outside dining area
Braai and outside entertaining area
Main bedroom with king size bed
Main bathroom with partners bath
Main downstairs bedroom with two 3/4 beds. can be pushed together to make queen size bed.
Main level king size bed
Downstairs main bedroom with walk in shower and free standing bath
Top level library and reading nook.
Top level bathroom with freestanding bath
Downstairs second en-suite bedroom with two 3/4 beds. Shower only.
View of Kleinemonde from R72. Westend is to the left of the frame on the inland side of the R72.
Second main level bedroom with two 3/4 beds and adjacent bathroom with bath and shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CD_Ryder
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house with lots of room”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here for a few days - and hosted a couple of family reunions here.
The house is large, spacious and very comfortable. There are 2 terraces (on different levels) overlooking the river (with sea views in the distance) and a large patio with barbeque and outside dining space. Opening up the large sliding doors links the patio to the house and to the terrace.
The only gripe was with the condition of some of the kitche fittings and utensils. A house this size really needs more plates, cups, bowls etc. and cooking pots etc. to suit large groups. Some of what there was quite elderly, battered or worn out.
Overall - a great experience. We would hesitate to recommend this house to others, especially for the larger group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality of furnishings
Liked least: Kitchen equipment and fittings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2016
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Westend House. I must sincerely apologise for the state of the kitchen utensils - these have all been replaced now. We replace them every year before Christmas, so you just missed the new sets, but we will do this more frequently from now on. I really wish you had let us know that you needed more crockery and kitchenware - we could have organised you whatever you needed in a flash. We would also have pointed out the extra sets in the small kitchen downstairs - and topped you up with all the spares in our store room. We take our guests comments very seriously, but as nobody has ever complained about this before we are very sorry it was not as you had wished. We have now added another set of crockery to the main kitchen.

Please could you clarify for the readers of your review if you would or would not hesitate to recommend us - I suspect a typo in your last sentence, as you gave us 4 stars, and say its a great experience. If you would indeed hesitate to recommend us then please do let us know what else we must improve.

We hope to host you again!

Kind Regards,

Anja and Etienne Albertyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIL2363
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The initial wow factor quickly evaporated at this house on the lagoon after we found it to be in serious need of a good clean. The fridge had residue of mouldy food and the ovens were full of grease as were the work survices. We had to wash all crockery,cutlery and cooking utensils before we could use them. As soon as we plugged in the kettle it blew the electrics,luckly the manager was there when this happened,iron was found in bits in the garage there was gheko dirt everywhere. We were a party of 4 mature adults and the only thing we could rave about was the view over the lagoon and the peaceful setting.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2016
We are horrified to hear of your experience with a dirty kitchen. We take cleanliness very seriously, especially since we pay for and rely on professional cleaners. What bad luck that the iron and kettle had to blow almost at the same time, but I am glad our manager immediately replaced them both for you. We are really very sorry that this made you title your entire stay a disappointment, and hope you still managed to enjoy the beauty and serenity of the place as much as others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliS82
East London, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything and more...”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Westend is a beautiful mansion, which is secluded on the banks of the Kleinemonde River, it is so well positioned, you feel like you are in the middle of paradise with no one else around. The property is very well equipped and has everything one needs for the perfect holiday. It is a very short car trip away from the Kleinemonde beach. The birdlife from the decks as well as the area is absolutely astounding. The property is also very well designed open plan and sheltered for windy days, and for the cherry on top, the property is a perfect pet friendly destination as it is very well enclosed and secured. Thanks very much to our hostess Anne, we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, bird life and pet friendly
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
Hi Alistair,
Thanks so much for the great review. We are very happy to hear that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Regards, Anja, Etienne and Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWilso...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Tranquil and neat”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We had a pleasant stay with friends. The house is situated over looking the river below.
Bird life, monkeys and the cry of fish eagles with keep you entertained for hours.

I will definitely go there again to this beautiful home.

Regards

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigstol...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This place is like home away from home.

It has such a homely feel to it that we were comfortable the minute we arrived.
The views of the river are fantastic and the bird life is incredible. The house is designed so that even if its too windy to sit on the balcony, you can sit at the braai area at the back and still drink in the views, wind free :)

The house was very clean and we had no issues with dirty bedding or bathrooms.

Will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Set among the trees, on the River bank, this spacious and luxurious house is definitely worth staying at. Hornbills hopping around in the garden , Malachite and Giant Kingfishers diving into the river while a pair of African Fish Eagles circle overhead. What else can I say.... I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B
Addo
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were fortunate to have the privilege of staying at Westend for 3 days. This luxurious home (not cottage) is set in the unspoilt indigenous bush on the west bank of the Kleinemonde River with a panoramic view of the river. The home is spacious and designed for open air living with open plan kitchen, dining, lounge, braai area and deck all flowing into one. All bedrooms are en-suite with either river views or looking into the unspoilt bush with fantastic birdlife.
This is a place you need not leave for the duration of your stay, as the saying goes "it's good for the soul"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. I did not go onto the internet in 3 days so I don't know if there was wi-fi!!!!!!!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing