We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceana- 5 Star Stay and 6Star Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
East London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oceana- 5 Star Stay and 6Star Service”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spoiled our staff and decided to pamper them at Oceana. Well it was described by all my staff as "Paradise on earth" and a most memorable time was had by all, from the delicious meals to the pampering massage in the upmarket Spa, a game drive where we were up close to 2 Black Rhino, unsurpassed seaviews , not to mention the excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing Oceana to spoil your team with a well deserved break. We enjoyed hosting your group and are glad to hear that you enjoyed this hidden jewel. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    19
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
164
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a VERY wonderful time at Oceana and have been raving to all our friends and family about how great the resort was. We can't thank your entire staff enough for the wonderful time we had while staying their. The attention to detail is outstanding. If there is anything you need, just ask and it will be taken care of. The wildlife reserve is great and you can see all the wildlife up close. I can't say enough good things about how great this resort is. You will not be disappointed in your stay. When we return to SA, we will be sure to include Oceana in our plans. Thanks again to you and all your staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and staying with us at Oceana, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the resort and look forward to hosting you again when you return for a visit to SA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went to Oceana for an intimate 11 member family lunch on Sunday. It was a special occassion, which the hotel knew about and made us feel very comfortable by putting us in a private lounge for drinks followed by a private dining room for lunch. The food was delicious and very beautifully presented; the service warm and friendly; the setting absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for spending your family lunch with us at Oceana, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. we look forward to hopefully see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I was looking for a place where romance and relaxation could meet. Fortunately I stumbled upon Oceana. Excellent allround with staff more than eilling to go the extra mile! From the Spa to the gamedrive, roomservice to chef...absolutely exquisite

Thank you Oceana!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirre07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just came back from a weekend at Oceana with my wife to celebrate our Anniversary; what a place!

Upon arrival we were met by a small army of staff to provide a warm welcome. After settling in the room we had a wonderful lunch on the outside deck (see picture). We then were given the option for a game drive or to go down to the beach. We opted for the beach and were driven down to a deserted stretch with a deck with sun loungers and a full sun bed. After strolling around here for an hour, it was time for an excellent spa treatment. For dinner a private table was set up and the service and food was again excellent.

The room (suite 3) was very spacious and appointed only with excellent furniture and art. The most amazing thing here though was the view which was spectacular at any time of day. The setting of the units allows for enjoying views from the bathroom, bedroom or deck without concern for privacy and cool features like a double shower, a pop-up TV in front of the bed, and a small DVD library give that little wow factor that makes a weekend here extra cool.

Enjoyed the gym that, like the room, offers a spectacular view, and though small, offers enough for a good workout. We also enjoyed the steam-room there.

Breakfast was excellent as well and we felt sad we could not extend our stay. Not cheap, but definitely value for money if you are looking for a unique experience.

Room Tip: One of the suites (1-4) give you full privacy, a lot of space and a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the best place i've ever been to so far, we stayed in one of the ocean suites overlooking the stunning private beach. The lodge is very private and we got 5 star treatment from the moment we stepped out of the car. The food was great and the staff very friendly. It's a pity we only spent 1 night. We will definately go back for a 4 day stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bongiEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this resort. We stayed in an Ocean Suite which had panoramic sea views from the bedroom and both bathrooms (yes "both" i.e. His and Hers bathrooms). Observing the abundant wildlife against the backdrop of the sea and dunes is a unique and magical experience and you can watch buck grazing without even leaving the room. The rooms are secluded, but ultraluxurius with a massive four-poster bed, underfloor heating, jacuzzi bath and massive shower. But probably the best thing about this resort is the exceptional service, which maintains that perfect balance of being attentive without intrusion. The staff catered to our every whim. The food was exceptional. It was like being at a gourmet restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This is the best place I have ever stayed at in South Africa and I highly recommend it especially for a honeymoon destination or romantic getaway. I would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ocean View is very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renusha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
6.3 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
5.9 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#3 of 26 in Port Alfred
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#1 of 26 in Port Alfred
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Property: Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing