We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a quiet break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Punta del Rey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Las Caletillas
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice for a quiet break”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very late on my review as i stayed here this time 2 years ago however better late than never i guess!
It was my first time all inclusive so did not know what to expect but was happy with the whole experience. I think people who are used to certain services and have high expectations of places will moan at any given chance and let irrelevant things ruin holidays but I for one just love to travel to different places so as long as I get sun, meet new people, can fill my belly and receive good service when required then im a very happy man :)
The staff were always helpful and very freindly. The room was always cleaned, basic but this didnt bother me as i spend minimum time in there anyway! I liked the food they did, your usual spanish menu with something different each day also and being able to eat as much as i wanted three times a day was something i was very fond of! Met some nice people in the hotel, couples, families and friends, all seemed to enjoy the place too! The pool at the time was freezing cold so couldnt enjoy as much swimming as I wanted also the pool across the road that looked out into the ocean was out of order which was the only downer but this may have been a temporary problem at the time!
Its a nice quiet place to relax so if you want it abit more lively and a variety of stuff to do in the evenings then i would stay south of the island however it was just the break i wanted and made the most of what they had to offer!
All in all a great holiday...it is what you make it!!!
Definatley recommend a trip to loro parque this place is amazing with such a variety of wildlife on site as well as the waterpark Siam park was awesome!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioTejedor, Director General at Catalonia Punta del Rey, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mathew

We would like to thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination.

We are pleased to hear that our staff were always helpful and very freindly and you spend a very good time with us.

Thank you for recommending us as a holiday destination and hoping you will return soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    1,246
    677
    315
    273
See reviews for
653
1,848
76
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had read the reviews prior to booking and they appeared 50/50 good and bad. Our experience was if you paid 3 star prices (which a lot of people did) you've got what you've paid for, if you paid 4 star prices, the hotel does not live up to your experience and expectations of a 4 star hotel.

The hotel is very clean and has invested in the reception and bar area to make it attractive and comfortable.

Rooms- we had a pool view, the room was clean and spacious: no fridge, water or tea/ coffee, with a balcony of a good size. For 6 nights we had an old fashion large box TV which they replaced on our final night with a flat screen TV. The beds are very old.

Pool- this is unheated and in winter months only a minority of people can withstand the cold water, and even then they do not stay in the pool long. There is a lifeguard.

Pool area- Sun beds are white hard plastic with no adjustable back- lie flat only position (like the basic white plastic patio chairs people use to buy for their gardens, but sun beds). There are no cushions on the sun beds, people use the blankets off their beds as padding. The parasols are like garden parasols and not fit for purpose for the winds that can be experienced in this area and there was no shaded areas whilst using the sunbeds. There are no pool towels.

Dinning area- This was ok once you worked out where everything was. There was no introduction on our first visit. We were shown to a table and left, other guests helped us, as we also did for others. At times there was a lack of staff ( the staff were working very hard and fast) and we ended up with a three course meal of plates stacked on our table.

Food/ drink- a large area taken up with salad and there is always fresh fruit, bottled water and wines to help yourself too. The food was very repetitive and similar.

Drinks- these are generally very good. Tea is made via a machine- not even at breakfast can you get a fresh hot cup of tea. Cocktails are a disappointment as these too come out of a vending machine, rather than being freshly made. People can help themselves to soft drinks, except water where you have to queue.

Plastic cups- this was the second biggest gripe ( after the sun beds). During the day you can only get drinks in plastic cups ( kids party cup sizes) or polystyrene for tea and coffee, except at mealtimes. Whilst this is perfectly normal around the pool, you would expect to be able to have a drink indoors from a glass during the day outside of mealtimes. From 5 pm you can get a drink in a glass or cup in the bar area. It is at this point the repetitive question is asked: indoors or outdoors. If you want to sit outdoors in the evening it's plastic cups only.

Entertainment- there were activities during the day and a show bar on the first floor which people were enjoying.

Room Tip: Pool view, on the higher floors so as not to hear the evening entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioTejedor, Director General at Catalonia Punta del Rey, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We would like to thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination.

We have taken note of your comments and we have opened the lobby bar since 14:00

Hoping to see you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Booked the hotel via ice lolly, allocation on arrival. First time we have ever done this and will never do this again. We found the hotel clean and staff very friendly. We paid extra for a better room on the 9th floor so had a good view. The rooms although clean are quite dated, but a decent size. Staff at the restaurant were very polite and helpful and the food well prepared, with a varied selection but could do with a little more. The swimming pool is lovely but not heated and the wi if we found very poor, in fact we just gave up trying to connect, we were using an I pad, so don't know if android would be better. The hotel is just a minutes walk to the water and there is a bus stop straight outside the hotel, a shop that has very little in at the side of the hotel and a lovely friendly little open air bar straight opposite the hotel, but that's it without a decent bus or taxi ride. All in all we enjoyed our holiday but wouldn't book here again. In our opinion it's better than a three star but not quite a four.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioTejedor, Director General at Catalonia Punta del Rey, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Janine

We would like to thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination.

We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean and staff very friendly and Staff at the restaurant were very polite and helpful and the food well prepared, with a varied selection.

We have taken note of your comments and we are going to heat the pool water next Winter.

Thank you for recommending us as a holiday destination and hoping you will return soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel very clean! But it is more suited to over 65s!! (Blood pressure machine in reception) hotel couldn't do much more but resort and weather let's it down (nicer weather down south)

Speaking to a few people there the rooms really vary our was a decent size! Lovely bathroom maids cleaned every day and provided new towels. Room had small tv with sky news, bbc news, fox, paramount films! We did find the beds a bit hard tho! The hotel can stay noises quite late 3am on fri&sats and u could hear from our room floor 2!

The food was lovely always loads of choice! Breakfast beans, egg, bacon, croissants, toast, toasty maker! Fresh made pancakes and omelettes! Lunch and dinner had all soup salads veg diff meat and fish dishes! Chicken curry! Spring Rolls! Always chips for very fussy eaters!
Pool bar 12-5 chips chicken fish burgers etc! There's a McDonald's 5mins from hotel aswell!

The pool area always clean never a problem finding sunbeds no matter what time you come down, pool was freezing tho! There's the main swimming pool then another deeper pool!

Drinks served in proper glasses lager nice, all spirits, baileys and soft drinks proper coke etc not cheap stuff!! All inclusive does finish at 11 tho which is early as entertainment doesn't start til 10!

Entertainment wasn't upto much the show room gets full before 10 and hard to find seats! It's People ballroom dancing till 10 then the entertainment starts they had acrobats, Spanish singer! Dancers! Mr competition! Day time entertainment darts etc round pool!

There is only 1 set of toilets inside hotel by the pool tables by reception! There is no toilet on show room floor but not to far down a few steps to get to these never seemed a problem for us!

The area around hotel there is nothing really!! Can walk right across the front to a small Black sand beach! There was a small supermarket! Santa Cruz 2euros on bus just across the road from hotel!

The weather is very hit and miss here as it's at top of the Island was cloudy a lot and very windy the south of the island is better weather wise!

All in all can't fault the hotel food lovely! But the resort is not the best and weather hit and miss!! Also exchange rate in hotel 90cents to the pound ridiculous!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lauren7865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioTejedor, Director General at Catalonia Punta del Rey, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Lauren

We would like to thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination.

We are pleased to hear that you like our food.

Thank you for recommending us as a holiday destination and hoping you will return soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I have just got back from a week here.the weather was sunny but a bit windy.The hotel staff were very helpful and polite,food good with fresh salad,the wine and beer was very good for all inclusive with olives,crisps and peanuts if wanted.Rooms and bathroom clean and tidy also entertainment very good.the only downs were lifts were slow arriving and there were not enough toilets in the bars and reception areas. But we had a good holiday and would go back again.

Room Tip: Try to get low level floors,as I have said lifts take along time coming, mainly breakfast time .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theeagle52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioTejedor, Director General at Catalonia Punta del Rey, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We would like to thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel staff were very helpful and polite and you like our food.

Thank you for recommending us as a holiday destination and hoping you will return soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

First off if you're looking for a club 18-30 holiday location give the Punta Del rey a miss.

The good news is that myself & my girlfriend were not looking for this at all :)

It's a big hotel in a quiet little village at the northen end of the island just south of Santa Cruz but don't let that turn you off.Come out of the hotel and it's a short walk down to a typical Canarian black lava beach. Walk along the sea front and there's the Puntalargo Shopping Center (about 2km from the hotel) plus a large selection of other shops.

We had a hire car for the week but you could happiliy survive here without one as the local bus service looked excellent.No need to pay for parking, there is plentiful on road parking around the hotel.

Closer to the hotel there is a good little "newsagents/tabac just next door

The welcome was fantastic, the rooms clean and airy and the food & drink (we went on a fully inclusive) plentiful with a good selection (loved the slightly spicey sausages fro breakfast & the eggs were amazing.(note some other reviewers commented about the temperature, personally we didn't have any "cool" food but there are microwaves provided if you really feel the need)

The guests seemed predominantly Spanish, which again we considered a good sign but certainly all the staff spoke Engilsh & were very friendly & helpful.

Oh and a final note. We were over there for my 50th, when we got back to the room after dinner that evening there was a bottle of bubbly. some fruit kebabs and a Happy Birthday note.

A very nice & unexpected gesture.

Would I go back here ? YES!

Would I recommend it? Yes (but not if you're after a Club 18-30)

Room Tip: South Facing on the 6th floor overlooking the pool. All day sun, sea view and the pool area is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioTejedor, Director General at Catalonia Punta del Rey, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Mike

We would like to thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination.

We are pleased to hear that you like our welcome with our romos clean and our food
&drink.

Thank you for recommending us as a holiday destination and hoping you will return soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract U.k.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

What a great surprise.. a good surprise. We wanted some sun a decent clean room and expected to eat many evenings as for what we paid "all inclusive" we were totally pleased at the great selection offered at all meals, the local drinks were good and av ailable 10am to 11pm staff vey friendly and hotel very clean, as I said earlier a lovely and pleasant experience..Cyril.

Room Tip: 6th floor upwards facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioTejedor, Director General at Catalonia Punta del Rey, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Squirrel

We would like to thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination.

We are pleased to hear that you like our food, friendly staff and value for money.

Thank you for recommending us as a holiday destination and hoping you will return soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Caletillas
12.0 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
#40 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,932 reviews
11.4 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,789 reviews
10.9 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#69 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,204 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#23 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,074 reviews
30.8 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Punta del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Punta del Rey

Property: Catalonia Punta del Rey
Address: Avenida Generalisimo 165, 38520 Las Caletillas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Las Caletillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Las Caletillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Punta del Rey 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Punta del Rey is located in Las Caletillas, seafront, only 14 kilometres from the capital, Santa Cruz de Tenerife. You can enjoy the beauty of the vegetation surrounding the swimming pool and the environment designed by the well-known architect Cesar Manrique. All facilities are inside of the hotel: swimming pools and shops, sauna, massage, fitness, garden, billiard, table football, ping pong and games, minigolf, tennis court, squash, green bowling, garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Punta del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Punta Del Rey Hotel Las Caletillas
Hotel Catalonia Punta Del Rey
Catalonia Punta Del Rey Tenerife/Las Caletillas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing