We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place! ”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We've literally left Plubpla today and all I can say is our 4 nights here were world class! The service was exceptional as was the food - my partner agrees with the comment further down about it being the best massaman curry shes ever had! We stayed in villa 1 with the private plunge pool that we sat in at nights looking at the starry sky. The staff couldnt do anymore for you from the considerate gardening to the front of house staff all are amazing. This was our final stop of three weeks in Thailand and we wanted luxury and style I havent been dissapointed at all. Definatly go on a boat trip, its less of a free for all than other trips on the southern islands. Hire one of the on site motorbikes and go and track down smugglers cove the most beautiful beach i've found yet. And walk out onto thw rocks directly in front of the hotel and watch the sunset breathtaking! If I could rate Plupla higher I would. Thankyou for an amazing conclusion to our Thailand adventure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liambendelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    63
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
135
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed on Koh Mak at the Plubpla Beach Resort for 4 nights after 3 nights on Koh Kood (at the Koh Kood Beach Resort which I highly recommend) I liked the walkways in between rooms (would be dangerous if you had too many drinks ;-) and the room itself was fantastic. Very clean, the most comfortable bed we had in Thailand and very nicely decorated in the bedroom and bathroom. Our room had a sitting bench along our back window and our room looked to the beach between to other bungalows. The bedroom had 2 showers so you had your option to shower inside or outside however the outside shower had very very low water pressure so we didn't really use it. The room overall was fantastic.
The grounds are very manicured and pretty - one night we heard a little knock on our door and we opened the door to find two little girls (i think other guests) who handed us a little bowl of jasmine flowers and the perfume was beautiful in our room. The pool was very clean and very pretty if you got there early enough to get a seat. there did not seem to be enough seats for everyone which was a little disappointing so one day we went down to the beach but found it had a ton of sand fleas so we couldn't really sit there. The ocean water seemed quite murky so it also wasn't the best swimming spot. we rented a moped from the hotel and most days we went to other beach locations on the island and came back to the hotel for an afternoon swim which was nice.
The restaurant was pretty good - there are a few small items available for you to help yourself but you have a choice of 3 or so breakfast options in the included breakfast which were quite nice. We had lunch and a dinner there and all items we ordered were very tasty.
The staff are very friendly but not overly engaged. I guess overall i found the feeling of this hotel more "formal" than is my preferred style so the staff seem to be there more to "serve" you vs engage with you.
Overall, it was formal but not unfriendly, the pool was great, very pretty and clean, but not enough deck space or seats (and some were broken), and the beach was undesirable…. Overall I liked the resort and we had a great stay but there are a few small things to consider depending on what you are looking for.
extra note - we took a snorkelling trip with Koh Mak Divers that we really enjoyed. I chatted a lot with owner Steve from England but has been on Koh Mak for 18 years - he is a wealth of knowledge about the island and we really enjoyed our trip and recommend their service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TipsyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Other reviewers were very positive tribute on Plub Pla. I certainly agree with them. Fine bungalows, nice swimming pool, beautiful surroundings. The staff is very helpful.
However, I would choose another location for subsequent stays. Indeed, there are other beaches like Ao Kao, where the opportunities for hiking, swimming, kayaking are greater. And even more restaurants in the area can be found.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay. We stayed in room 2. It had a jacuzzi and is right on the beach. The infinity pool of the resort has a great view of the ocean. The staff are really sweet people. Always ready to help. Really mellow place. Want to take out the sea kayaks? Go ahead. Want to have dinner by the pool? Sure! Late for your snorkeling trip pickup? The staff will run to your room and grab you.

Prices were really fair. If you are wanting the absolute highest level of food, maybe this is not the place. For us the food was perfect. Excellent breakfast lunches and dinners.

Don't forget to try snorkeling. Or even diving.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angiejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Me and my family just stayed 4 days at Plub Pla and we had an awesome stay. My wife had her birthday there and the staff arranged for a cake at dinner free of charge.

They also arranged "rice lamps" that you light on fire and that fly into the sky. They made my wifes birthday a night to remember

The owner went great lengths to make sure we were having a great time. We were traveling with another family that also had kids so he would give the kids different toys to play with. At night he would collect different animals from the beach to show the kids.


All the staff were really friendly specially to our 1.5 year old son.

The pool was very nice and really good for kids as it had a shallow section for them to play in.


The food in the restaurant was really nice and I ordered a Massaman curry one night that was probably the best one I ever had.

All in all it was s great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danieliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Beautiful and great resort with very friendly staff. Located in peaceful area on south beach. Restaurant has very tasty Thai food. The beach is not that good for swimming but you can enjoy the pool which is very nice. The only bit wierd thing in resort was restaurants backround music.They should play more traditional thai music rather than american country music. Sure to be back when travelling to Koh Mak.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torppari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Spent three nights here (one to go!). Beautiful villas, positioned so that all have great views over the sea, (and further back) lawns and raised walkways as well. Comfortable bed and great bathroom/shower facilities (one outsidel). I think the shoreside villas may be marginally larger and have a jacuzzi, but to be honest, we're on the back row and have a great view between the other off set villas all the way to the sea, so wouldn't fuss about paying extra to be closer to the sea. The shower pressure is a little low, but acceptable.
We would normally eat outside the hotels we stay at in Thailand, but the food here is superb, and hardly much more (if at all) than you would pay in a beach/roadside restaurant. Great breakfast with superb freshly ground coffee. Excellent friendly service, but slower when they're busy..but worth the wait.
Staff really helpful at arranging collection on arrival/departure and interim taxis (only 50bt per/person any point on the island). A little disappointed that the mountain bikes they have available are poorly maintained/missing bits and we really didn't feel they were safe to take out.
(They do have a number of scooters though).
Wifi is only available in the open restaurant /reception area and round the (excellent) infinity pool.Pretty slow and a pity it doesn't extend to the villas.
But overall, an excellent hotel, great location, value and food. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't worry about not being in a villa directly onto the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesandwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
1.7 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#8 of 15 in Ko Mak
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
10.5 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
216 reviews
2.4 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat

Property: Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Address: 50 / 5 Moo 2, Ao Pai Beach, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the most beautiful resort on Koh Mak, even by the other resort owners on the island. All beach, sea view Villas on a serene private beach. Amazing endless swimming pool with jacuzzi seat and always enough sun chairs and tables in the restaurant. The Koh Mak Retreat is truly a place where you can get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing