We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Changing but still wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gipsy Point Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gipsy Point Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Gipsy Point B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Changing but still wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have just had another lovely stay at the Gipsy Point Lodge but it is changing. I understand that from now on it will be self catering with a minimum booking of 3 rooms for a stay of 3 nights. It won't be the same but it would be a wonderful spot for a family group or group of friends who want to get away from it all and spend time together. In total there are 7 rooms and 4 cottages. All the rooms are completely private and have their own bathrooms. All the rooms are doubles but some rooms have an extra bed as well. You could either have the whole lodge for 6 people or a much larger group.
We will miss the lovely meals that have until now been provided (although our waistlines won't!) but I'm sure that we will be back to enjoy the beauty of Gipsy Point. It will just give us an excuse to introduce the experience to even more of our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Gipsy Point is a very special place. It is not a seaside town but a small settlement looking out on the rivers and lakes above Mallacoota. There are no shops and almost no mobile phone reception. It is somewhere to go to really get away from the hustle and busle. We have been coming to the Gipsy Point lodge regularly over a number of years and have never been disappointed. It is a long drive from Melbourne but once you arrive the atmosphere is so relaxing and the views so beautiful that you feel that you have been on holiday for weeks. Ian and Libby are wonderful hosts - friendly and helpful. We normally come for a week and enjoy very minute regardless of what the weather may be. The food is great and if you stay for more than a night you receive a lovely picnic basket for lunch to take out on your boat, or your walk or just to the beach. If you are driving along the coast between Melbourne and Sydney or just looking for somewhere peaceful and beautiful - this is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 3 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

The place really is lovely and they pride themselves on having a great chef.
Both of the above statements are true but when put in context to the price its really quite expensive. the rooms are clean and have great views but are tiny and don't have a fridge or coffee / tea as you are expected to go to the group lounge, That's OK but for the price I want to be able to put my wine in the fridge. The dinner was nice but as the chef pre-cooks the meals you get what you are given and we ended up a bit hungry. Again it was good but for the price it was poor value. Look up the prices your selves and make you own opinion. The place itself its great.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scro61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

The title says it all. A perfect setting, with nice simple but clean and comfortable rooms. See the kangaroos and other animals. The King Parrots will land in your hand and feed on sunflower seeds. The lodge is right on the lake. Boats are for hire, And the food! Oh My Gosh. The breakfast is wonderful and the dinner is to die for. Appetizers on the deck, then you are call in for dinner. Three courses. And sit around and chat with the owners or other guests, or curl up in a corner and read with the roos looking in on you.

The hosts, Libby and Ian (aka Mitch) couldn't be nicer.

We highly recommend the Gipsy Point Lodge as a getaway you will never forget.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Serene location! Very quiet and relaxing. Lovely large room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the gardens and river below. Our host Ian introduced us to the birds who ate out of our hands. Had an excellent dinner in the restaurant with other guests. Started with hors d'ouerves in the lounge moving to the dining area for a 3 course dinner. Woke up the next morning to the sounds of birds and other wildlife. Breakfast was also enjoyed with the other guests in the main dining area. Beautiful spot to relax and enjoy nature at its best!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendadoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

Gipsy Point Lodge is a wonderful place to stay for a day or two. The views are very nice, you can sit on the deck overlooking the Genoa River & see the kangaroos & many birds that are very close by. The kangaroos are everywhere in the village & are quite tame. The accommodation at the lodge was very good, the hosts, Libby & Ian were very helpful & attentative and the chef John was excellent. We had a package deal that cost $330 per couple per day for accommodation & 3 meals. The breakfast was a full cooked breakfast as well as cereal etc. Lunch was either a bbq or picnic lunch hamper and the evening meal was 3 delicious courses that followed a pre-dinner cheese platter and nibbles. Although the dinner was a set course meal the food was excellent and variations could be made to suit.. You can hire a boat from the them or moor your own boat at their jetty. The waterways around the area were very extensive with plenty of nice spots to pull up at a jetty for a picnic or bbq. The fishing can be very good but we didn't catch any. The area is very tranquil & beautiful, however apart from the walking, boating & fishing thee is not a lot to do without driving further afield to Mallacoota or Eden.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTN50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

While the rooms are simple,the lodge is cosy and the location is very tranquil - plus offers nice access to the river.

Unfortunately the chef was away when we stayed so didn't get to have dinner at the lodge but the food at the Mallacoota Pub was good, though a bit of a drive.

We didn't have time to explore the area (Mallacoota) but would recommend the lodge as a place to stay for a few days to get away from city life.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicalBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gipsy Point
6.3 mi away
Shady Gully Caravan Park
Shady Gully Caravan Park
#2 of 13 in Mallacoota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gipsy Point Lakeside
Gipsy Point Lakeside
#1 of 2 in Gipsy Point
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Wave Oasis
The Wave Oasis
#1 of 1 in Mallacoota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Point Lodge

Property: Gipsy Point Lodge
Address: 35 Macdonald St, Gipsy Point, Victoria 3891, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Gipsy Point
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gipsy Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gipsy Point Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gipsy Point Lodge & Cottages is set in a wilderness location overlooking the Genoa River, part of the Mallacoota Inlet. Surrounded by national parks and waterways, this is the ideal place to escape and relax. "The Lodge" is suited to larger groups and families of 6-14 guests, with exclusive occupancy, full kitchen for self catering, lounge, sun deck, wifi, and everything to hand. All rooms with en suite, air conditioning and views. Also, Three self contained cottages suited to couples and families. Our own private Jetties and boat ramp, plus boats and canoes for hire. The Mallacoota Lake system is noted for its beauty and tranquility and excellent Bream & Flathead fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gipsy Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing