We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More suited as a yogo retreat” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamboo Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More suited as a yogo retreat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at Bamboo Hideway with my two sons and daughter in law and although the place itself is nice the problem really is that it is run by a couple almost single handedly so both myself and the boys felt that we were almost imposing on them by being there. It really felt like you were invited guests in their home and as a result it was a bit awkward asking them for anything, and even impossible at times. One evening my bathroom door had been locked and when I went to look for them to open it at 9pm (ish) the bar was closed up and they were no where to be found so I basically had no use of the bathroom all night and had to use the loo in the bar area. Also they lock the fridges at night in the bar area so once they head of to bed, that's it and although I didn't want to party all night I would have enjoyed the facility to be able to order a drink later than 9pm!!
Another thing is that it is located very much off the beaten track and so please allow the cost of hiring motorbikes to use to get about as it is no where near a beach or even a small shop. The roads are pretty unmade so I actually did fall off my bike which made the trip even less attractive!!
The couple themselves who run it are lovely people but I think it really would only be suitable for anyone who wants to go and hide away or meditate for a few days as thats pretty much all you could do there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    24
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
68
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Owners are very friendly and attentive, lovely & peaceful place, great for taking a deep breath and just slowing down.
We enjoyed our stay and the location was convenient. WiFi worked well in the rooms, overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beejung A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Francesca & Massimo are most helpful and runs this small and very tastefully build out of bamboo resort with a friendly italian atmosphere. The kitchen is superb with Italian and thai on the menu. A lovely pool overlokking the sea together with Francescas readiness to drive you compensates for the poor quality of the local beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are good with aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

High on the hillside, but only a few minutes walk from the nearest beach resort, Bamboo Hideaway is exactly that. Made of bamboo and hidden away.

[View our video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KxZH9CXlxNc ]

Wherever you are on the island, whether you have just arrived by boat or are hopping from another resort, just give the hotel a call and a lift will be arranged to get you here.

Each bungalow is made entirely of bamboo and perched on stilts within landscaped gardens.

The rooms are spacious and immaculately looked after under the watchful and friendly eyes of Massimo and Francesca Melosoni, the Italian couple who took over this boutique hotel in September 2012.

The new owners have continued the hotel’s tradition of high standards and have brought an Italian twist to the restaurant menu – so although all the Thai favourites are still here you can also choose from a wide range of authentic Mediterranean dishes.

We opted for one of the two bungalows at the front of the resort, giving us a better view of the Gulf of Thailand and nearby Koh Kood. However the rooms at the back are of equally high standard – and the pool area is probably where you will spend most of your time anyway.

The pool isn’t huge, but it’s ultra-clean and big enough for the resort even if all the rooms are full. Which is quite often. We’d stayed at three places before this on and around Koh Mak and all had been very quiet – but Bamboo Hideaway had a steady stream of guests, showing that their reputation is working for them.

The restaurant also manages to pull in extra people in the evenings, with the fresh pasta and pizza menu proving popular for those tired of too much Thai cuisine. It’s a well-appointed and nicely furnished space that is open on all sides and adjoins the pool, giving a nice view out over the well-maintained gardens to the sea and the lights of Koh Kood beyond.

During the day, although there are no fridges in the rooms, you will find a couple of big bottles of water in the restaurant fridge with your room number on them.

Back in the rooms, and – as you will see from the photos – they really are all made of bamboo. Slippers are provided as the floor ‘boards’ are also just bamboo poles…but they are smooth and have rope caulking to plug the gaps so creepy-crawlies are kept to a minimum.
You may hear the nearby 'tuk-kae' cry of one of the local resident lizards through the night though… we thought this was a bird originally, but it turns out that it s one of these monster-sized geckoes (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3p0IhnX4hzc) .

Should you want to check out this video in the comfort of your room you will be able to because the free wi-fi covers the whole resort very well.

Bed quality – large, good mossie net and the mattresses are remarkably soft by Thai standards…meaning that that they are comfortably firm, but not the breezeblock variety you usually expect to find on these islands!

[ps. Thanks to The Escape Frame for the soundtrack to our holiday video (‘Our Hideout’) – acoustic version of it is here if you want to check them out too: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVqNXgDckfw]

Room Tip: If you intend spending any time in your room during the day or in the evening then go for a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnBownas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Bamboo Hideaway for 6 nights and it was absolutely brilliant. The views are tremendous, it was so quirky and fun staying in a bamboo hut, and surprisingly comfortable. The resort has a wonderful relaxed vibe to it. The food! Amazing food! Massimo is a talented chef and the Italian dishes must be tried.

Massimo and Francesca were so welcoming and helpful, e.g they arranged a moped for us during our stay. But the main reason I will always have fond memories of this place is due to the effort our lovely hosts made for my wife's 30th birthday. Massimo served up a perfectly cooked lobster followed by muscles in pasta. He even baked a surprise birthday cake replete with candles. My wife and I will always fondly remember our stay and thank Massimo and Francesca for their fantastic hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobFlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel following TripAdvisor suggestion. (With an eye on the opportunity to have Italian food choice)
We are satisfied, Massimo and Francesca are doing their best to let you enjoy the stay.
The good thing in this island is that you have a great beach selection so the fact that the hotel is not directly on the beach was not a problem. Seesight is very good.
Definitely we suggest to rent a motorbike.
Price/Quality ratio is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danigraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place was naturally gorgeous and just peaceful. I stayed here with my partner for 10 days and wouldn't have minded staying for another 10. The owners Francesca and Massimo were so warm and made us feel like home - not to mention the delicious italian dishes Massimo whipped up in the kitchen. The bungalows were spotlessly clean, all in all great value for your money! we also liked the fact that the place was not by the beach, it was more quiet and free of sandflies. Would love to return here, thanks again Francesca and Massimo! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherrysher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
1.5 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.7 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Hideaway

Property: Bamboo Hideaway
Address: 55/2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Mak
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Mak, Bamboo Hideaway Resort is a small boutique style resort built in an aging rubber tree plantation using natural materials. We here at Bamboo Hideaway have tried to capture a feeling of peace and tranquility. Eight bungalows, elevated and accessible by a walkway from the restaurant, weave its way through the trees to accommodation that have been designed to give you all the luxuries of a more traditional resort but with the advantage that only natural materials can give.Large and spacious, the bungalow has a double bed with possibility of extra bed. Air conditioning, hot water and private bathroom. It comes with towels, slippers and fresh water every day. Sea wiew most of them.Bamboo Hideaway is only less than 5 minutes walk from the nearest beach, but our service also provides you with free transportation to any beaches on the island. Our swimming pool offers picturesque view of the ocean and sunset that no other places on the island can offer!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hideaway Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing