We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I usually try to avoid Western food, but this was one of the best Western food I've had in Asia”
Review of Swiss Sawadee

Swiss Sawadee
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I usually try to avoid Western food, but this was one of the best Western food I've had in Asia”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The owner is a really cool Swiss guy, the chef, a Thai woman who lived in Switzerland and who knows where else (this was a month ago so I forget the details) for more than 20 years and she LOVES cooking. The food is TOO good...prices are OK considering it's a tourist restaurant on an island...again, we ate 2 dishes and the food was amazing. I had the Goulash and being from Hungarian descent, having not eating Goulash for almost 25 years...this was one of the best things I've eaten in years. Seriously. It's not very often that I eat something that makes me as happy as that dish did, and make it last all throughout the next few days. I couldn't stop being impressed. The only "bad" thing I can say about this place is that the tables need to be rearranged or replaced (get small round tables, really). There is not much atmosphere but the food is the best Western food I've had in Asia. No doubt about it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    23
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honfleur, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What o nice place for dinner in Koh Mak !”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The food is excellent, particularly italian one but also a lot of traditional thai food choice.
Excellent welcome.
We really appreciated a lot this restaurant and prices are very friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best one in Koh Mak”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Best restaurant in Koh Mak with fresh and tasty food with uncredible thai herbs. Owner couple is very friendly and they make you feel warmly welcome.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Torppari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great little Restaurant”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have been coming to Koh Mak for several years and we always visit this restaurant , They serve excellent European food as well as very good Thai dishes, the quality never varies always, food served together so each can enjoy there meal together. On makes some great apple cake and nutcake, look for it on the board as to which is on offer, try it with ice cream topped with Kalua mmm yummy. It is advisable to book your table. It is a very friendly homely restaurant, well worth a visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrTravelED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pork was off!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My parents were excited to try this place but were so disappointed. Their pork was off. They could smell it was off before actually tasting it. It was green and smelt so bad... They were really taken aback by being served something so obviously rancid. The staff didn't make them pay for the pork dish but they did pay for their other dish. They were quite upset and quickly left. The server was apologetic but the cook was not at all. Am puzzled by all the good reviews...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokyo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Sawadee also viewed

 
Ko Mak, Trat Province
Ko Mak, Trat Province
 

Been to Swiss Sawadee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing