We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“A real treat”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very special place, peaceful and beautiful. Total luxury, fantastic food and friendly people. A unique combination of beach and wildlife. We would love to go there again one day, but it is very expensive (but worth every penny and perfect for a treat).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelatenheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and I hope to see you back at Oceana for that special treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    20
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
166
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I visited the spa going for a Shea aroma massage. Lindi gave me the best massage I have ever had. So often after massages I feel that they are just getting to my tension when the massage ends leaving me feeling that it was nice but not beneficial. This massage left me feeling sooo relaxed and feeling so much better.
The ambience is fab. The decor in the resort is absolutely brilliant and the view exquisite!

Room Tip: I did not stay in the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChirpyCherril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on the spa. We are fortunate to have such a talented therapist and hope to see you back for some more pampering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A definite must stay if you are in the Eastern Cape a combination of superb stylish accomodation,sublime views,great staff ,service and cuisine.Combining an interesting mix of general game and endless white beaches all to yourself to give a great safari/beach experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackBB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Jack, thank you for the feedback. It was great seeing you again and hosting you at Oceana. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited Oceana with the whole family, taking the Villa and two extra suites. The best about this hotel are: 1/ its location - perched atop a hill overlooking the ocean, beach and reserve 2/ the food is of very, very high quality. Honestly stunning food! 3/ the rooms are massive, the views are to die for, and the ART in the Villa! Wow! 4/ last but definitely not least; the reserve borders a massive beach that will take your breath away. I walked for 2 hours without encountering a soul - it's wild, beautiful and you have it all to yourself. there is a deck where the chefs will prepare a fantastic braai (bbq) lunch for you - highly recommended. Oh there is a small gym with the best view of the property, and the spa lady is very good! The reserve is beautiful but very small. For me, it felt too small as you could almost always see the neighboring properties and road. While the beach is wild, the reserve felt more as a (albeit beautiful) zoo - we had a giraffe following the vehicle and we could touch (!) a juvenile Sabre antelope. we did travel with small children (4 and 5) and for them, it was an amazing experience. The pool should be heated, and the poolside furniture honestly needs an urgent upgrade. It is a top destination, just have a safari at a larger reserve and then come here to enjoy the magnificent hospitality and beach.

Room Tip: the Lodge suites give out to the game room so might be noisy. Go for the Ocean Suites or - even bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and comments in your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the time spent at the beach. We strive to always improve on any shortcomings and will attend to the poolside furniture as per your suggestion. We look forward to hopefully hosting your family with us again at Oceana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We dream of heaven & heaven dreams of Oceana.
I can't get over the attention to detail at this hidden utopia. It was nothing I had encountered prior to our stay at Oceana (or after). We were so taken by the atmosphere, the decor (oh my god the decor), the beach view, the wildlife view, the space, the privacy, the luxuries like a his & hers bathroom & remote hidden TV that pops out of the foot of the bed, but most of all the attention to detail that the staff made. A warm & personal room introduction, because the rooms have an overwhelmingly lot to offer. You need to spend more than one night to really appreciate everything the suites/rooms have to offer. We had hand made notes from loved ones that made us feel like our loved ones had actually been & left their own notes to congratulate us on our honeymoon. A ready to roll hot bath, when we got back from dinner. It all made us feel like we were the only guests staying there & that our occasion was the most important to ever pass through their doors. My partner & I eloped from Australia to marry here at Oceana & it was in short, a paradise with a view. I can not recommend Oceana enough for that special occasion or getaway.

Room Tip: There is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missnaexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and review on Oceana. We enjoyed hosting you on your honeymoon and the wedding at the beach. It was indeed a beautiful and special day. We have received a few copies of the photographs from the photographer, which came out beautifully and you will definitely have some great reminders of the day. We wish you all the happiness together and look forward to hopefully seeing you back at Oceana for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Really an amazing experince!!!

The staff were so hospitable and caring - really made you feel at hom.

The food was delicious .And the view - we won't even attempt to describe.
Was one of the most relaxing holidays I've ever had. Thanks guys. You have redefined the Tourism council's 'Star' rating

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_sol78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the service, food and your overall stay with us. We look forward to you visiting us again for another relaxing holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The first impression at Oceana is the beautiful location with breathtaking views, enhanced by a warm and friendly greeting from Hennie and Adrienne. The staff are also just lovely and provide cheerful, polite and efficient service. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the quality of the decor, furniture and furnishings continues throughout the lodge. The large painting of Madiba will warm your heart! The food is delicious and beautifully presented. A wonderful stay which we can highly recommend.

Room Tip: A choice of being slightly apart from or in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahLouiseG209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Mark, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and I am glad to hear that you had some time to relax and enjoy our facility with your wife. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you back for your return stay again same time next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
6.3 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
329 reviews
5.9 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
293 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
287 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#1 of 26 in Port Alfred
164 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 26 in Port Alfred
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Property: Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing