We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kowie River Guest House
Ranked #1 of 25 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

What a treat to stay for 5 glorious days at the Kowie River Guest House. Dale is a darling, the service sublime , the breakfasts beautifully presented and the facilities really and truly first class. We would not hesitate to recommend. Thank you!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisatonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
It was our pleasure having you stay with us.
Thank you for the lovely review you have given us.
We appreciate it
Kind regards
KRGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
88
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in our comfortable, tasteful designed and decorated room. Our host, Dale with his suburb breakfasts and his attention where much appreciated. This was one of the best stays we had on our seven week trip round South Africa.

Room Tip: There are four room which look out over the river. All are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Ahhhhh, I like the caption!!!
Thank you for the lovely review.
Kind regards
KRGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our family stayed at the Kowie River Guest House recently, using it as a base from which to explore the Port Alfred/Bathurst area. We were very impressed with our host Dale; not only was he really efficient as 'front desk manager', but he was also a true revelation in the kitchen, cooking up two very memorable breakfasts for our family. We enjoyed the well-appointed family room; although it did not face the Kowie River, this did not detract from the experience since the weather was not perfect, and we could still quite easily walk the river frontage area and enjoy the natural surroundings. We left feeling refreshed and contented. This establishment deserves the full 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review
It was lovely having you stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back
Kind regards
KRGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E Kent,UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a lovely guest house run by lovely, and very helpful people. We had a large, modern, well equipped and comfortable room with a great view over the Kowie River. Super breakfast and Port Alfred has some great, sandy beaches

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review
It was lovely having you stay and that you were able to enjoy our Guest House
Catching -up on the Dutch was also great!
Kind regards
KRGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Kowie River Guest House surpassed all our expectations. Situated beside the River Kowie, it enjoys wonderful views and makes a great base for exploring the area. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. The piece de resistance had to be the breakfast - the best we had throughout our stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.
It was our pleasure having you stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back when next you are traveling in our area
Kind regards
KRGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Almost hesitate to recommend this guest house - would like to keep it a secret! It is amazing! The rooms, views and breakfasts are superb. Dale is a wonderful host and chef - nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for 4 nights and were very reluctant to leave. Next time we shall be there for much longer. Easy walk into town.

Room Tip: Choose one of the 3 rooms overlooking the pool and river - the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RODNEYANDPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for the review.
We enjoyed having you at our guest house.
We look forward to a return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed at Kowie River Guest House at the end of January with our daughter and son-in-law. A wonderful welcome and superb facilities. This is definitely a Rolls Royce B and B with nothing too much trouble and outstanding catering from Dale, the Barefoot Chef. Wish we could have stayed longer than 3 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golferra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for the review.
We hope you return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 25 in Port Alfred
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 25 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowie River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowie River Guest House

Property: Kowie River Guest House
Address: 10 Colegate Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation situated on the banks of The Kowie River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kowie River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowie River Guest House Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing