We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monkey Island Resort
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“okay for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

For young folks it's a very good and cheap resort,
but you should'nt expect too much of the resort.

Top location many food spots just outside the resort and a small store with all that you could need on the island.
I recommend KON GIN SEN Restaurant and the very friendly family owning the fruitshop & restaurant ESAN (my absolute favourite :)

Many people were complaining about the beds, but my wife & I slept very well on the hard & comfortable mattress.

The manager himself droped us of at the pier, and arranged us the speedboat.

Room Tip: Try getting a room, FAR FAR away from the bar and the club you might sleep better as we did ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SayX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    44
    34
    17
    24
See reviews for
20
69
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My friends booked this Resort and it was fantastic service from the moment we arrived. The ferry from mainland was smooth. Food is delicious and fresh and ample supply. The rooms were very clean and tidied daily. I can only say this is a wonderful place to stay!! I miss you all so much!! Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink_Bubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We intended to stay just for a couple of nights.. and ended up staying 6 ! That says it all really. Monkey Island is a wonderful peaceful place to stay. The staff can't help you enough, and the food was wonderful. We stayed in two different huts, first a basic hut with fan and bathroom, that was more than adequate, with a great terrace with deckchairs and hammock, and then a more expensive hut with aircon and bigger bathroom with breakfast included. Funky music, and and peaceful vibe make this a great place to stay. You can also hire mopeds and go on a snorkeling trip. I cannot recommend it enough and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I've been to Koh Mak many many times, and Monkey is one of many resorts I wish to stay but I was so disappointed. Unbelievable!!!! there is no bottle of water in the room. All staff don't have any sense of service mind, NOT EVEN ONE!!!!! Overall, resort surrounding is good, peaceful. Monkey bar is fantastic. BUT service is terrible, should be IMPROVED.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill Pattralee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Mak hotels

london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 3 days staying at monkey island, koh mak and we would 100% recommend both Monkey island and koh mak.
Ao kao beach is stunning, the monkey island accommodation is simple (no hot water) but clean, airy and very comfortable and the gardens around the bungalows are gorgeous.
We stayed in C4 it had a sea view and was the last on the block so nice and quiet, it has a double mattress (not 2 singles joined) a mozzy net, soft blankets and en suite bathroom, no air con just fan but in December the air is cool so we did not even use the fan, the room is 800 baht a night (£16) which seemed very reasonable for how nice it was.
The food was great esp the seafood BBQ, and there are other hotels as you walk in either direction along the beach so you can have some variety. Although there are other resorts on the beach they are all small and very much beach bungalows no high rises or party bars, not a Mekong bucket in sight!
After three days I have 3 itchy bites they could be mozzy or sandflies, which is what I would expect from any island in Thailand, I wore insect repellant the whole time as I was worried by what people had posted about koh mak and koh chang (I was expecting swarms and to be constantly bitten!) I didn't even see a sandfly, I noticed they rake the beach which could be helping
I spent ages deliberating about going to koh mak, i thought it would be best to stick to tried and tested islands in the south of Thailand but i'm very happy we gave it a look, we will definitely return to monkey island next time we are in Thailand

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 years ago and enjoyed our stay so decided to come back.
This time we chose a Gorilla Hut well worth the extra money, fabulous position on the beachfront and very peaceful. The hut is a good size with a large shower room with hot water. The day bed outside is great to chill out on for lazy afternoons watching the sea and sunsets.
The staff are all really friendly and willing to help with anything you need.
The beach and swimming is super and quiet not too many people around making Monkey Island a great place to relax and unwind.
Just a few steps out of the resort and there are plenty of restaurants and bars, although the food here was also great.
I am sure we will come back to Koh Mak sometime and will definitely be looking to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed in low (rainy) season so it was very quiet at Monkey Island (and the whole of Koh Mak) - there were only a handful of us staying there. Be aware if you go in low season that a lot of places are shut - there was not a lot of choice of restaurants and dive shops etc were closed.

Because it was low season I got a great deal on one of the baboon huts (fan and shared bathroom). The bar and restaurant were only open until 8pm and there was no live entertainment or music playing until late, which, as I was there to relax suited me fine.

The staff were friendly and attentive, and the food in the restaurant was good. The resort is right on the beach and the island is really easy to get around - I walked to most places but you can hire bikes too. The guys at Monkey Island picked me up and dropped me off at the pier which was really handy.

I can imagine this being a really fun place to stay when it is high season, and very popular as it is on one of the best beaches in the island. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
0.7 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.4 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#12 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Island Resort

Property: Monkey Island Resort
Address: 63/6 Tumbol, Ko Mak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Monkey Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Island Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing