We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast I've ever eaten and amazing view !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thaidaho Vista Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best breakfast I've ever eaten and amazing view !”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My 2 daughters and I were met at the jetty by Allen the proprietor and immediately made to feel welcome. On arrival Allen sat us down with a refreshing drink and spent time telling us all about the island and the best places to go which was so helpful,
The Thaidaho Vista is a small, clean and extremely well appointed haven. Air con in the room and free Wi-Fi provided some creature comforts which was a bonus. We had been recommended by friends to stay at the Thaidaho and were delighted to have found a hidden gem.
The views from the resort are nothing short of stunning taking me back to the bounty adverts I used to see as a child with the beautiful sandy beaches and palm trees.
Now on to the breakfast ! On the first morning I ordered the Woodys breakfast which was hash with fried eggs and fresh toast. Absolutely superb ! Allen, being American certainly knows how to cook a great breakfast.
If you want a quiet, recharge the batteries break at a very reasonable cost with an amazing view and great food, the Thaidaho is a must !!

Room Tip: This is an adult place really and doesn't have a pool but a nice one is available at a neighbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
72
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Cat and Allen are lovely hosts. They manage the place just between the two of them and Cat's family. Very commendable indeed and that must necessarily be hard work.

Both our hosts were there to welcome us at the pier when our speedboat came in and they had kindly arranged a taxi to pick us up with our bags. And we got a welcome drink at the resort on arrival and a helpful talk by Allen on the geography of the islands.

It is a small place with four rooms. So the advantage is that you do get some home comforts and personal attention from the hosts.

Accommodation is comfortable albeit basic. One should not expect to be in the lap of luxury in order that you are not disappointed by the term "Resort" in its name. Breakfast is a slightly limited in variety and may become a bit dreary if you stay more than a couple of days.

As Koh Mak is a small island Allen is naturally hamstrung if something breaks (e.g., the toilet flush when we were there!) and the spare parts required to repair it needs to come from the mainland.

We had been warned by Allen that power does fail on the island on occasion for about half an hour. And when it did fail on our first evening as predicted, there was Allen knocking on our door with a portable solar lamp! So very considerate...

Pros: The panoramic vista from the top of the hill where Thaidaho is situated is stunning five star!

Cons: From the top of the hill it is a long way down to the beach and of course a fairly steep climb back again!

Tip: Bring a flashlight!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Imliooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpi, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We did stay for 2 months as happy guests at the Thaidaho vista. Cat and Allen made us feel like living in a family, cooking for us good food, and also preparing a very tasty coffee with a delicious cream, more a dessert than a coffee (a special creation of Cat)
We did enjoy the stunning landscape from the nice tropical garden and also from the upstairs vista room: we stayed there for some days and we had to close the curtains in order to be able to sleep, that way avoiding such a great beauty.
Our habitual room was comfortable and very quiet. The position of the villa is on the windy hillside, just between the two main beaches, that are easily reachable with a 10 minutes walk (but a very long way from the nasty sandflies).
We had such a good time that we are counting the days to our next visit to Thaidaho, that next time will be longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. if you want something special the best you can choose is the vista room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had never heard of Koh Mak but it was mentioned to us by a traveler we met in Mae Hong Son. We decided to go there to relax at the end of our 10 weeks of traveling thru Thailand. What a great bit of luck! We selected Thaidaho Vista for 5 nights because of the many wonderful reviews they got on Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. Allen met our ferry, helped with our luggage then we were off to the guesthouse. The view is the best on the island and our room was perfect - clean and stylish, plenty of hangars, a washcloth!!!, good A.C., pump bottles of shampoo and body wash (no tiny little soaps). They only have 4 guestrooms so it feels like staying at a friend's house and they treat everyone with warmth and are so friendly.
They have a small restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. And we ate there each morning (so yummy) - breakfast is not included but they give you a daily 100 baht food credit! We arranged to have dinner one evening and had the best tom yum gai ever! Also had wonderful curry puffs that we hoarded each day.
They also have a great communal kitchen for your use. It is fully stocked with appliances and there is free drinking water supplied in a refrigerated dispenser. Nice!
The property is lush with plenty of spots to relax in a hammock or lounge in a chaise.
Allen and Kat take care of you and make sure you have all the information you need to enjoy your stay. They make suggestions for activities and have advice for renting a scooter, finding a restaurant, a secluded beach or a snorkling spot.
If you make contact with them, they can give you advice on getting to Koh Mak and Kat can schedule your ferry for your return trip. They have thought of everything!
We loved our relaxing stay at Thaidaho Vista and wouldn't stay anywhere else if we were planning a trip there. Go ahead and make contact with them. You will really love it there!! It's perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our host Allen welcomed us at the pier and had arranged with the taxi. When we arrived at the resort he provided us with a welcome drink and gave us good information for our short stay.
Breakfast is very good, Kat's coffee is first-rate.
Rooms are clean and tidy but with very hard beds. Well-functioning wifi. Disturbing lights on AC'n.
Great location on the hill above the north beach. Very relaxing place, quiet and pleasant. Neighbouring Hotel karaoke was a bit disturbing during Saturday afternoon and evening, but it ended at nine.
Bring a flashlight, street lights are few and do not reveal everything that creeps there during the dark hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanLinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaidaho, Owner at Thaidaho Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Johan,

Thank you for your kind review; we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We're sorry you did not like your mattress. Kat & I sleep on the same mattress and we love it, but we understand that desired firmness is a very personal choice.

And we agree with you completely about the terrible karaoke party at Islanda Resort Hotel next door to Vista. We were also grateful that it ended at 9pm! But just so travelers don't get the wrong idea, this is not a daily occurrence. In fact, they (Islanda) have had a karaoke party only once this season--unfortunately when you were here! And we are told they will do one more for a techno music tour group in March, that will end at 10pm. So unless they are lying to us, we (and our guests!) should only be annoyed by this "noise" one more time this year. Let's hope so!! Otherwise, I think you would agree that Koh Mak is very quiet.

Travel safe!
Allen & Kat
Thaidaho Vista Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This lovely quiet guesthouse had marvellous views, comfortable rooms and great food.We had personal attention from the owners, Kat and Allen, throughout our 9 day stay and found it a perfect place to explore Koh Mak and just chill.We recommend it without reservation!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We just put on a pot of coffee from the beans that Kat sells in her shop, and the aroma harkened us back to the wonderful time spent at Thaidaho (Despite it being -15degrees Celsius back here in Canada). It also reminded us that we must write this review to thank and praise our gracious hosts Kat, allen and family for another glorious stay. This place is absolute paradise, so much so, we have come back here three Januarys in a row. By far, Thaidaho vista (and Koh Mak) is our favorite place to stay in Thailand. We have stayed in the ocean view room twice and were fortunate enough to have the Vista Room available to us this year. What a view. I think we read its the best view in the gulf of Thailand, but for us its our favorite view in the whole world!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundrobin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.0 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaidaho Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaidaho Vista Resort

Property: Thaidaho Vista Resort
Address: 1/10 Moo 2 | Koh Mak, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaidaho Vista Resort: a small, quaint, affordable "non-smoking" island retreat with a Million Dollar View. A small Thai guesthouse with coffee shop/cafe/pub. Perched atop Koh Mak's highest (tsunami-proof!) Hill, yet only 200 meters to the beaches and restaurants. Come enjoy one of Thailand's last unspoiled islands--and help us keep it that way! Next holiday: take a break and enjoy the Vista! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing