We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
70
60
26
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
70
60
26
17
17
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 190 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is my second time at Koh Mak Cococape resort. I have been here before on last two years with a lot of impression especially room, view and service from staffs. That's why I came back to stay here on the second time. On my second, I stayed in the room as Baan Fah Sai. It's seem like hut. This room is the best room from my side. This is fan room with ensuite, without TV, refrigerator. The room also has small balcony with sea view from your room, so near like beach front room. You will sleep with the sound of wave from the sea all the night. That's really amazing for me. This resort also has the fabulous view, they have wooden bridge where you can walk over the sea. Superb view for sunset. The food at here was pretty good, seafood were really fresh. Here have a few activities for you guys such as kayaking, snokling (Day trip to Koh Kam) and fishing (squid).

Room tip: I'm highly recommend Baan Fah Sai for someone who love to stay in hut, seaview and love to listening the sound of wave while you are sleeping.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siamrisetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

When you get to Koh Mak Cococape you've come to one of the most beautiful places on earth. But there is no party place so if you've come for the sake of it, you'll be disappointed. This is pure Vacation! You will lie in the hammock and read a good book or swim in the gorgeous pool or take a snorkelling trip. You can rent a motorbike and travel around the island or hire a taxi. The rooms are almost all different. Some are large and modern other smaller and in a Thai style. All the rooms we saw were nice and clean. The food there was good and the staff pleasant. They cleaned the rooms every day, and wrapped nice towel animals. It's probably hard to get here as disabled because it is very steep and steep steps to many of the rooms. The pool area is very nice and you have ocean views. There is a pool bar and there are also Thai massage by the pool. There is also a wonderful pier that you can go out and sunbathe and swim at, and at night they open a bar there. A fantastic place. But a word of caution too. It thunders a lot at the islands here. Especially at night. During this thunders do not tuch anything that has with the electricpower to do. This small island koh mak has also a rich fauna with both snakes and skorpinioner, spiders and other tropical animals.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happycowSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a nice place but even if some of the bungalows are stated as 10m from beach, this is not a beach were you can go for a swim. The closest beaches are a couple of hundred meters walk from this place.They do however have a nice wooden pier were it's just great to go swimming and sunbathing. This might actually be a better option considering the problem of sand-flyes at Koh Mak.

Ok place but if you're looking for a nice beach-side place you defently should try the south side of the island.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Within 10 seconds of arriving the curt manager demanded full payment in advance before even being offered the chance to unload baggage. There is no beach. Unlike other Thai resorts where the service is always impeccable, meal orders were wrong, late, cold or didn't arrive, even their own set breakfast!
Staff would argue and dispute everything even minor details such as what room you were staying in saying 'no Sir you are wrong'!
Food is overpriced and dull, so after 1 day we opted to walk the 20min walk to the far superior Ko Mak Resort to eat and drink.
Everything has a charge and 10% service is added even to items you get yourself!
The pool is nice...
AVOID THIS PLACE like you would avoid Rabies.

Date of stay: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Humpythecamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We chose the cheapest room which was a bungalow on stilts over the mangrove. It was actually too small as it was impossible to walk down the sides of the bed without walking across the corner of the bed. There was only one plug socket which was needed for the fan so we could not charge phones etc.. My girlfriend found the mattress too hard. The mosquito net was not quite long enough so we got bitten by mosquitos during the night. By the fourth night I started to get irritated by the complete lack of hooks or anywhere to hang or put stuff. The room didn't really feel cared for.

The room was cleaned every day but the shared bathroom was not cleaned one single time during our stay. The same toilet paper was in the bin next to the toilet for the 4 days of our stay and the floor had the same patterns of sand on it. Luckily it was quite quiet so there were not many others sharing the bathroom.

The staff were not really friendly. Definitely no "land of smiles" going on here. And there was some internal politics going on between the Thai staff and the German/Swiss guy running the western kitchen ("Diner Hut"?), so we were not even told his kitchen was open during the afternoon when we were hungry, when in fact it was. He was angry at the Thai staff over that.

On the positive side it was nice to sit on the end of the pier. You could swim off the end of the pier or at the beach around the corner but there are lots of submerged rocks and zillions of sea urchins. I stung my finger badly. Be careful!

Also there was a computer upstairs at the restaurant with working internet.

All in all, expensive for what we got and we'll look at other places next time.

Room tip: Avoid room 4 cuz of steel pillars taking up space
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mid-range-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews