We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Royal Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Guest House
Ranked #8 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stay in Port Alfred on numerous occasions and we always use the Royal Guest house! We have always found the staff welcoming and flexible. The rooms are very well equipped and extreamly clean. On site security provides peace of mind and breakfast is a must! Whatever your needs, business or pleasure, you won't be dissapointed.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Matt1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Great staff and wonderful attention to detail. Lovely rooms, excellent breakfast and good security. Great location in a safe town. Well signposted and management are very hands on. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtfarminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Was a very good experience; rooms were outstanding. We were disappointed that it rained while we were there, as we would love to have sat outside on the balcony and admired the view. Port Alfred a lovely little town; will visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 7 are the best (well, we didn't see the others). Beautiful rooms with lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Royal , rooms are neat and very confortable , staff pleasant and professional. We spent time there in Feb and I will definatelly refer the Royal to friends and family. We will definatelly return in the future. Natasha thanks for the lovely stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenahead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were given a lovely spacious room with windows on 3 sides and views of the sea and river beyond the roofs below. We enjoyed the 'bedtime stories' of local tales that were left on the bedside tables. The breakfast was beautifully presented (again, great attention to detail) and delicious. The staff were friendly, interesting and very helpful. A good find.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed nice but not all had views. There are lots of stairs so if mobility is an issue...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hayhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

As the manager of The Royal Guest House I would like to offer our sincere apologies to the MeierCS couple. It is most unfortunate when a guest departs without informing management that they were unhappy with their accommodation but then go and post it on a public website, not giving us a chance to make amends. Stained linen is unacceptable and had I been aware of this I would've made sure that this was fixed immediately. As for the bathroom, walk-in guests are always shown the room first - so if the bathroom size was an issue I would've been able to offer you a luxury room which has a bigger en-suite bathroom with corner style bath and shower facilities. We will gladly consider giving you a complimentary stay as compensation for your unfortunate experience. Please contact me directly to discuss this.
Kind regards,
Natasha Haller,
(Proudly) Manager of The Royal Guest House.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsNatashaHaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Me and my family stayed there for a whole week. We had a really great time. You would be amazed by the view. its such a unique hotel. really loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.3 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
0.9 mi away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 27 in Port Alfred
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Address: 8 Beach Crescent, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: $51 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Guest House is an elegant, exclusive Guest House set loftily high on the East bank of the Kowie River. Due to its prime location this guest house offers stunning panoramic views of the peaceful Royal Alfred Marina and our quaint little town. With 12 stylish en-suite bedrooms, each elegantly furnished with natural weave and dark wood furniture, finished off with 100% percale linen for that light relaxed feel. The cosy lounge area with self-help bar opens up to an inviting pool deck with loungers. This charming guest house is an oasis of peace and tranquility where friendly staff awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Guest House Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing