We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer luxury. Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kowie River Guest House
Ranked #2 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent one night at Kowie River Guest House and I wish we had stayed longer. Dale has to be one of the best Guest House hosts we have come across. Every detail was perfect, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The house itself is so well styled and your made to feel welcome using the houses facilities. In the morning Dale becomes the barefoot chef and produces an amazing breakfast on the veranda. His home made muffins are out of this world.
Do yourself a favour, stay here even if you don't need to stay in Port Alfred for any other reason.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review.

There is always a fresh batch of muffins coming ouit the oven....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 169 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Thank you so much for making our stay, albeit a very short one, so very comfortable and enjoyable. Your guest house exceeded my expectations (I fell in love with your house!) and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

It was lovely having "the ladies" staying with us.

We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The barefoot chef is a great host and a wonderful cook in magical surroundings
We were delighted from our arrival until our departure This must be amongst the best B&B's in the world wevhavecalready told any friends to visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lester D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for the kind review.

We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A one night stay turned into two wow what a place! Dale was a perfect host ,chef and all round helpful guide . If you are staying in Port Alfred this is the only place to stay you will not be disappointed they have though of every little detail .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123PAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for the review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Kowie River Guest House in October. The owners, Graham, Ditte and Dale went to great lengths to provide excellent service and make us feel at home.

Our rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated and we immediately felt relaxed. The rooms were quiet and we slept soundly. The view across the river with the hills in the distance is spectacular.

We enjoyed really great breakfasts served by Dale, the "barefoot chef", with something different every morning - smoothies, freshly baked muffins, soft poached eggs and good coffee!

Dale who is also a very keen fisherman, took us fishing upriver and explained how the air pressure affects the chances of catching fish. Along the way we saw waterbuck, mountain reedbuck, kingfisher, Knysna loerie, burchell's coucal, and heard a fish eagle. The river is beautiful and stretches over 21km.

We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandLCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for the review.

We look forawrd to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Kowie River Guest House from 19-21 October 2013 and absolutely loved it! We travelled with our 2 kids aged 2years and 6months old. The guest house is a beautifully renovated, exceptionally run establishment with amazing attention to detail and impeccable customer service. We couldn't sleep well the first night because our 2 year old couldn't settle as she is normally used to sleep alone in her own room. Hearing this, Ditte offered us the room next door for her to sleep in in her cot. We all slept like babies the next night! We also got extra milk in the fridge for our 2 year old. Breakfast was also divine, with home-baked muffins by Dale, the barefoot chef:) and locally sourced produce including honey and eggs. The exquisite is also from a local producer from nearby Bathurst. There was an honesty and great work ethic in everything the family did. We had a relaxing and enjoyable time. We will definitely be going back. It is now on our list of favourite places to stay in South Africa!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibicism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for the review.
We enjoyed having your family around and look forward to showing you our beautiful river on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is my second vist to Kowie River Guest House. Service as before was personal and excellent from first greeting to final departure. Superbly appointed rooms with all amenities. Breakfast is treat worth waking for and a trip on the river fishing as the sun goes down makes it all worthwhile. 5 Star!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowieRiverGH, Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for the review.
The rods are rigged and the fish hungry, awaiting your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
1.5 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
315 reviews
15.4 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
0.7 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
331 reviews
1.7 mi away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 27 in Port Alfred
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowie River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowie River Guest House

Address: 10 Colegate Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: $96 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation situated on the banks of The Kowie River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kowie River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowie River Guest House Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing