We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Ucazanaztacua
Nearby Hotels
Hotel RV Park Villa Patzcuaro(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$53
$36
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$34
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mision Patzcuaro(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$43
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada San Alejandro(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Mirador Del Lago(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Posada Camelinas(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico(Patzcuaro)(Great Value!)
$34
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
77
10
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake patzcuaroview of the lakeguided tourthis wonderful placebeautiful hotelinfinity poolmexico cityreinarafatraditionbeautytownscoppercelebrationstatefireplacelakeshore
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 89 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

On the shore of lake Patzcuaro, one man's dream came true and his artistic passion and eye for detail are present everywhere.
The pictures were taken on a leasurely walk in order they appear in this album and you will be able to "look through the window" of a room here and there.
Host to many special events related to arts as well as movie shoots and weddings, Hacienda Ucazanaztacua radiates with good energy equaliy present on it's property and the nature around it. Simply naturally perfect.

Room Tip: As much as it will sound cliche, the rooms are all perfect, it just depends on what you're looking for. For professional photos of the rooms, go to the hotel website. For 100% privacy, chose the cottage on the lake shore itself. It's almost surreal how beautiful this place is and how much attention to detail was given to every single room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldGenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A year ago my now wife and I began the search for a wedding location in my home state of Michoacan. We knew that we wanted two things, and outdoor scene and a place with a unique touch, something that our guests and us would remember forever.

We had a few recommendations and visited a few other places, places that were nice and beautiful each one of them with their own attributes. However, there was something still missing in those places, they were lacking the unique touch that we were looking for.

We continued our search online and came across Hacienda Ucazanaztacua. From the pictures and trip-advisory reviews, the place seemed like a good candidate. At the point, I began communicating with Rafael Pereznares Owner and GM of the hotel and scheduled a visit. Some of the other reviews mentioned that the pictures on the web did not do it justice and this was exactly what we thought once we arrived. From the moment we walked on the terrace we knew that this was the place. The majestic views of the Lake Patzcuaro, the manicured gardens, the architecture, the local rich history made this place exactly what we were looking for, unique.

Now that we had found the stage for the wedding, came the planning. Rafael also offers wedding planning services which in my case were a must since I live abroad. During our multiple visits to Hacienda Ucazanaztacua, Rafael scheduled meetings with different vendors and help us choose the best option based on our criteria and budget. He also proposed a few wedding ideas which went well with the region and settled for having the civil wedding on the hotel terrace and the religious ceremony on the island of La Pacanda which is directly in front of Hacienda Ucazanaztacua.

Since the hotel has a limited amount of hotel rooms (all suites) and was occupied with our immediate family, most of our guests stayed in Patzcuaro which is also a very unique place and part of “Pueblos Magicos” or Magic Towns (http://www.visitmexico.com/en/magictown). Patzcuaro set the stage for the start of this journey. We began the day before the wedding with a guided tour of Patzcuaro and typical Michoacan dinner at Hotel La Basilica which overlooks this magical town. The next day our guests made their way to the Patzcuaro Pier and embarked on a guided tour to the Island of La Pacanda. The island of La Pacanda is inhabited by Purepechas who welcomed us and shared their beautiful island and church for this special day. After the religious ceremony we embarked again to Hacienda Ucazanaztacua. Once at the Hacienda we began with a welcome cocktail near the lake shore, we then went up to the terrace where we had the civil wedding followed by the reception down on the gardens and ended with a tornaboda (dinner) late at night.

The experience was amazing and it truly exceeded our expectations and as one of my brothers put it, this was something that we will never forget. I'm sure that there are many places that offer a great service with impeccable installations, but what sets this place apart from the others is that on top of the the excellent service and first class installations, the unique natural scenery and rich local history are tough to beat.

We want to thank Rafael and his staff for an excellent service. We were treated not only as a client but also as friends. We can say that every possible effort was done on whatever it was that needed to get done. The “can't do” does not exist for Rafael. Thank you Rafa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chavezluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We know well the region around Morelia and Patzcuaro, but we only got to know this wonderful place very recently. The location at lake Patzcuaro is superb and in a very quiet and peaceful spot, in distance from the touristic places around Patzcuaro and the island of Janitzio.
The views from every part of the hotel are stunning. The garden is very nice. The cook may prepare excellent regional dishes as well as international food according to the guest's wishes. The service is excellent and very friendly. Rafael, the owner, is happy to give recommendations regarding sightseeing and hiking options as well as local artisans. It is recommended to visit the small, naturla islands on the lake which are still original fishers' homes. A private boat may pick you up at the landing stage of the hotel.
The Hacienda is a perfect place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We found this little piece of heaven browsing the internet. We wanted something near Morelia, since it has such a rich cultural offer. Their website soon attracted my attention. It appeared to be a simple but yet luxurious and comfortable place. I was skeptic about their wonderful pictures. Trust me, Photoshop will never match the breathtaking views and spectacular scenery of Hacienda Ucazanaztacua.

We were looking for a nice and quite place to stay and to run away from the hustle and bustle from Mexico City. Upon arrival, Rafael gave us such a warm welcome (and a nice welcome drink). His staff works diligently to make the most out of your stay. You can immediately immerse a relaxing and peaceful mood at the Hacienda. Hours went by and the only sound we could hear was the wind blowing and the turning of pages from our favorite reading.

After some hesitation, we chose Reina Ireri room. Even though Rey Hirepan is much more spacious, Reina Ireri has a better view over the lake and since it's located on a higher level, it was completely noiseless. It has a great fireplace that perfectly heats the whole room in a matter of minutes and even if the weather isn't that cold, I would highly recommend lighting up the fire as it provides an incredibly romantic atmosphere. Make sure you ask for help the first time you light the fire as It has a simple and yet advanced system that prevents warm air from sliding away under the doors. The room has a 20 ft. high ceiling that adds a sense of endless spaciousness. I don't know much about sheets and blanket specs, all I can say is that they caused such a smiling effect on my face that always led me to think “Why didn’t I came to bed 3 hours ago?”. I loved that the room turns completely dark when you turn off the lights at night.

The bathroom blends an interesting colonial and modern touch. You’ll find plenty space to store your stuff in the walking closet. There are also special amenities, such as slippers, bathrobes and complimentary Nespresso.

The night rate includes a vast and delicious breakfast. It’s so substantial that you can even have two meals per day, with perhaps a snack in between. We were delighted with fresh orange juice and handmade bread. You can choose anything from the menu or you can go with Rafael’s daily specials. There’s an outstanding cheese soufflé; and you should try the traditional “Uchepo”.

Service is extraordinary from everyone, especially Julio and Rafa. Their hospitality goes beyond expectations. From time to time, Rafael would approach to make sure we had everything we needed. We always got the feeling we were being taken care of but somehow we could barely notice their presence.

At night, we enjoyed watching the starry sky and spotting occasional shooting stars while having a glass of wine and a bowl of berries, simply unbeatable!

We'd like to thank everyone at the Hacienda. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Every room has its own unique charm. Reina Hireri has a spectacular view over the lake and so does Rey Hirepan.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeroserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Patzcuaro is a wonderful Mexican town and this hotel was in a great location to walk around the town. The hotel was spotless and very quiet with very nice rooms. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the second floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews