We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, Fab breakfast!”
Review of Zest Cafe

Zest Cafe
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, Fab breakfast!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

What an excellent place Zest is, from a warm welcome on arrival, to really good coffee to one of the best breakfasts in years. We splt the healthy breakfast of homemade granola, yoghurt and a huge plate of fresh fruit and nuts, and the potato rosti with bacon and poached eggs with sauce Benedict on the side. It was all gorgeous, most items were made by Zest themselves, and the portions more than ample. Will we drive here fom Grahamstown for Saturday brunch again? you bet!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great but overpriced”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I love everything about zest cafe. The coffee is the best in Port Alfred & the food is good but I do find the menu to be rather pricey. A basic chicken wrap for R85, breakfast fruit salad for R72, all rather extreme. I have eaten food at some amazing cafes and have yet to find a wrap that costs R85. I don't mind spending money on quality food but charging gourmet food prices for basic lunch time meals doesn't make sense to me. All in all I would go back again but not as much as I would like to.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cptgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Zest Bakery / Cafe - Port Alfred”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

discovered this quant little rustic shack in Port Alfred
delicious bean soup on a cold day
fresh bread and tappas on offer
well priced and very fresh ingredients
will visit again when in that neck of woods
friendly staff and management
very cosy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randalll248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Zest Cafe”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

A lovely lovely place to chill and eat well!

Worth finding, Meals are beautifully prepared and presented, your only difficulty is to CHOOSE-everything I ate was delicious and my hot and cold drinks were good too.
I rate this venue 'tops' for ambience and 'experience'. Front-of-house staff and service is very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aideen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Port Alfred”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My hosts in Port Alfred take me there whenever I visit and it never disappoints. An interesting combination of breakfast ingredients, a lovely garden and very friendly staff. The owner greets everyone like long lost friends and make you feel very special. Not to be missed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest Cafe also viewed

Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Zest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing