We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning nature, beautiful gardens, long beach”
Review of Koh Mak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Koh Mak Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning nature, beautiful gardens, long beach”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

It is a shame that this resort is not quite properly taken care of.
It is surrounded by stunning lush gardens, right on the beautiful long & empty beach.
Here comes the twitch - it is empty because it is infested with sand flies, just like all the other beaches on Koh Mak.
The beauty of the island, completely empty roads "born" for moped rides, excellent food and postcard-like sunsets are unique.
Before stepping out of your bungalow, "weapon" yourself with coconut oil and high-level of DEET spray to avoid being massacred by the sand flies and mosquitoes.
They do fumigate the beach, but it does not help at all, since they do not spray the nearby greenery.

Go for Superior Beachfront bungalows (after the pool) since the Comfort ones are shabby and old. Btw, all of the bungalows have moldy smell.
We first book a Comfort one, but kind reception manager upgraded us to the Superior Beachfront.
There are also brand new Twin deluxe ones (and they don't have ever-present moldy smell) but they are less "original" or Thai-looking, and there are not right on the beach as the Superior ones.

The entire premises, especially next to the kitchen, massage terrace and the swimming pool are not properly cleaned.

Room Tip: Rent a scooter and browse this beautiful island. Go for a half-day snorkeling trip to the Koh Ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justafellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    75
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
47
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you're lucky to have a beach view villa, you're in for a beautiful treat when the sun begins to set.

We, however, had a twin bungalow which was slightly obscured by another bungalow, so we had to trek 15 yards down to the beach to see the stunning view... hardly a problem for us!

We chose a twin room just because it was so hot that we fancied a bed each to ourselves... this was a good choice. The beds were comfy and we had our own mozzie nets which was great. However, when we arrived we were placed into a bungalow which had not been cleaned yet, so we still had someones used towel in there and a bin that hadn't been emptied. We told them the place still needed to be cleaned and they still hadn't done it 4 hours later, not impressed! So we demanded we get moved to a better bungalow which we were immediately!

The breakfast was good, but the restaurant had a LOT of flies, probably due to the many manky dogs what were hanging about. Gross.

The staff were lovely though, and made an effort to remember their guests names which was really nice - a good touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-olive89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place. Calm and easy. Delicious food in the restaurant. Beautiful sunsets.

Easy access by minivan from Bangkok to Laem Ngop and speedboat to the pier just by the resort. Compared to the other resorts on Koh Samet, this is even more relaxed and tranquil. Perfect for a romantic getaway, or just a relaxed time with books in the shade.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Bungalow is right on the beach with a spectacular view everyday. The bungalows are nothing special but the view makes up for that. Maid service everyday so they are clean. There are 2 restaurants which are both good, and a small supermarket. There is also a place for you to hire motorcycle (which I would recommend as island isn't very big and great for exploring), you can also book trips from there also for scuba driving. Also you can hire a kayak to go across to Koh Kham which has a spectacular white sand beach.
Only draw back for me was the sand flies everything else was great.

Room Tip: No fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good resort with a good range of different accommodation options to meet various budgets. The beach was nice and clean as was the sea. The pool was also good for going in with children. Overall considering we stayed over new year it was pretty decent value for money and we definitely enjoyed our time here. Some of the accommodation was a bit aged but that's usually oar for the course in thailand

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank skybluedave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Koh Mak Resort there look nice but when I open the room make me boring there have a small bathroom but not problem the real problem is water heater broken the toilet not clean. Many big mosquito. And Beach Front Bungalow, 4,000 bhts a night which is quite expensive and old piece if in the morning and afternoon there don't have beach. But if the opposite Koh Mak Resort there have a small Island is very nice there have a long beach and very clean the sand is white because there have people clean every day and there have many fish you can go there with boat just only 5 minute from Koh Mak Resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orawan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Firstly, let me say two things as a general response to some of the other reviews here that I just read. We have been to Koh Mak twice now, so this may help some people who don't know what to expect.

(1) Yes, Koh Mak Resort also offers some bungalows that are much older, and possibly not up to the standards of the newer ones. The former also come at a much lower price, so you really do get what you pay for. If you are considering booking at this resort, I would suggest consulting their website and study the (map of) the various types of bungalows they offer. This place has grown slowly and organically (from the west side eastwards) over the past 15 years, it is a family business, and the age of the bungalows varies. Some are built only 2 years ago, other >15 years ago. The Superior Beachfront Suites and Serene Jacuzzi Villas are the newest, and, in my opinion, among the best value on the whole island (although these are more expensive indeed than the older 'Comfort Beachfront' or 'Family Standard/Deluxe).

2) It is not the Shangri-La indeed. Koh Mak is a small island in a remote corner of Thailand. It has a basic (although very solid, no brown-outs and good water pressure without funny smells) infrastructure when it comes to water, electricity and transport. It is not suited for mass tourism or large-scale resorts. Thank goodness. Please please, if you are looking for a lively night scene, five-star-standards, western-style resort management and so on, please go to ClubMed Phuket, or the Marriott Koh Samui. Although it is not in the backpacker shoestring category either, Koh Mak is a peaceful, slow-moving island with small/medium-sized resorts, mainly under local (Thai at least) or foreign/local co-management. And thank goodness for that.

Anecdote to illustrate what I am going on about: 50-something European gentleman getting very worked up at 8am because the well-meaning resort staff couldn't get his (two) eggs precisely right on the single-pit gas burner located at the semi-outside breakfast buffet (you can eat breakfast ON the beach should you wish) . 'Right' in this case meant done on both sides, but without breaking the yolk, for those to stay moderately runny. Yeah, go try that at home people. You need (very) fresh eggs with firm yolks, and you need to have pretty good frying pan skills to flip them without breaking. It took the well-meaning staff (who did perfectly good omelettes, scrambled or sunny-side eggs) four attempts (and six wasted eggs) to get it up to monsieur's level of satisfaction, and all the while he was cursing them (in French).

I was happy for him, since if he had rejected eggs #7 and #8, I would have personally stuffed egg #9 and #10 in his place-where-the-sun-don't-shine. Whole and uncooked.

If you are such a peculiar kind of tourist, and have no flexibility whatsoever regarding your eggs in the morning, please see (2) above. You will be much happier in Phuket, believe me.

Koh Mak Resort is much more suitable for those with little or no night life requirements, love peace and quiet, want to spend some quality time with their family or loved ones, and have no need at all for there to be Wifi in the room, or even prefer not to have Wifi within a 100-mile radius at all. You get my gist.

(Deep breath) We stayed at Koh Mak Resort for 4 nights in Feb 2013 for a rate of THB 4,100 (incl tax), inclusive of daily breakfast with eggs. We had a Superior Beachfront Bungalow with air-conditioning, see (1) above.

We loved the bungalow and its beach-front location. It was like a little private beach paradise. Comfortable and spacious for two people. The room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels (both beach and indoor) and linen. One note of caution is warranted regarding the mosquitoes: there are a plenty. There is a mosquito net of course, but you will want to bring/buy repellent and coil to manage those nuisances. And when I say 'manage,' you may read 'kill or otherwise incapacitate.'

As mentioned by other reviewers, the Day Bed restaurant at Koh Mak Resort is awesome, and we had almost all our meals there. The pool area and the adjacent massage place is all style-fully designed and the whole place breaths peace and quiet.

While I suppose many a teenager would consider the place 'boring,' for younger kids, the resort grounds offer plenty of opportunity for playing. Apart from the generally clean (though narrow) beach and shallow water, there are swings etc. There were a lot of families with young (2-8 yo) kids around. The main clientele appears to be European at Koh Mak Resort, especially Dutch, Scandinavian, French, German etc.

I am repeating myself, but this really a perfect place to get away from busy life, and relax. If you want to, you can rent a sea kayak, snorkelling equipment or a scooter to explore the island. We couldn't be bothered really, and just read, swam, slept, walked on the beach and so on.

If you want the flawlessly executed luxury experience, this is not for you. If you want nightlife, shopping or lots of activities, this is not for you. If you really want to have a hammock+backpacker paradise, this is not it either (by now, Koh Mak is arguably too over-developed to fit into that category). If you are a (young) family, old/young couple and want to relax in comfort, then go ahead and come to Koh Mak Resort. I will be back, that much is sure.

Room Tip: Please see point (1) in my review regarding the various types of bungalows available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank vantastic42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.6 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
1.6 mi away
Bamboo Hideaway
Bamboo Hideaway
#4 of 15 in Ko Mak
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Mak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mak Resort

Property: Koh Mak Resort
Address: 1 moo 2 Koh Mak Island | Koh Kood, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Mak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koh Mak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing