We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Koh Mak is a beautiful island, everything you want to escape. The Lemon Tree villa at the Good Time resort where we stayed was great, a beautiful bedroom with insect mesh, window seat, nice furnishings and the lovely touch of the pavilion like sitting in a tree house! Yodying, the owner is a really lovely guy and did so much to help us get to Koh Mak and arranging our driver back to Bangkok. If you want a laid back, escape, white sand and beautiful sea this is the place to come, if you want marble bathrooms and gold taps it is not for you.
Koh Mak does have sand flies but coconut oil is an effective deterrent and should not be a reason to stop you coming here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    55
    21
    18
    6
See reviews for
78
136
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place is truly amazing! If you like to come and get a feel of a private island - it is a place for you. The whole island has a very relaxing atmosphere. All the villas at the resort are surrounded by lush vegetation giving you an extra sense of privacy. Villas are simply and tastefully furnished. Restaurant on site serves great food. Cost of living on the island is at least 3 times cheaper than in Bangkok or other tourist places of Thailand. Locals are super friendly. Nobody is trying to sell you stuff on the street or the beach. Nobody is bothering you with offers to get massage or a jet sky. In fact, nobody is bothering you with anything!!! If you need time to relax with you loved one or your whole family, this place is for you. Goodtime resort is by far the best resort on Koh Mak. I traveled all over Thailand and this is my favorite spot. You really feel yourself like you own it. Island has great beaches and you can kayak to many surrounding uninhabited islands to get even more privacy! You can explore island by scooter which you can rent in the resort. Yodying and Kirsten are the owners and they always make an extra step to make you feel at home. I am definitely coming back. This is indeed the most relaxing vacation that I have had - away from noise, drunk tourists, pollution and all the other things you have to deal with at any big tourist location. Koh Mak is simply perfect and Goodtime resort is the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Constantine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I were planning to stay on Koh Mak for 4 nights then off to Koh Kood, but we loved the island and Good Time Resort so much, we decided to stay there for another 5 days.
The resort is located on top of the hill which is in between the 2 sides of the island where they both have very nice beaches, and we are very glad we stayed here because we had easy access to both beaches, which means we could walk down to one beach for the sunset and walk to the other for moon bathing at night! the resort was very green and spacious, had a lovely reception/restaurant building which overlooked the ocean and some islands. we loved having the german standard breakfast there every morning. our room, the thai teak house was very cosy and clean with large balcony and modern bathroom. another prop to add to this place is there is a very friendly and convenient local restaurant/mini mart right next door to the resort. we were there during the low season when many shops and restaurants were closed, so it was very good to have them there. they also do laundry service which the resort doesn't do. there is also a hotel opposite to good time on top of the hill which has a restaurant with great view. the rooms looked boring so we didn't want to stay there, but it's definitely worth going there for a romantic dinner or drinks.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Yoko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed in the Good Time Resort with three friends in March for about 10 days and we had a really great time! I've been travelling for 8 months now, which means that I've stayed in a lot of hotels and guesthouses around Asia and I can't remember when have stayed in a place with better service then the Good Time Resort.

Our time at the Good Times Resort:
At the beginning there was a little misunderstanding with the A/C. We expected to have an A/C in both floors of the house, but in the ground floor there was only a fan. We talked to the owner about it and he gave us two options: A discount on the room rate or they would build in an A/C asap. We choosed to have the A/C asap, and it took the Good Times no more then 24 hours to build it for us, a brand new AC. Of course, they gave us the discount for the first 24 hours without A/C too.
While we were there, the owner of the Good Times (Yodying) was around to check the new houses in the hotel, and check everything was alright. Because he was around at the time, he kindly took us on a free island tour, as a gesture of compensation, which was really nice.

Location:
You should be aware, that it's not directly at the beach, but therefore we had a jacuzzi on the balcony and a pool to swim in close to the house. Both beaches are around about the same distance from the hotel.

Values:
- Nice Breakfast
- If you're tired from the beaches around the island, you can borrow a DVD (for free) from the big DVD library above the restaurant and relax in the evening, watch a DVD in your house.
- Clean and spacious rooms in really good condition
- Nice and clean Bathrooms without surprises
- Friendly and helpful staff

In total four of five stars, because the houses are not directly at the beach.
It's not the cheapest option to stay on Koh Mak, but it's definitly worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at one of the villas on Good Time Resort for three weeks in August and had a wonderful stay.

Good Time Resort is situated amongst botanic gardens on the beautiful island of Koh Mak. The resort is only 300 meters from two of the best beaches on the island as well as nearby resorts and restaurants. Scooters and bikes were also available to rent at the resort when we wanted to go exploring.

The resort has a peaceful swimming pool, which I found large enough to swim laps in during my free time. There is also a spa on the property as well as a delicious Thai Restaurant. The restaurant boasts stunning views of the ocean and the nearby islands in the Marine National Park. The restaurant serves up great Thai dishes and desserts, but it also has an extensive Western menu as well for the non-adventurous eaters! We also enjoyed the restaurant’s complete buffet-style breakfast. Looking out over the water from the restaurant's patio with a plate of eggs & pancakes was the perfect start to our days!

Some of the villas have WiFi connectivity, but the main building of Good Time Resort has a comfy office space with WiFi where we relaxed, played games, read books and watched movies from their collection of 400 books and DVDs.

The staff at the resort are extremely friendly and attentive and will work with you to arrange day trips on and off the island as well as any transportation you may need during your stay.

My husband and I were looking for a place we could escape it all for three weeks and Koh Mak was perfect. It is a very small and isolated island that is not built up like many Thai islands. Koh Mak is quiet and peaceful - There is not much to do besides relaxing, catching up on work, and exploring the beautiful nature and beaches. Nightlife here is almost non-existent, as the bars and restaurants are very quiet and are not open late... We personally loved it!

Koh Mak is best for families and couples looking for a true getaway.

Overall, we had an amazing stay at Good Times and on the stunning island of Koh Mak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LandingStanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Good Time Resort. It is perfectly placed on a ridge line that runs down the middle of a narrow part of the small island of Koh Mak. It's a gentle walk to either of two excellent beaches, one to the north, the other to the south, each only 10 or 15 minutes walk. We stayed in a cottage-like house, nice and clean and quiet. The arrangement of the resort is excellent, with a scattering of cottages that are set apart from each other with paths through a beautiful garden. The grounds are neither the clear-cut jungle sort one sometimes finds, nor the standard overly-manicured lawn, but a carefully-landscaped hillside with beautiful plants and some sculptures, designed and developed by the owners and their staff. It's impressive now ands only going to become more lush with time. The accommodations are comfortable and private and a short walk up to the main house where breakfasts and other meals are served. They have a large DVD collection and excellent WiFi bandwidth (but for the usual ISP interruptions that are beyond their control). What makes Koh Mak special is that it is a private island, owned by a large Thai family, and they are stewards of this island with a sense of responsibility towards preserving its beauty. You will not find go-go bars, cheap run down dives or places that cater to the very wealthy. Koh Mak is natural and beautiful. The beaches are simply gorgeous. You get a bit used to seeing perfect soft clean sand and water that is almost too warm. It's close to idilic. They take recycling seriously, clean up the beaches of plastic and there is even on-island processing planned. They do not want to overdevelop this island like has happened to so many others. I liked their attitude!

We were very happy with our choice of the Good Time Resort. The family that runs the place are on-site, very personable, helpful, knowledgable, and with both European and Thai roots, they understand both cultures. It's purposefully not aspiring to be a many-star mega-resort. It is very comfortable and residential feeling, not a black-glass-and-marble-infinity-pool place. It's more like a tropical home, with great coffee (fresh real coffee)... ahhhh...

Oh, and go kayaking... there are three tiny islands very close in, two off of the beach to the south beach, and one of the other beach to the north. You needn't be highly experienced in kayaking (just sensible,and take extra water and sun block).. .and get the hang of it paddling about, then head off! You get a great workout, get to own your own deserted island for an hour or so (we were the only ones on the islands we visited, or it sure seemed so!) and it's great fun. And then, once back on shore, it is only a few minutes up from the beach and you can rest at the Good Time Resort. RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank professor-type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

As we travelled with kids arround Thailand, we had some worries to stay on a remote island, but found out, that this resort was the best place for us with the kids to stay. Maybe not the most luxery resort, but the most family orientated resort. The house was bigger then I thought and the management was very well and personal organized by the owner. The kids loved the toys and the playground near they restaurant.

Room Tip: We got the Sugarcane house, which was very spacious and near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice feedback and we are happy your kids also liked to stay with us.
Please come back and visit Koh Mak again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
11.5 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Property: Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI.Since 2017 we have joint ventures and offer activities like tennis, yoga and Muay Thai Boxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing