We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gipsy Point Lakeside
Ranked #1 of 2 Gipsy Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2012

2 nights spent at Lakeside resort on route from Melbourne to Sydney. This was just what we were looking for, relaxing, luxurious, well equipped and freindly. Immaculately presented grounds provided the perfect location to unwind. The staff were very freindly and informative. They kindly leant me a fishing rod so I could fish off one of the private jetties.
They offer barbeque packs consisting of either meat of fish. We opted for the fish which included scallops, prawns and white fish. Although it was very nicely presented and delivered to our chalet it was dissapointing. I am sure that the seafood was not local and I suspect had been frozen. I tried to buy some local seafood in the nearby town of Mallacoota. Nowhere to buy seafood, although a very good butcher. I was amazed that no local seafood was availablem particulalry as I has seen prawn boats a few hours South.
Despite this we really enjhoyed our stay and have reccommended to family and freinds. Overall it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Gipsy Point Lakeside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 119 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed in a waterfront spa apartment. The apartment has a great layout and nice open windows which allow a lovely view over the lake. Well placed bushes meant that even thought there are rooms right next door it feels quite private and secluded. Some elements of the room such as the floorboards and carpet are a little tired but overall it is bright, airy and very comfortable. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and shown to our room. We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay more; the price is probably a little high but this is to be expected given the remote location and lack of options in the area. Kitchen was fully self contained and had everything we needed. Anyone with a boat would love this spot though they are also available for hire.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank random999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent two nights here mid way around our road trip from Melbourne to Sydney.
Unfortunately we were a little pushed for time and dearly wish we could have stayed longer as Gipsy Point Lakeside was by far our favourite place we stayed at on our trip.
Incredible location with the waterfront apartments having floor to ceiling windows over looking the Mallacoota Inlet.
The apartment itself had everything you needed with the shop/reception also stocking excellent home made pre-prepared meals if you did not want to dine in the restaurant (which was open only at weekends I believe).
We also ate in the restaurant where the food and service was exemplary.
Best of all though was the location of Gypsy Point which was teeming with wildlife. Kangaroos were always present behind the apartment from dusk (and sometimes in broad daylight) with a mob of roos at the Lyrebird Walk within the grounds.
The birdlife was prolific with the whole area resounding to the call of the Bellbird and numerous King Parrots, Galah's and Rainbow Lorikeets coming to the bird table for their 8am and 4pm feed - including feeding off our hands!
Overall, the highlight of our Aussie trip. Just a shame we are a 24 hours flight away as we would be back sooner rather than later.
I would also recommend a trip to Shipwreck Creek and Seal Creek. We spent most of one day there and were the only people on these stunning deserted beaches.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Traveling around Australia for a month together with another couple, we spent 3 days at the wonderful Gipsy Point Lakeside Resort, the absolute best of the whole trip. Embedded within such a beautiful and peaceful natural park, full of unbelievably varied wildlife. The resort itself is extremely nice and comfortable, well maintained and the staff does everything they can to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadWrite0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We have just enjoyed four days at Gypsy Point and everything was simply perfect. The accommodation was spacious, light and airy with the most stunning views over the water from both the sitting room and the elevated bedroom. What joy to find a choice of bedding..doona or blankets.. and a choice of pillows, high and low. This is so often overlooked in other so-called "luxury accommodation"

The kitchen had everything needed to self cater but also the little extras like olive oil, paper towel, salt and pepper grinders etc. Loved the picnic basket, the coffee plunger and wine cooler.

Thomas and Sheree were welcoming and friendly- nothing was too much trouble including the tweezers!

The gardens were immaculate and glorious with shade trees, weeping cherries, maples etc. But those manicured grevillas...what fabulous bird attracters! The natural,sand coloured pool was so much more impressive than the plastic blue look that is the norm; it was complemented by more of those lovely plantings.

Overall, an outstanding choice for anyone wanting quality, serenity and beauty.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255100Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was the second night on our Melbourne to Sydney road-trip and we were delighted to arrive at this idyllic setting. The sun was setting and the view down to the lake from the lodge was simply stunning with fantastic colours and quiet peaceful still waters. The birds were still feeding in the landscaped gardens. The place is simply perfect for couples or a family to get away from their busy lives. You could really "unwind" here with so much to explore with the upper lake, the river and the lower lake. We wished we had been able to stay longer and hire a boat to explore. Because we stayed in August then the place was very quiet being out of season. We drove into Mallacoota for the evening where you could get a pub meal which was OK but nothing fantastic - however for one night it was perfectly fine. If staying longer we would have to be organised for self catering - although there is a dining room (but not available in August low season). The lodge has everything you need though and to a high standard. There's even a DVD library at the reception. It is true that the mobile phone signal was poor and you had to pay for internet access. This was fine for us - especially for one night. A lot of business people these days feel more relaxed when they are in touch with their offices which may seem strange to some - but is true in my case. Therefore on a longer stay the charges for internet would be a problem. However - seems that Gypsy Point's remote location means this will be a problem for some time and that is the price for being in such a remote location - on balance the location wins any time. We will return here one day to explore the area further.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This place is absolute heaven. We stayed over the Easter break in a lakeside apartment and loved everything about it. The hosts were great, everyone was friendly, the apartment was lovely and spotlessly clean. The grounds are manicured to within an inch of their life and the view is astounding. We never wanted to leave! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventuregirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gipsy Point
0.2 mi away
Gipsy Point Lodge
Gipsy Point Lodge
#2 of 2 in Gipsy Point
42 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Wave Oasis
The Wave Oasis
#1 of 1 in Mallacoota
36 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shady Gully Caravan Park
Shady Gully Caravan Park
#2 of 13 in Mallacoota
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blue Waters Cottages
Blue Waters Cottages
#4 of 13 in Mallacoota
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Point Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Point Lakeside

Address: 261 Gipsy Point Rd, Gipsy Point, Victoria 3891, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Gipsy Point
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gipsy Point
Price Range: $164 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gipsy Point Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gipsy Point Lakeside is a family owned property of 10 luxury serviced apartments set in 3.5 Acres of gardens. Our property sits restfully at the headwaters of Mallacoota Inlet in the heart of Australia's UNESCO listed Croajingolong World Biosphere Reserve. With sweeping views of the water and beyond, our modern and spacious self-contained boutique Apartments feature floor-to-ceiling windows and private verandahs. The perfect stop-over along the famous Melbourne to Sydney Coastal Drive & just a few hours' drive from Canberra, Gipsy Point Lakeside is a special hideaway any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gipsy Point Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing