We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”

The Wharf Street Brew Pub
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The "Wharf Street Brew Pub" is situated on the historic Wharf Street in Port Alfred. It is housed in the oldest commercial building in Port Alfred completed in 1853. The decor is simple with pictures of old Port Alfred being the focal pointWe have micro Brewery attached to us and sell three of our own beers. Our food is a selection of Pub Style food like fish and chips, schnitzels and burgers ranging to freshly caught line fish, in house matured steaks and a host of other things in between. We pride our selves on good food and service so please pop in if only to sample our local brew, you might well end up staying for a bite to eat as many do after seeing our menu.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lovely menu and food, centrally located on the river, easy parking and very pleasant host and staff. Would definitely eat there again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    99
    24
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kowie Gold rocks!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This pub has recently re-opened and was very busy the night I ate there. A great ambience thanks to all the stone and wood and space. My meal wasn't that good - overdone calamari strips - but the beer was good. So good that I went back to the brewery store next door to buy a couple of bottles.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lexisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wharf Street, the new V&A Waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've been going to Port Alfred for vacation since I was a child. The whole Wharf Street development is awesome with a newly opened theatre, 3 restaurants and many antique stores. We had dinner there in July 2012 and the food was excellent, well priced and a nice range of home made beers is available. Will definitely be back there in December!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_Eloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The restaurant is situated in one of the older buildings in Port Alfred and this atmosphere is amplified with old blown up pictures of the town. The menu is basic but always good and the prices are very modest.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Marvelous discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stopped off at the wonderful Wharf Street Brew Pub on the way down to PE. What a discovery! Excellent atmosphere, well-priced and varied menu, exceptional food quality, great service and what an atmosphere in this restored, historic setting. It is open and welcoming and very tastefully restored with old stone walls and an authentic brewery feel (including the offer of 3 local tasters - from the brewery). I fully recommend this to anyone passing through Port Alfred.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf Street Brew Pub also viewed

Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Wharf Street Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing