We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best guesthouse on the eastern coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kowie River Guest House
Ranked #1 of 26 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo
2 reviews
“best guesthouse on the eastern coast”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Dale studied tourism and hospitality in Cape Town ... much to the benefit of the guest ... our entire stay was a thoroughly relaxing experience once we crossed the door of Kowie River Guest House ... Swimming with the river tide, breakfast or looking from your bed onto the river ... try yourself! Best place we stayed on our 3 week trip down the coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kerim e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for the review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
90
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fantastic five days in a great setting with perfect host and not forgetting the barefoot cook. Would recommend this place for anyone wanting a quiet get away with great views of river and hills.Great stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.
We look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a wonderful stay from beginning to end. Great accommodation, great attention to detail, great service!!! We loved the breakfasts and the chef was amazing. Such a friendly family run business :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for the review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bang Saphan, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Well what a find,spent 5 nights in a great location on the Kowie River .The Humhrey,s are great hosts and make you feel most welcome and nothing is to much trouble for them, even made visting family welcome,I would recommend this this quest house for a quiet peaceful place with a great view of river and hills..The barefoot chef was the cherry on the top.

Room Tip: Three front rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This beautiful guest house right on the Kowie river in Port Alfred is a gem for couples to try.
It is run by the Humphrey family and you find that nothing is too much for any of them to assist or serve you.
They really make your stay!!!
The entrance is so inviting you walk in and know it is the right place.
There are rooms right on the river the river with a magnificent pool between the river and the the rooms.
The rooms are exquisite and have a self catering option with with gas stove and microwave.
The TV is modern with the necessary DSTV channels.
The bathrooms are really beautiful and have the most attractive doors as well.
A room with a view and one will not forget.
Everything is so well manicured and kept it makes everyone so comfortable.
The lounge and dining area are also overlooking the river and the rest of the valley which makes it so tranquil and relaxing you won't want to leave.
Dale Humphrey the son and chef of note also offers various expeditions such as fishing on the river or deep sea as well as a hunting excursion, all very popular.
The place is simply the best try it you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: It is exactly in the middle of a trip between PE and East London, really easy to find, the last road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glanks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent one night at Kowie River Guest House and I wish we had stayed longer. Dale has to be one of the best Guest House hosts we have come across. Every detail was perfect, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The house itself is so well styled and your made to feel welcome using the houses facilities. In the morning Dale becomes the barefoot chef and produces an amazing breakfast on the veranda. His home made muffins are out of this world.
Do yourself a favour, stay here even if you don't need to stay in Port Alfred for any other reason.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review.

There is always a fresh batch of muffins coming ouit the oven....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Thank you so much for making our stay, albeit a very short one, so very comfortable and enjoyable. Your guest house exceeded my expectations (I fell in love with your house!) and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
It was lovely having "the ladies" staying with us.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.2 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
329 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
287 reviews
16.2 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
0.8 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 26 in Port Alfred
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowie River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowie River Guest House

Property: Kowie River Guest House
Address: 10 Colegate Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation situated on the banks of The Kowie River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kowie River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowie River Guest House Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing