We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koh Mak paradise”
Review of Island Huts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Huts
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ko Mak
Southern Gulf Islands, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Koh Mak paradise”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed two months at Island Hut and had a great time. The owners and staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They took great care of us and our 5 year old daughter. I look forward to returning as soon as possible and if I do return to Koh Mak it will most certainly be to Island Hut. Very restful, very relaxing... perfect beach, great people..... all in all a great deal. If you are thinking of visiting Koh Mak then certainly stay at Island Hut.

Room Tip: The huts on the beach are well worth the extra 100 THB per night..... the breeze off the ocean make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I spent 5 nights here in January, first 2 nights in a garden hut (300thb), then 3 more nights in a beach hut (450thb). Booking can be done via phone only, in high season it is better to call them from BKK or Trad to check if they have any rooms available. Also you can ask them to pick you up at the pier (no extra fee). The location is just perfect, the best part of the best beach, close to restaurants and shops and the party place if you need it (but not too close, so it will not ruin your sleep).The huts are basic but clean and have everything you need (en suite bathroom, fan, mosquito net and beach chairs, hammocks, floaties, games, books..). The beach huts well worth the extra money as they are literally on the beach only 5 meters from the sea. I had no problem with the staff, they are a little bit reserved maybe (must be the language barrier), but are supportive, attentive and give good service. The restaurant is on the beach too, it is comfy and nice, the (thai) food is excellent and reasonably priced. They have a beach bar, too where you can get your sunset cocktail or beer.
(Sandflies are an issue on the beach, better to use repellant or coconut oil)

Room Tip: go for the beach huts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The restaurant is very average and the staff need to cheer up. They need to smile at their guests every now and again, and stop looking so miserable all the time. Guests need to feel welcome!

The beach bungalows are OK, we stayed in a fan only, decent sized bungalow with its own shower/toilet for 300 Bhat per night (bartered down from 350 for a 4 night stay). I had to wipe lizard excrement from my laptop because there were loads of gaps where the walls met the ceiling, this practically invited this lizards in. The beach huts were more like an allotments. But to be honest, all this is pretty standard for beach bungalows, especially in this price range.

What made it all worthwhile was the beach. Koh Mak is a beautiful island with some lush tropical vegetation, our bungalow was a stone's throw away from one of the most attractive beaches on the entire island [please see the photographs] I'm sure you'll agree. 2 star accommodation but 5 star location. A well balanced four out of five for me, purely for the location and quality of beach. You know you're on a tropical island when you order a coconut juice and the manager goes onto the beach with a giant stick to poke one out of a tree for you!

You may want to treat yourself to a couple of nights in a 'posher' place after a lengthy stay to catch up on rest (we did!). But as always, the most expensive resorts don't necessarily have the most attractive beaches. Something to bear in mind.

Oh yeah, don't try to Kayak across to the island opposite (the one that looks SO close) we struggled to get half way before giving up and turning back, only to capsize in the middle of the ocean and then have to swim back, trust me it ain't worth it!

Room Tip: Try to negotiate cheaper rates for longer stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Mak, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you want to be a part of the nature, this is the best choice. We really loved this place. So calm and peaceful... And so romantic.
Small cottages with bathroom nad toilet, we had one directly on the beach, only 5 meters to the sea.
Good kitchen, kind and friendly owner, free games, snorcheling equipment and so on...
If you don´t need luxury and prefer sounds of the nature all day long, this is your choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharulinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We were on Koh Mak island many times and had stayed in many reaorts already, wheter cheap or expensive ones. As we stayed in the expensive places, I found the price was too expensive for what they offered us. To stay here in the Island Hut, we found the price was fair!

Island Hut is located on a beautiful part of Ao Kao Beach. The owner and staffs are very friendly and uncomplicated. The bungalows are plain and built from coconut trees and leaves. We stayed in a small beach front bungalow, which is perfect to reach the beach in some steps.

In the hut, there were a big bed for 2 persons with mosquito net, a fan and a bathroom , actually all what u need for a holiday. The only bad point, what we found in our hut is that the mosquito net is a small round one, which is too small for two persons in the bed as the corners fell together to the middle and lied on our legs and heads at the end.

There is a restaurant in the resort and they have various choices of Thai and Western foods. The foods were yummy and the service was quick even when the restaurant was full. The owner of the bungalow's always here for you when you want something.

Tips: For a better sleep, you should put the mosquito net tightly in every corner under the matress to protect yourself from the insects. Open the window to get a nice sea breeze during your sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy_Paradies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

First the positive feedback on this place. The staff is open and friendly. The location is on the nicest part of the beach, excellent.

We had the largest beach shack you could get with veranda, ac, hot shower. It has nice views, a hammock and two relax chairs. Until so far, great!

But when we wanted to go to sleep, we heard all kind of insects crawling in the floor and walls. This could be rats, or god knows what. When we were in bed, one of us slept on the wood the other on a lump. The bed was too small to even turn on the other side. This combined with the eating insects ended up in no sleeping at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MickBrNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

A typical family-run collection of bungalows on a calm and beautiful beach. Bungalows are nothing too fancy, but come with private bath and have a fan and are clean. The ones directly on the beach (the sand literally comes up your front yard) are only 50B more than the ones on the back row, even though they are a bit smaller. We changed from a back-row bungalow to a beach on and didn't regret it, as the beach here was perfect. Not much people, white sand and gently swaying palm trees. The water also gets deeper very slowly, so it doesn't matter if you're not a good swimmer.

The family who runs the place are all very nice and they also run a little restaurant, which serves some western and thai classics (even though the food here is pretty standard), if you're not up for a little walk to the nearest restaurant (about 20 mins). The food is also a bit cheaper here than on most other islands.

The best thing about this place in my opinion is the relaxed and quiet atmosphere, you can forget that such things as money, cellphones or internet even exist if you so wish (the next resort on the beach about 500meters away has internet, though).

Room Tip: Go for the ones directly on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmluder135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
0.2 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#13 of 15 in Ko Mak
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.4 mi away
Bamboo Hideaway
Bamboo Hideaway
#4 of 15 in Ko Mak
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ao Pong Resort
Ao Pong Resort
#4 of 17 in Ko Mak
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Huts

Property: Island Huts
Address: Ao Kao, Ko Mak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ko Mak
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing