We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious suite with a magnificient view”
Review of A Villa de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Villa de Mer
Ranked #3 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed one night in Port Alfred between Safaris. We enjoyed our night at Villa de Mer. Our Suite did not leave any wishes open, the bath is very big, new and exclusive. Our host was very friendly and helped us with all we needed and good Restaurant recommendation too. The breakfast was plentiful and because we could not eat all (we had a large meal with dessert the evening before) she gave us freshly baked Muffins for on the road. The weather was a bit cold so we could not enjoy the pool or the beach but the beach Looks fantastic and is just a few steps away.

Room Tip: The Suite with view of the ocean is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 186 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose Villa de Mer as a beach holiday for 2 nights to relax after flight(s) from UK. This certainly met our expectations with a wonderful position across from beach and 10 minutes walking distance along the beach to a restaurant overlooking the estuary. The Guest House was of an excellent standard, very friendly, very clean, modern and comfortable. Our bedroom and bathroom (which was enormous) were superb with lovely views. The breakfasts were good and the owner Memory was very helpful with activity suggestions. I found the Settlers monument on the hill above Bathurst and also (surprisingly) the Big Pineapple on the way to Bathurst to be quite interesting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Enjoyed our brief one-night stay, R550 per person B&B. Welcoming hostess, spacious room with comfortable bed, nice bathroom, WiFi, good breakfast including fresh baked muffins! We stayed in room 2 - no view, but otherwise lovely room true to photos on website. Ocean is just over the dunes and there's a pool available, though we did not use it. Most restaurants are a short drive away. Parking is in front of the house, not actually enclosed or secured in any way, but reportedly safe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomvula_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A warm welcome from Memory set the tone for our stay at this extremely well cared for, upmarket guest house. Well situated a thirty metre walk to the beautiful beach of Port Alfred - airy, well appointed, very private rooms with all the finishes that you need for utmost comfort. Memory is the ideal hostess, making sure that our every need was met, from arranging excursions to making sure that her home became ours. A five star recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rozana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

More like a small 6 bedroom hotel than a B&B. Great friendly service that never seemed to intrude on your privacy.

Superb location across the road from a blue flag beach.

Nice comfortable rooms and bathrooms with free wifi.

Nice pool for refreshing swim after a day on the beach.

Well worth a stay.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank PeterDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were very warmly greeted even though it was only a one night stay for us. We stayed in Suite 1 which I can only describe as 'gorgeous' and every bit as good as the photos on the website. The bathroom is beautiful. Unfortunately it rained hard whilst we were there so we didn't get to see much of the view from the balcony but the hospitality and breakfast made up for that. If we are ever in Port Alfred again, then we would most definitely stay in The Villa de Mer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineDBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My stay in Port Alfred was made really comfortable by Memory Robinson of the Villa de Mer B&B in Port Alfred. Situated a stones throw from the ocean, the sound of the surf is the last thing you remember before falling off to sleep. The guest house consists of six rooms and my room had an ocean view. It is situated close to the city centre and places to dine. A full breakfast is available and Memory is personally in charge of the kitchen ensuring top quality faire.
I have stayed in many establishments but this one is truly worth the mention!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagnumIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
16.2 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
1.0 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#1 of 27 in Port Alfred
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Villa de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Villa de Mer

Address: 22 West Beach Drive, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: $57 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Villa de Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Villa de Mer Guest House is situated on the beachfront in Port Alfred, South Africa and is in a class of its own. Established in 1996, this modern Mediterranean style Guest House has been awarded four stars by the Tourism Grading Council and, rated according to the high parameters set by the AA of South Africa, as Superior grading.A Villa de Mer is a stylish, spacious and upmarket Guest House and a haven to relax. Located opposite the beach, with panoramic views of the Indian ocean, this guest house comprises of six en-suite bedrooms, with 19 channels DSTV and, offers luxurious accommodation at affordable prices. The wide corridors, large upper lounge that leads onto a balcony with stunning sea views and pristine white beaches, library and reading room downstairs overlooking the sheltered swimming pool, A Villa de Mer creates an atmosphere of tranquility and peace. The spacious TV lounge offers a 19 channel DSTV Bouquet and DVD Player. FREE WI-FI. You can relax and enjoy sundowners on the balcony whilst taking in the beautiful views over the Indian ocean. Fall asleep to the smell and sound of waves breaking on the beach. Cross the quiet road and walk the endless white beaches.We offer comfortable home-from-home accommodation. Enjoy the spacious and unpretentious setting of A Villa de Mer. Whether on business or holiday, A Villa de Mer offers its own brand of local hospitality and is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. It is the ideal place to simply relax or to use as a base from which to explore the many sights of Port Alfred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A Villa de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Villa De Mer Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing