We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/25/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
$44
View deal
$44
View deal
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
77
88
43
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
88
43
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small supermarket stayed here for nights thai food small island beach resort boat sand koh mainland baht scooter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 232 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed four nights with my family of four (children aged 1 and 3) in a standard bungalow (B2 I believe). The bungalow wasn't really much more than a kingsize bed, an extra bed right next to it and a small bathroom. It was rather worn and felt a little bit like a cheap motel. But we weren't there to spend time in the room, so it was sufficient for us. The location, right next to the long beach is lovely, but the rocks on the bottom when walking out in the water took away some of the joy of playing in the water with the kids. We took a trip to another side of the island called Holiday Beach, and that beach was better (all sand all the way) and more child-friendly.

The restaurant and service was good. The pool was very cold and felt a little "muddy", we didn't spend much time there.

All in all, a great location along the beach, but a bit worn rooms/bungalows made it feel a little pricey.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiklasS_Swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Please, please do not go to this place, it will ruin your holiday.

We have never written a critical review on TripAdvisor although we have travelled a lot in Thailand but we have to warn future travelles about this terrible place. It is so terribly misrepresented on their website. Perhaps it once looked like the photographs but it doesn't any more.

We booked a Superior Beach Front Bungalow, 4,000 bhts a night which is quite expensive by Thai standars and was looking forward to a luxury relacing stay. On arrival there was a special reception for those staying in superior bungalows and we were impressed. Everything went downhill rapidly after that.

On approaching the bungalows, we noticed the bungalows looked much older and neglected than the photographs showed on their website. The sunloungers were held together with pieces of wood. We were very disappointed with the location of our bungalow S.6 as it was the last one along the beach and was in total shade of trees all day.

When inside, everything was filthy, windows, under the bed, inside wardrobes, a piece of paper propping up a fridge leg. Internal curtains went all the way round and they were all badly stained. There were no bedside tables or lamps. Plug sockets were filthy. There was make-up on the bedding and dead mosquitoes on bedding and towels. (We had to ask for handtowels as we were only given one towel each). It wasn't until we reluctantly slept in the bed that night that we realized it had a strong mouldy smell.

The bathroom was something else! The shock of walking into it was like going into a prison cell. Concrete floor worn bare as in the bedroom. Filthy slate style thin brickwork on walls with holes stuffed with paper - and we were to find out why. THERE WAS A LARGE BAITED RAT TRAP on the upper ledge above the shower. The shower curtain which covered the whole back wall of windows was appallingly filthy. It appeared none of the taps had ever been cleaned. The hand basin was made of wood with slatted wood on the bottom and it was filthy. The heated shower unit was just fitted to an old piece of wood.

We complained about the rat trap and the level of cleanliness and two young girls turned up, slid open the bathroom window and put the rat trap out on the same ledge immediately outside, smiling all the time thinking it was funny. In the morning the bait had gone from the trap.

We had to remind them we were not happy with the dirty room and all they did was sweep behind the bed. Whilst doing that, three dogs ran in and started chasing round our room and they thought it was hilarious.

Reluctantly we unpacked as it was too late in the day to find alternative accommodation and were so stressed we decided to go for a drink in their restaurant. As my wife has a back problem and needed an additional cushion, she took one from another chair and was shocked to find old food debris and more filth under the cusihion. I have to mention too the staff attitude was far from friendly. We had already been travelling in Thailand for six weeks and we noticed that the prices in the restaurant were higher than you would have expected. Although we were booked in for five nights we decided we had to leave the next day.

We spoke to another couple who had arrived the same day and were staying in the same superior bungalows and asked if they had a rat trap in the bathroom. They said they did and also said they believed all the bungalows had one. They were booked in for a longer period but also said they could not stay more than one night.

During the night we used the toilet several times as we could not sleep. We had to keep the two bathroom doors bolted as mice (or rat) took the soap from what passed as a filthy handbasin and each time we returned to the bathroom more soap had been eaten. Luckily we had not put any toiletries or toothbrushes into the bathroom as we were appalled at the filthy condition of it. There were pebbles around the shower which retained dirty shower water. The windows in there were extremely dirty as were the curtains. The toilet pan needed a deep clean.

In the morning I heard scuttling and squeaking at the side of the hand basin in the wall. The ceramic toothbrush holder and matching mug were thickly coated with filth inside and were probably incapable of being cleaned sufficiently to be used again and there were mouse droppings all around the basin and half eaten soap. We now know why the holes in the walls were stuffed with paper, it was to try to stop the mice getting through.

The following morning, having seen the standards of their hygene and cleaning, there was no way we would risk having breakfast or even a tea or coffee there.

Having arranged alternative accommodation late the night before to travel on to, we went to the office to tell them we were checking out and listed our complaints. We had originally booked in for five nights and paid a deposit of 2,000 bhts and we requested a refund. The receptionist telephoned her manager and after some time they agreed a full refund and would not charge for the night we stayed. We feel this indicates this must have happened to them on other occasions. Incidentally, the other couple who we spoke to checked out at the same time and received some compensation.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Koh Mak Resort for five nights. We booked a superior beach front suite which looks very impressive when you arrive. There are about 6 of these rooms at the end of the resort, all by the sea. It feels like you have your own private beach. The room itself is very nice - floor to ceiling windows offering a magnificent view of the ocean, a decent large bed, mosquito net, floor length mirror, TV, good air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, mini bar, torch, welcome pack. All you would expect from a top quality resort. The room lets you down when you enter the bathroom. First impressions are great - rain shower, hand held shower, big sink, funky slate walls. However, once you take a closer look you question it's design.The slated walls allow bugs to crawl in between the gaps, the sink is surrounded by wooden panels which begins to smell musty and old, the rain shower had no hot water, there was barely any natural light and lastly, the window by the sink had gaps which meant it allowed bugs in - spiders, moths, mosquitoes, geckos and... mice. We were woken up on our first night by a mouse running around our bathroom. On closer inspection we found mouse droppings along the top of the wall in the bathroom. The cleaners obviously don't do a very good job!! We complained about the mice (and droppings) the next morning and the girls on reception were very good and had the bathroom cleaned, the window by the sink boarded up right away and we were given a humane mousetrap to put in the bathroom. However, that night we were woken up by the sound of a distraught mouse caught in the mousetrap but it somehow managed to escape! The next day we asked to move rooms and the girls at reception were very accommodating and we moved rooms within the hour. We noticed that following our complaints every single superior beach front room was given a mousetrap on the outside wall and every bathroom window was being checked and boarded up. That night, we were kept awake by what only could have been another mouse but this time it was running around inside our roof!! Yet another bad nights sleep. The next morning... another mouse in the trap - this time it was outside our room which was a little less surprising. Yet again, spoke to the girls at reception and she collected the mouse to dispose of it. Understandably, they don't want to kill the mice but they are obviously just releasing them close by to the resort which means they run straight back to where they came from!!

On a better note - the staff here are really helpful and have very good spoken English. The sea is beautiful and clear and the beach is lovely, long and deserted. You truly feel like you are only people around. The I-talay restaurant is great for lunch - sit back and relax, order a coconut shake and you must try the garlic and pepper fried squid - amazing! At the day beds restaurant, the breakfast is very good - a nice selection of fresh fruits, yoghurt, egg station and tasty pancakes.We also ate here for dinner and had a very good massaman curry. The swimming pool is nice for a cool down but it really isn't very inviting so we didn't spend much time here. Whilst we were staying at Koh Mak Resort we booked a Thai cooking lesson with Smile Koh Mak Cooking School - this was one of the highlights of our stay at Koh Mak. We would definitely recommend this. www.smilekohmak.com.

Overall, we have mixed feelings about this resort. We had a lot of issues with the room which was really disappointing. Every night we had a bad nights sleep which was quite upsetting. I wonder if we should have booked one of the cheaper rooms as they appeared to be constructed a bit better! We must give the reception staff some credit though - they were very kind and helpful and tried their best. I don't think this problem is going to go away though, which means they have to do something about the construction of the superior beach front rooms. I assume we are not the only ones who have had or will have this problem in the future.

Despite the issues with the room, I would recommend this resort as it is so beautiful, the staff are friendly, it's in a great location and sea is calm and clear. I would consider staying here again but probably not in the superior beach front suite.... Koh Mak Resort - Please sort these rooms out!

Room tip: Unless you like mice, don't choose the superior beach front suite...
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AD1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

...if you're looking for a nice, calm place with good service. We had reserved a family deluxe villa and it was old, worn out and not at all something I would label as being "deluxe". Bugs came in through holes in the wall, many things such as the water heater for the shower and the safety box were not working. Cleaning had not been done properly and hen we confronted the front desk, they were not willing to help. Furthermore, they tried to trick us into paying more than we should when we were leaving. The staff seemed lazy and not helpful at all and when we spoke to the manager, he didn't seem to care about any of our concerns. Horrible place. The beach is nice though.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cecilie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited during the off season and the island was mostly closed except for just a few places. The resort is so secluded and beautiful. The restaurant was excellent and good value and the service very good. Our chalet was rather basic and needed freshening up but they have much smarter accommodation in the resort if you want to pay for it. The pool and sea are breathtakingly beautiful and we walked around the island as much as the weather allowed. During the rainy season it rains a lot! The frogs sound like cows and the lizards have their own noisy charm too. We were there with our two kids and it was a wonderful adventure that we would do again.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac-Mann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews