We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lookout Guest House
Ranked #2 of 26 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent host”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great time at Port Alfred. The lookout is a nice place. Great breakfast, close to beach and game reserves. We feel at home. I recommend this place. We hope to come back some day. Thanks thanks thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nicoleaga33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
78
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lahr, Germany
Level Contributor
284 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as stopover from Garden Route to Hibiscus Coast - a perfect stopover! Port Alfred is beautifully located on the river and the sea (a bit like little Venice) and from The Lookout you have a perfect view over it.
We had the big appartment No. 2, which is not luxury, but has lots of space and all you need for 3 days. The host Louis is a very friendly, warm and supportive person! Breakfast comes in a basket to your desire. And you can enjoy it on the terrace overlooking Port Alfred. Perfect!
We will definitely be back if we'd be around!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Unable to add any tips - service and establishment was superb. Everyone was friendly - from the staff to the owners and the guests! Certainly one of the best B&B's we stayed at on our holiday and one we will return to!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Manfred / Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review - much appreciated. Hope to see you both again.
Regards,
Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our favorite place during our recent trip down the garden route. The host even brought a cupcake with candle for my wife's birthday. Amazing room and service. The shower was one of the coolest we've seen, and the living room was relaxing, with a view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elishama G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review The Lookout. Your comments are greatly appreciated and confirms we are on the right track! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at The Lookout Guest House! The view is stunning and the breakfast is something you will remember for a long time - very tasty and made with a lot of lovely details. It really feels like holidays!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Madeleine1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive response - it makes what we do all worthwhile. We would like to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, Virginia, Usa
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Lookout Guest House many times. it is beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have a great view of the marina and the ocean. The hosts, Louise and Allan, are the best.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have previously stayed here on 3 occasions and have always been very impressed. Louise & Alan were always the most gracious of hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The guest suites, consisting of bedroom, full bathroom, lounge and kitchen/dining room are spacious and beautifully finished with lovely touches in the decor. The fridge has always been well stocked with fresh essentials and the breakfasts served either in our dining room or outside on the patio have always been outstandingly good. The view down over the Marina and out towards the sea is lovely and a great place to enjoy a relaxing glass of wine whilst watching the twinkling lights of Port Alfred. We have already booked for our next return trip next March. Well recommended.
Ancient Globetrotters, Denis &Wendy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.6 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
329 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
287 reviews
15.6 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
1.0 mi away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 26 in Port Alfred
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Guest House

Property: The Lookout Guest House
Address: 24 Park Road | PO BOX 2809, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque seaside village of Port Alfred, The Lookout Guest House commands panoramic views of the Indian Ocean, the Kowie River, the Royal Alfred Marina and the colourful small boat harbour. The three elegantly furnished units are extremely well appointed and have their own separate entrances. Offering 4 star luxury accommodation at very affordable rates The Lookout is THE place to stay in Port Alfred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lookout Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lookout Guest House Port Alfred, South Africa - Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing