We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go here!”
Review of Makathanee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Makathanee Resort
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Me and my wife booked four nights at Makathanee. We stayed at the beach bungalow for only one night. We told the reseption that we wanted to leave because of the unfrendlyness and bad service. They startet to argu, and got angry.The food hall is not very friendly, just like the people who work there. Unfriendly staff, and the food is bad. When you go to Thailand you want to meet friendly people with a smile! Makathanee people never smiles! Sorry, but this place is not recomended!
We moved to Big Easy - and we found our paradis at Koh Mak. Friendly, helpfull and happy people. And the food was also very good at Big Easy!

Room Tip: Go to Big Easy Resort. Just 5 or 6 bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 97 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife, my 10-year old son and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel as the last destination of a 2-week holiday after Bangkok, Koh Chang and Koh Kood. We had booked the beach bungalow but did not like it much because our son would have had to sleep on a matress at the floor. So we ask them to show us rooms in the main building and we took a luxury room with balcony and jacuzzi on the highest floor paying a little extra. To get a clean room we tipped the cleaning staff. The view from the room was terrific. The hotel was pretty empty and relaxing. We did not find the restaurant very appealing. We tried the restaurant of the close-by Baan Koh Mak Resort which was so good that we had all the lunches and dinners there. The beach is not suitable for swimming. The beach at Koh Mak is not very clean. We walked to the next uninhabited island which was cool. On the last evening we enjoyed a superb sunset. We rented a scooter which kept us mobile and we explored the island this way. Sitting in the jacuzzi watching the sun setting was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FM-Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We booked the place through the Resorts web page.. at least that's what we thought! When we two days later wanted to move, they suddenly could not give a refound because it was booked through an agent.. This is just an example of how they treat guests.
1)The beach bungalows: good location, BUT old and a bit runned down(big glips for bugs to crawl inside).
2) Service: The worst!! This is one of the biggest reasons why we moved. The crew are young boys and girls who really don't care for their guests! You feel that you are bothering them, and they NEVER smile! No Thai-feeling!
3)Food: If you care for breakfast, eat another place!! There was actually nothing good to eat: cold, really bad bad food!!
Overall: there is a reason why we moved even tough we lost money!! This would have ruined our holliday!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leana33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed 11 nights at the honeymoon suite. Very clean and large room. Had even a lot of closet space.
The room was on groud floor and onle a few steps from the pool. We liked the idea, that room was cleaned only when needed. This way we could at least save the nature a little bit by not changeing towels every day.
Service was good. Breakfats nothing specila, but enough.
The location is the best on the island. All 7 restaurants and 3 minimarkets are within walkin distance from 1 to 10 minutes.
And at hotel beach is possible to do some snorkeling. There was some coral and other underwater life about 2 meters from the shore.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

For a resort you would expect much more especially considering the context of the island, having stayed previously on Thailand West and East Islands.

ROOMS:
1. Rooms a little worn out, but in working conditions.
2. Housekeeping very brief in cleaning the room.
3. Hygiene maniacs would want to bring over a pair of clean bed sheets and pillows.
4. Only real ''Pro'' being the nice location on which you will feel the resort takes it for granted as to lack in other services...

FOOD:
1. Breakfast terrible to awful, not even a buffet breakfast available!! Coffee simple instant coffee.
2. Service is of the worst (actually the WORST) I and my partner have experienced in Thailand, there is no management, you will receive your cocktails after the main course, and should you have ordered 2 main course don't be surprised if the kids eat after the parents have finished their deserts... honestly a simple restaurant manager would solve this issue in a instant, but none are available.
3. The staff at the restaurant and housekeeping seemed to be on some kind of strong medication (to not mention drugs / alcohol as to not prejudice the workers.).

OTHERS:
Minor recommendation to carry and do your own laundry even our simplest shirts were stained by the Island Laundry.

OVERALL:
Beautiful Island Koh Mak (apart from the trash on the beaches), Terrible resort, not recommended to anyone, should you want to land on Koh Mak would recommend you be attended either a major resort such as Cococape or lower budget but friendly ''backpacker spirit'' Monkey Resort.

Room Tip: Request for a deluxe room on the higher floors rather than a beach bungalow which are worn out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PPFERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Makathanee is located beatiful just next to the beach at Koh Maak. We have stayed at makathanee a couple of times before. The friendly staff have always done their best to make us feel confortable. But this year something have happend? Al staff sems afraid of the owner in a strange way. And the owner couple didnt even talk to their guests. Something is wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tottelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Makathanee Resort feels like a regular mid-range western hotel, set on a beautiful island, and this will appeal to many. However, at B3400 per night (large first floor twin room with balcony set back from the beach), it was double the price of other nearby beachfront bungalow accommodation and I'm not sure its worth it.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. It is very convenient for the pier and the shops and other restaurants, on the most developed beach on the island, and it has a beautiful ocean view - set in nice gardens. It is also clean, safe and the buildings are good solid quality.

However Koh Mak is just a small island, with mostly quaint beach hut accommodation and it felt to me that some of the romance is being eroded with this relatively large hotel with its conference/seminar centre and large concrete structures that actually impose onto the beach itself.

My main gripe though is with the breakfast. I have eaten breakfast at a lot of mid-range Asian hotels and can't recall a worse one than here. The fruit - fresh pineapple and watermelon - was the only saving feature. Juices were mostly sugar water, coffee was instant that you made yourself, and the bread just the regular processed sliced stuff - the ham the same. The only options for hot food were rice soup, omelette or fried eggs, with the eggs made to order. However at peak time they didn't cope well. I ordered an omelette without ham. Eventually, after a few trips to the counter to enquire, I was brought one with ham. I asked again for one without ham. Exactly the same outcome. So I settled for just fruit. Exactly the same thing happened on day two. I didn't try my luck further after that.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
0.9 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#9 of 15 in Ko Mak
190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
2 mi away
Bamboo Hideaway
Bamboo Hideaway
#3 of 15 in Ko Mak
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makathanee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makathanee Resort

Address: 63/14 Moo 1 Koh Mak, Koh Kood,Trad | Ao Khao Beach, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range: $43 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Makathanee Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Panoramic Beach bungalows with a perfect sea view and comfortable Poolside family suites and rooms on a bounty type beach on Koh Mak. Voted the best Beach Resort on Koh Mak by many. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Makathanee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing