We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“infinity pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“infinity pool”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

it was really amazing day when I visit this hotel
we swim there in that pool the best one i like it cause it was for adults
the ppl there was amazing
the service ,,,, everything at all
the life guard there was great all of them almost we met Ali ,,, and mahoumd and mohannad this is the life guards who was working there
they were amazing staff
hammad and we also met the one with the red shirt his name i think is mohammad
he serve us alot of things fruit and cleaning our sunglasses
and he did alot of thins
and the lifeguard Ali he was amazing he take care of us a lot
thank you kempinski staff we like you so much

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,617
    481
    215
    102
    94
See reviews for
575
1,002
127
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I have stayed at many other 5 star hotels and resorts, including the Kempinski, and was hugely disappointed. The standard of customer service, room and overall impression of the hotel leave a lot to be desired. We stayed in an Ishtar villa, which looked totally different from the website pictures. The room looked worn, was small and dark, even though the room was at the top. All the fittings looked like they were made of cheap materials. How hard is it to get a main light in the room, instead what you get is tiny spotlights by the bed that look as if they should be used in an interrogation room!! Hardly what I would expect from a luxury hotel. As for the mini-bar...............what a complete joke!
The layout of the resort was confusing. By the time we got to breakfast were were sweating buckets!!

There was only 2 restaurants to choose from, 'Codes', which served Thai, whose only asset is the chef. My only gripe with the food is that they dress/display it too much, take that away and frankly you're left with miniscule portions. Nevertheless, the food was tasty. Also, the Italian/pizza/grill restaurant at the lower pool, ok but the staff need to be a bit more friendlier and less robotic! . Also, there was thumping music being played at the upper pool which reminded me of a student union bar. The Obelisk is being renovated, so the options were poor.

The one thing that stood out to me was the 'Complimentary services' at the beach for guests. Now, if you like that kind of thing, then the Kempinski is for you, but it made me feel uncomfortable watching people having mud applied, and washed off by the beach staff, when there are mirrors so you can see what you're doing. Also, there was a guy that brought water and towels to a lounger of your choice, and laid the towels out. Come on people, don't be lazy........do it yourself!!!! In addition to a guy spritzing water in your face, and cleaning your glasses. Seriously, is it really necessary? I guess that's what you 'pay' for.

In my opinion at first glance, the Kempinski looks 'flashy' with it's numerous swimming pools, and large receptions, but it was absolutely NOT worth the money, given the poor standard of service, rooms and food. They really do need to inject some life into their staff, as even greeting them seemed like it was out of the norm for them. It was quite depressing to stay there!! For the above reasons we will NEVER stay at a Kempinski again!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I stayed at the Kempinski Ishtar for 2 amazing nights while travelling around Jordan, it was an amazing experience. The resort is top class and the staff were all fabulous, extremely polite and helpful. The buildings are absolutely stunning and dominates theDead Sea shoreline, the Movenpick next door looked tiny in comparison.

There are plenty of pools as well as a private beach, where staff brought us water and fruit juices to our sun loungers. The restaurants were also amazing - really good quality food and service - which is essential as there is not much else to do in the area. Free minibar was also a much appreciated bonus.

Would defintely recommend staying here to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDays32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

luxurious resort experience on the Dead Sea, with private access to the Dead Sea, infinity pools, free internet access and minibar.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycekwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

i stayed at the kempinski dead sea for 2 nights in sept 2010. i have never stayed in a more luxurious place. we stayed here after spending far more money at the movenpick petra, and the kempinski is better in every way. everything from check-in to check-out was perfect, and i will be a kempinski fan for life.

the hotel grounds are amazing. there are multiple pools (all fantastic) and restaurants (slightly spendy but good). there are employees everywhere who clearly care about making the experience as wonderful as possible. i was greeted by "miss ___" everywhere i went. during the utterly incredible breakfast, the manager came up to make sure that everything was ok, and several waiters helped us as well. while at the pool, your every whim is catered to by the multiple staff there. a man came around to spritz people in the face with fruit scented water, another came around to wipe off sunglasses, water was always replenished quickly, etc.

the breakfast buffet is included in the price, and is amazing. i miss it already. i probably could have stayed at breakfast all day. there was a huge table with pastries only, then sections for american style breakfast food, middle east, mediterranean, japanese, european, and then also fresh juices, fruit, yogurt,and an omelette bar as well. incredible.

the kempinski also had the best housekeeping i have ever had. usually i don't notice these things but the turn-down service was particularly great. the service staff made the beds, turned on classical music, took out all the trash, laid out the clothes that i had thrown on the floor, arranged all of the bathroom things that i had strewn about, put a little card on the table with the handwritten weather forecast for the next day, and put out water bottles and slippers.

the dead sea/beach experience was fun. the beach is a great place to spend hours. the dead sea mud is free,and i saw a male guest getting rubbed down with it by a male attendant for free (as i am a woman, i didn't think i could ask for this service).

the only negative about the hotel is not the hotel's fault -- there were flies everywhere. apparently this is somehow related to the season and the dead sea itself. the hotel staff were very apologetic about the flies but really, there is nothing they could have done.

i would definitely recommend this place. it is not cheap but i really do think there is value in staying here. and again,it was far cheaper than the movenpick at petra which simply does not compare. this was one of the highlights of my 2.5 week middle east trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the Marriott for 2 weeks before coming here for just 3 nights. As this hotel cost quite a lot more we expected it to be better, sadly this wasn't the case.

The bad:
This hotel is far too expensive.
The zigzag layout is confusing, as is the floor numbering in the main building. The signs are also lacking making it really easy to get lost.
There were only two restaurants open when we went there compared to the 5 or so at the Marriott.
I was promised a free minibar with snacks but found 'snacks' means one small tube of imitation pringles. The only alcohol was two cans of beer, and the soft drinks were all in 250ml cans. How much would a bag of peanuts and proper sized cans of soft drink cost? About nothing.
The staff were a mixed bunch. Around half were mechanically obsequious and most of the rest were just distant. One of the few exceptions was Macky at breakfast and dinner who was always helpful, friendly, and warm. I didn't get the names of any of the other good ones.
One night we could not sleep due to very loud music from a bar right in the centre of the ishtar village. A private party was playing bad music far too loud. I didn't pay top prices for somewhere that sounds like a package holiday resort.
The door to get from the Ishtar village into the main building looks like an office fire escape. They should put in a nice sliding door because that one is spoiling the effect.
More seriously we caught male staff rebuking female staff a few times. This made us both feel fairly uncomfortable. I can't help feeling that if they are that harsh to their staff around customers they could be a whole lot worse when customers are not around. Actually few of the staff seemed all that friendly to each other unlike at the Marriott where they chatted and joked with each other when everything else was done.


The good:
The resort is very pretty.
The grounds are very well looked after.
The gym is top class with very good equipment.
The sand beach is so much easier on the feet than Marriott's gravel beach.
The resort has a very large area of the dead sea cordoned off for swimming or floating.
The Thai food at the codes restaurant was cooked to a very high standard. Make sure you ask for it extra spicy if you really love Thai food, which we do. ( What's with the chopsticks though? I've never seen Thai's use chopsticks. )
The bill was correct with no unexpected charges.


In our opinion the Marriott just 500 meters or so along the road is a better resort as well as being far cheaper. I know Kempinski is seen as a much better brand than Marriott but in this case the roles seem to be reversed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Maybe it was the magic of a bunch of childhood friends celebrating one of their own's marriage, but really the hotel is absolutely charming. The wedding was divine, the sunset was breathtaking. Service was slow by the pool, but there were so many of us that it was tough for them to keep it up. The food was great and the staff very welcoming. The experience of applying mud from the dead sea and bathing in it was unique and fun. Only glitch I'd say was that the car supposed to take us to the airport, organized by the hotel, never showed up and we could have missed our flight... but we didn't!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Property: Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing