We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Koh Mak retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet Koh Mak retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Plubpla for two nights in January. This was the beginning of our trip to Koh Mak and Koh Chang. Overall, I think it was a great start to the holiday. First thing to note - Plubpla kindly picked us up from the Koh Mak Resort pier after our 45 min speedboat ride to the island. Do request a pick up as it makes everything a lot easier when you arrive. We originally booked the beach front villa with jacuzzi through bookings.com but later received an email from Plubpla to say it had already been booked.. we were disappointed but accepted the most "basic" room which was the superior sea view villa. The room was the furthest away from the beach, but it didn't really matter as we could still see the sea and we were close to the pool and bar/restaurant. The room was good, but it felt like there were a few things missing bearing in mind this is a five star resort. The decor was quite plain, there were no tea and coffee facilities, no phone (therefore no room service) and no welcome pack of any kind. Additionally there were gaps between the front door and windows but luckily we had no problem with mosquitos/bugs. The staff were very kind and helpful but there was sometimes a bit of a language barrier. We rented what we thought was a "car" to tour the island which ended up being a golf buggy! At first we were a little embarrassed but in the end we had a lot of fun driving around the island - there is a wonderful remote beach on the North East tip of the island - ask reception for a map of the island and ensure you visit! The pool area was great, we spent most of our time here and the beach was OK. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights we were there and the food was good but perhaps not the most memorable. They do make a good Pina Colada and G&T though! All in all, we had a lovely relaxing stay here - a great introduction to the island. I would recommend the hotel but only for a few nights of R&R as it is quite far away from anything on the island.

Room Tip: Even the most basic room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
133
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the Plubpla in January. Overall, I felt there was something missing for the price, but if you're after a spectacular setting and good modern facilities, then you'll be happy.

The rooms were good, but I felt certain things were lacking in a 4000bht a-night beachside bungalow - only 2 towels, no complementary sandals nor tea or coffee. There is a MASSIVE TV in the room which only shows local Thai channels and no DVD player. It left me wondering that if the Plubpla's main clientele are foreign tourists, what's the point in the huge TV?

The restaurant was 80% hit and 20% miss - loved the pancakes at breakfast, but certain cocktails tasted nothing like they should.

The reception staff were pleasant and spoke relatively good English. They were helpful except this one time - me and my wife wanted to visit Koh Mak Seafood, a very good local restaurant, and we asked front desk to book us a table. They refused!! Sure, they booked us a taxi and we later found out from islanders that the owners of Plubpla have a long personal feud with owners of 'Seafood'. We didn't know at the time, and were baffled with the refusal. And yet, this 'experience' was mixed with great service - e.g my wife needed cream for sunburn and they drove me all across the island looking for an elusive tube of aloe vera.

But despite the room omissions, the hit and miss service, I do feel bad about my complaints because the view from our beachfront bungalow was amazing, and pool is particularly impressive. The resort is a very attractive mix of natural beauty and modern design. Go if you want total relaxation...but don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in early January with our 2 children and we LOVED this resort. The rooms were great, the service was wonderful and the food was good. With only 18 bungalows the resort never felt crowded. We loved the beach and it was very clean since I saw staff raking it every morning. When the tide went our we loved searching the tide pools in the rocks just off the beach. We had planned on leaving the resort and exploring the island but once we got the resort and "checked out" we didn't see a need to leave. The food was great; it was really good and simple Thai food. A lot of times resorts try and fancy up the Thai food but this resort served very good traditional Thai food. Their tom yum soup (with coconut milk) was one of the best I have ever had. So glad we decided on Koh Mak instead of the madness of Koh Chang. Excellent service and I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenaynay_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed 4 nights with my family at this beautiful resort. Very friendly staff and lovely bungalows. I got stomach sick after a restaurant visit in Koh Chang and the staff at Plubpla helped me to find a doctor and translated into Thai. They didn´t even except the tip I wanted to give them for driving me there. Lots to choose from the food menue but the food was variyng depending on chef for the day.

Positive that we could stay all in one room even thought the extra madrasses on the floor were quite expensive (1000 Baht per night for two madrasses).

The beach isn´t very big but its quite enough since you rather stay at the pool area which is very beatiful.

What surprised me was that there were some stuff that needed repairments but that nobody seemed to care about (like several wood pieces were missing on staires and terrasses and some paint in bath rooms had fallen off) but the area is very exotic and chic in general. Koh Mak in general isn´t an island to go to if you are looking for a lot of action - but if you are looking for piece and quite this is the place.

+ The Bungalows
+ Very clean
+ Helpful and very friendly staff
+ Beautiful area in general - very exotic
+ Never problem to find a sun bed
+ Good breakfast
+ Free water in bungalow minibar

- Should play lounge music instead of thai christmas songs
- Hard beds (but I realize all hotel beds in thailand seeams to be that way regardless standard)
- Satellite TV didn work when we were there. We could borrow a dvdplayer but they didnt have any movies to let.
- Expensive for extra beds

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I found this hotel while searching on an internet reserch page. When I saw the pictures, wow, I did not hesitate a bit! So I booked a beach front with jaccuzi and for the other couple traveling with us I booked a sea view. Both rooms are identical but one has a jaccuzi in the front and its right on the beach... 2 meters from the water on high tide. As for the other sea view, its about 10 meters from the beach but also has a beautiful view of the sea. Comparable to the beach front view. There is one thousand and two hundred baht difference in price between both rooms. Honestly, next time (if theres a next time) I would book a sea view. Secondly, the breakfast is in my honest opinion, extreamly rinky dinky. Don't expect much here! You have been warned. As for the location, if your the type of person who likes to kick back next to the pool and read a book and only hear the noise of the small waves break on the shore, this is for you. If your a party animal, this is not a place for you and you should prefer the monkey resort which is better situated close to the somewhat city of the island. Do not rent a scooter from the Plubpla reception, as the staff will overcharge you one hundred baht a day more for the rental. Take a taxi and rent one close to the monkey resort. Expect a three hundred baht rental fee for 24 hours. In one day, you have had largly the time to go arround the island. So up to you if you wish to keep the scooter. Taxi cost about fifty baht one way per person. Food in the evening is ok but don't be in a rush as they are very slow! And lastly, YOU HAVE TO PAY YOUR ICE IN THE RESORT! This was the cherry on the cake. It's the first time in Thailand that I have to pay ice.

Room Tip: When you exit the Plubpla resort, turn right and stay to your left, pass the stop sign and follow th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Warden_of_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights in the low seasons there. But it was still awesome. We were picked up by the hotelmanager at the pier and got a great service during our whole stay. There was no breakfast buffet I guess because of the small amount of guest but you could order american, english, club sandwich, burger, muesli+fruits etc. and all in good nice and clean quality.
The rooms are clean and beautiful as shown on the pictures. We rent a motorbike and explored the whole island. After we had a look at nearly all resorts we thought we got definitely choose the best. It is very private, nice small clean beach, clean and well designed rooms, very nice garden and a extensive menu. I would only sleep there on Koh Mak!

TIP: From Coconana Resort with a small boat to KOH KHAM for 300 Baht. WHITE SAND ...perfect paradise

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. It was so great to visit this quietly hidden paradise after 2 weeks bizzy Cambodia. Laidback atmosphere at the retreat. Great pool to swim in. Friendly helpfull staff & loved their food. We had a nice villa on the second row and very clean!

You can rent a scooter of Plubpla if you want to explore the island. White sand beach is nice to go.

I hope to visit this retreat again someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.7 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#12 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat

Property: Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Address: 50 / 5 Moo 2, Ao Pai Beach, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the most beautiful resort on Koh Mak, even by the other resort owners on the island. All beach, sea view Villas on a serene private beach. Amazing endless swimming pool with jacuzzi seat and always enough sun chairs and tables in the restaurant. The Koh Mak Retreat is truly a place where you can get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing