We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gipsy Point Lakeside
Ranked #1 of 2 Gipsy Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

This place is absolute heaven. We stayed over the Easter break in a lakeside apartment and loved everything about it. The hosts were great, everyone was friendly, the apartment was lovely and spotlessly clean. The grounds are manicured to within an inch of their life and the view is astounding. We never wanted to leave! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuregirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    18
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

This place was clean within an inch of it's life and the maintenance was spot on. Even if it was a bit 1980's, it was like everything was brand new. The service was great.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed in a lakeview 2 bed apartment that was as good as one could ask for, with stunning views for good measure. If you want peace and quiet with the addition of great wildlife then this place is a must. The numerous birds that appear in the morning and evening when the feeding takes place is something to behold and the kangaroos also move freely around the grounds.The fishing on the lake is also good.
I would also recommend making full use of the barbeque as this was the first time ever that I have been told to make use of the barbeque but to leave the cleaning for the staff to do the next morning - this is barbeque heaven!!
Don't expect good internet access as this place is for getting away from it all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We spent a couple of nights at Gipsy Point and had a super stay. Lake swimming is great and perfect spot for overnighting for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petetheeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

A fews days R&R in eastern Victoria took us this wonderful establishment. First class "self catering" accommodation not far from Mallacoota if you have forgotten anything. We stayed in the waterfront apartments. The place appears to have been designed to guarantee privacy, the gardens are all native attracting an array of birdlife.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

My Husband and I have just come back from a 9 week trip to Hong Kong, Austrailia, New Zealand and California and this ranked as well as any 5 Star hotel we stayed in. The Lodge we had was exeptionally clean and comfortable and well set up with everything that you could need to cater for yourself. The setting by the lake was beautiful. The wild Kangaroos were great to see but one thing realy stood out the resturant. It only has four tables so you realy do get exeptional food and service I do so wish that this was a chain as I would use this type of accommodationall the time. We spent four nights at Gipsy Point with Paul, Kathy and team we eat twice in the resturant and had a BBQ on the balcony another night. Excellent I would recomend it to anyone who likes quiet luxury.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

Having been in the industry for a lifetime one is always a little reserved when staying in "upmarket" properties.
Gypsy Point Lakeside is quite simply outstanding. The Service offered by Kathy & Paul is equal to any I have experienced anywhere in the world. The facilities are first class with nothing forgotten. Chef Pauls talent is wasted in such a quiet area - the food was mouthwatering.
Thankyou for a truely memorable experience - we will definitely return and recommend to fellow travellors.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSKahoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gipsy Point
0.2 mi away
Gipsy Point Lodge
Gipsy Point Lodge
#2 of 2 in Gipsy Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shady Gully Caravan Park
Shady Gully Caravan Park
#2 of 13 in Mallacoota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Wave Oasis
The Wave Oasis
#1 of 1 in Mallacoota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blue Waters Cottages
Blue Waters Cottages
#3 of 13 in Mallacoota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Point Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Point Lakeside

Property: Gipsy Point Lakeside
Address: 261 Gipsy Point Rd, Gipsy Point, Victoria 3891, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Gipsy Point
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gipsy Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gipsy Point Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gipsy Point Lakeside is a family owned property of 10 luxury serviced apartments set in 3.5 Acres of gardens. Our property sits restfully at the headwaters of Mallacoota Inlet in the heart of Australia's UNESCO listed Croajingolong World Biosphere Reserve. With sweeping views of the water and beyond, our modern and spacious self-contained boutique Apartments feature floor-to-ceiling windows and private verandahs. The perfect stop-over along the famous Melbourne to Sydney Coastal Drive & just a few hours' drive from Canberra, Gipsy Point Lakeside is a special hideaway any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gipsy Point Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing