We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rustic Place and Staff was wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lago Sol Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Tzintzuntzan B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here, all six of our friends on our 3 week Central journey. We stayed in the 3 bedroom "cabana" with 3 baths, kitchen, dining and living room and great patio..... Salvadore Jr was fabulous tending to our every need. Beautiful setting on Lago Patzcuaro. We loved the area, the hotel, the setting, and the "shopping!!!"

Room Tip: if in a group, the 3 bedroom Cabana mucho mejor de los habitaciones separada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanditaPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

I spent a week in Tzintzuntzan in the lead up to Dias de Los mortes, I recommend getting there early, before the population explodes on November 1st.
Other then giving you time to see the small village and other surrounding villages it also gives you a chance to see the preparations that go into the festival and to see traditional funeral processions.
The staff at ... Are all really helpful and polite. The managers wife speaks English, and the manager if free from other tasks can be your tour guide for a small fee. He knows of hidden shops and markets and can haggle for you if you don't feel confident in the task. He can also take you to see Carlos Juarez workshop, a local artist who is famous for his caterina statues. His property is covered with beautiful works of art and there is an art gallery within the church on the property.
As for the Dias de Los morte, I highly recommend taking the hotels guided tour, for a fee they take you to 4 different graveyards, each with different styles of decorations, and explain the history of the event and some of the meaning, you will also visit churches and if permitting an indigenous family's alter to a recently deceased loved one (bring an offering for the alter and the family will share food with you). The entire experience is very humbling and I don't think I would have been as immersed in the culture had I not taken the tour.
The hotel itself is well looked after, there is a tennis court and inground pool, breakfast can be served daily by placing an order the day before.
I highly recommend this hotel for its helpful staff and excellent location if you plan on taking in the day of the dead festivities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zekazeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

My dog and I had a wonderful month long retreat in this wonderful little gem overlooking Lake Patzcuaro. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager is also a tour guide and very knowledgeable about the area. The grounds are very well maintained and beautiful. The rooms are very clean and ample. If you don't have a car, the public transportation is easily accessible and inexpensive. One can explore with ease. I had such a great time that I extended my trip by a week. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed one night last summer on our way from Morelia to Guadalajara, stopped to sightseeing Patzcuaro lake area... The hotel is beside the lake , it has a big and well mantained gardens, swimming pool, paddle tenis court.
The rooms are nice and charming with TV and that night they provided us a heating machine because nights are cool there. I saw some very big rooms that had kitchen inside the room.
Also it's available breakfast service at reasonable price, but you have to order in advance one day so they prepare and get everything ready for you.
The hotel is at roadside between Tzintzuntzan and Quiroga, if you go by car is easy to get there on the left side if you come from Tzintzuntzan.
Maybe is more difficult to move around the area if you don't bring a Car.
Also they have free WIFI internet. Staff was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Un buen descanso
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hectornabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Karinarzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzintzuntzan
3.5 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#3 of 30 in Patzcuaro
130 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mansion de Los Suenos
Hotel Mansion de Los Suenos
#13 of 30 in Patzcuaro
44 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sandunga Cabanas Boutique
Sandunga Cabanas Boutique
#4 of 7 in Tzintzuntzan
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hacienda Ucazanaztacua
Hacienda Ucazanaztacua
#1 of 7 in Tzintzuntzan
80 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hotel & Suites Hacienda Montesinos
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Sol Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Sol Hotel & Suites

Address: Carretera Quiroga-Patzcuaro km 6, Tzintzuntzan 58440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Tzintzuntzan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tzintzuntzan
Price Range: $51 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lago Sol Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm pool with view to the Patzcuaro lake where you can relax and breathe the fresh air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lago Sol Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing