We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koh Mak Green View Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Ko Mak B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet time”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights, 7th April - 12th April.
Postivies first...
Firstly, the family were very helpful with arranging our speedboat and pick up.
-The bungalow had a lovely veranda equipt with hammock and bench.
-The restaurant's Thai food was spot on. As in Koh Kood only a couple of sweet options but the banana fritters are good to satisfy sweet tooths.
-I thought I would miss being on a proper sandy beach but actually since the lack of such beach meant no sandflys I was happy with it. They had some well placed sun loungers on the small pier which were perfect for sunbathing.
-Easy and cheap to rent motorbikes.
-They organised a lovely boat trip for us around the island.
-Free kayaks and snorkelling gear.
Negatives
I really only have one complaint and that was the bed and pillows provided. Unfortunately, this would put me off staying there again as both of us did not sleep well. The mattress was hard and the pillows were worse.

Room Tip: Our room was B3 perhaps try a different one - possible there are better beds in other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixandkae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vila do bispo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

If it's peace quiet and relaxation your looking for, then this is about as good as it gets. Solid, spacious and well appointed huts with big verandas well spaced out and surrounded by jungle on 3 sides with the ocean lapping up in front. No noisy bars, no busy roads, no motos screaming by, just you the waves the birds and the friendliest most helpful family I've come across in a long time ! If your after action, your in the wrong place !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uselessbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent in this "resort" six days, it is very chilled in here, camp is runned by the family originally from Koh Mak.
Positives: no mosquitos on this part of an island, quiet, not many tourists, great pineapple shakes (family also owns pineaple farm), good food
Negatives: very deserted, if you want to go to the bar or mingle with other tourists, either you have to go by taxi (50baht/person) or rent a motorbike (300baht/a day) -
We rented a bike almost every day, as we wanted to explore the island more (and we found our own private beach, hihi) - there is no beach in Green View, water is extremely shallow, you have to walk at least 100m away from the shore to have water at least to your knees (of course depends on the day time). But You can use their cayaks and snorchelling kit for free.
We loved the stay there, booked with them for 6 days and for next three days in Ao Pong, family was really friendly, until we told them, where will we stay next, as the Ao Pong is runned with polish guy and his thai girlfriend, we did not know and we did not care, who is the owner of the camp, but obviously they did. We were told, that Ao Pong is horrible, hard beds, mosquitos and blah blah blah.... So they wanted to persuade us to stay with them, normally they would also drive you anywhere, if you asked politely, but not to Ao Pong, we had to take taxi, anyway Ao Pong turned to be really nice place, so if they try to do the same with you, do not get scared and do not listen to them, as they probably have some issue with Ao Pong owner from Europe (which is actually very polite and helpful guy).

Room Tip: Any bungalow is nice, you do not need mosquito net on this part of an island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drissha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

You can expect very friendly and extremely helpful people. They will help you with almost everything you need. Drop you from the pier, if you need to go somewhere on the island, they drive you there for free. Great cuisine. Snorkeling, kayaking and other sports and games for free. The bungalows are simple, but clean and comfortable. There is no sand beach, but you don't need it there, you can spend whole day resting in the garden or on the pier or you can rent motorbike, bicycle and go to other beach on the island. Me and my wife stayed in Green View ten days and absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herbess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were delighted with this lovely little place. The family who run it are extremely helpful. They pick you up when you arrive, will take you to any of the other beaches, will help to arrange onward travel and generally help in any way they can. You can borrow kayaks and go round to some lovely quiet beaches nearby. We rented bikes one day to explore the rest of the island. The restaurant is open all day and food or drinks are provided whenever you want them. It won't suit everyone but if you are on a budget, want to be away from it all with lovely views, right on the beach, with little else to do than swim, sunbathe and rest, then this is a very good option and was exactly what we had hoped for, with the bonus of such lovely friendly people running it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brockfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in March 2011 and really loved the place. It´s a small romantic hideout with the real old friendly thai vibe. The family, who runs the place is really sweet and friendly, they even drive you to the "city" and pick you up when you are ready to go back. The food is great and cheap and all in all this place is a real gem. If you want to party don´t bother though, this place is for pure relaxation. I really loved the remote location on the quite side of the island, we rented bikes one day and drove around the island and were happy to come back to peace and quiet. There are a couple of cons I have to mention to make this a fair review, firstly the beds are pretty hard, and secondly there is no real beach. The place is all so pretty rustic and basic, so if you want luxury go some where else. There is a pier which is really nice for sunbathing (no sandflies!) and you can easily take a dip. They all so have kayaks (for free) so you can paddle about 5min to the next beach which is completely deserted. All in all, this place was one of the highlights of our 2month trip and it´s great value if you want to experiance the authentic thai friendliness and atmosphare first hand. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suvi_Hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed in the green view resort on Koh Mak during four nights in January 2012. The resort is located at the north shore of the island and has a little rocky beach and a large sand bank. The resort is owned by an extremely friendly Thai family. We stayed in a fan bungalow for a very reasonable price. The bungalow was simple but clean with a large veranda and hammock, mosquito net and cold shower (the latter being absolutely sufficients at these temperatures). Although the resort is a bit remote from the rest of the island life, the owners provide free transport and pick-up from/to the ferry pier or to the other beaches. In addition they rent motorbikes either for the complete day, or for the evenings for fair prices. Apart from the tourist business, they are farming pineapples and coconuts, so go for a fresh shake in the little restaurant, that also offers a decent western breakfast or excellent Thai cuisine.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Green View Resort on Koh Mak and can really recommend the place for those who fancy a cheap, quiet and authentic place to stay on this beautiful island.

Room Tip: Some bungalows provide A/C and TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
2.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
174 reviews
2.2 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
2.5 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
2.5 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Mak Green View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mak Green View Resort

Property: Koh Mak Green View Resort
Address: 10 Moo.2 Baan Aow Tan, Koh Mak, Koh Kood,, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Koh Mak Green View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing