We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Mary's supporters”
Review of Barmuda - CLOSED

Barmuda
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“St Mary's supporters”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A wonderful setting for drinks and delicious nachos and fries. Excellent waitresses who managed the large group with ease and wonderful sense of humour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    11
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, could be a stunner”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived after dinner around 10pm on a Friday night for a nightcap as we were staying at the hotel next door. Perfect location and the weather was good too. We left early as the music was dreadful. When we complained to the waitress she said she didn't like it either but couldn't change it. We are all in our 40's and 50's but our 19 year old didn't like the music either.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location on the river; average service; disappointing cocktails”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This location couldn't be nicer - a beautiful view on the river's edge. Our waiter seemed to be on holiday himself though, forgetting to revert to us after "checking (something) with the kitchen", and failing to notice our dirty table upon arrival. The cocktails we had were fun in appearance, but substandard in quality of ingredients (maybe we were unlucky in our selection, but were disappointed by syrups and artificial flavourants, when fresh mint and fruit would've been so much better).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KHaupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always something going on -good cocktail choice”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Whenever i've visited, there's often been either live music (v. varied in genre) or a DJ, a good crowd of people, mixed ages and some great cocktails -last time i was there i had the calamari dish for a nibble which was yummy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 00Love2Travel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good food, Friendly staff”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We got to the restaurant at 7PM and although it was cold we decided to sit outside. The waitress was very friendly and patient even though we couldn't decide where to sit and even offered to put the heaters on outside to give us some warmth. They have the biggest variety of cocktails that i have ever seen and all 3 that i tried was good. Their food was very good and much better than we expected. All around this was the one of the best restaurants that i have even been at. Great cocktails, great location (right next to the Kowie river), great service and great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barmuda also viewed

Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing