We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A great and relaxing hotel.
-Rooms are nice and clean
-Beautiful view overlooking the dead sea
-A good amount of greenery
-Very good breakfast
- Very nice pools (one for adults only)
- Great poolside service with water, a virgin colada, pieces of pineapple, etc given out throughout the day.

Tip: After a friend's recommendation: we went to the Marriott for dinner at the Italian restaurant (walking distance from Kempinski) pretty good Italian food.

Picky guest section:
- The shower leaked into the bathroom (What is it with hotel showers?)
- There are 2 spots for lunch in the hotel both are quite uninspiring and the service is somewhat slow.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Ltraveler7,

Sunny greetings from the lowest point on Earth,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

On another note, I would like to inform you that your comments on some areas where improvement is needed have been delivered to the concerned department to take the necessary action.

Once again, we very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the lowest point on Earth!.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager * Area Director Jrodan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 2,781 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

The problem with this hotel resort is the noise. Loud piped music relayed across the extensive site (it can even be heard from the Dead Sea) gives it the ambience of a low-grade holiday camp rather than luxury hotel. It is worst wherever there is a pool with a restaurant. We found the quietest, most relaxing place outside to be the Sunken Pool, where there is no food outlet to attract the flies either. But piped noise also infects the large Obelisk restaurant, which is a bit like feeding time at the zoo. Breakfast on the Codes restaurant terrace was civilised (but closed on Sundays). We didn't find a restaurant entirely to our liking for dinner but we enjoyed a light meal on the balcony of the Summerian bar. Our room (with balcony and sea view) was spacious but very grey: it looked like a very large prison cell. And some things just didn't work; for example, the minibar was never cold, despite an engineer's visit & water in the shower drained the wrong way. It was as if designers and architects had conspired against practicality and common sense. On a positive note, the staff were delightful: friendly and unfailingly helpful; the pool boys keep everyone supplied with complimentary water. But this Russian monument to excess (some "interesting" clientele) is supposedly modelled on the hanging gardens of Babylon; we hope ancient Babylon was more peaceful. Perhaps we should have tried the Mövenpick.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Mr. David,

We are disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We would like to offer our apologies for not being able to meet your expectations, as this is not the level of service we are known for providing our guests.

We would appreciate you contacting our Executive Assistant Manager on the email below in order to better understand your frustrations.
Warren Goadby
Executive Asisstant Manager
warren.goadby@kempinski.com

Again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

One of my favorite hotels. The Kempinski hotels are always awesome. I arrived late due to a late flight. i had to be able to say I had been in the Dead Sea so I jumped in around 11pm... pitch black outside and not a soul was around. Crazy fun experience. After that I went back to my room and crashed on the ALWAYS amazingly comfortable Kempinski bed. Rolled out the next morning at 0400 to head to Petra. Wanted to be there for the sunrise!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiteea333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Whiteea333,

Warm greetings from the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the lowest point on Earth!.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked a standard room for 3 nights .
Upon arrival we were given a refreshing small wet towel , check-in was easy , and we were upgraded to a junior suite # 3220 which was great for us.

Rooms: very good , very spacious ,nice furniture ; great balcony with sea view .

Beach: clean with plenty of sun beds ,swimming and mud.

Internet: free WiFi in public areas only,and wired in the room.

Breakfast : delicious with variety of items.

Cleanliness: although very clean in general , the last day of our stay the room was not cleaned as it should be, and the house keeping opened the door on us around 10 PM despite the "don't disturb" on the door.

Staff of the restaurant not very helpful, I told three of them (separately) I needed a baby chair (and it was available) and they ignored us , the forth guy responded.

Sleep Quality: very good , air con works well.

Value for money: good considering the free upgrade offered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Mr. Osama,

Warm greetings from the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

On another note, I would like to personally apologize for the unpleasant experience you had encountered in one of our restaurants. I have clearly addressed this point to our Food & Beverage department to ensure such behavior is handled immediately.

Once again, we very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the lowest point on Earth!.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager * Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is by far the best resort at the Dead Sea. So just book it and be assured you are so much better off than the Marriott or Movenpick or any other. First it includes mini bar, water, internet and all rooms sea view with great balcony. The other hotels kill you on these things. Second the service is just so much better. Whenever we are there if the hotel is not full they give us free upgrade to lower room nearer the pools and dead sea. Good luck with that at the other hotels.The breakfast is incredible with more than you can imagine, even top end bottled water and champagne and fresh juices and smoothes to name a few. Can go on and on. The only issues we had were that the hot water did not work that well in the room, and the toilet was leaking and the engineer could not fix it. A great room though and we loved it. Thanks to the hotel again for the nice upgrade. This is why we just always book Kempinski Dead Sea and do not look to the other wannabes. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Umbash,

Warm greetings from the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

Moreover, we would like to apologize for the maintenance issues you had encountered in the room during your stay. I have personally addressed your point to our Engineering department to ensure such incidents should be dealt with immediately.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the lowest point on Earth!.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager * Area Director Jrodan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed there in September 2013. Such a beautiful and relaxing place to spend a weekend or a couple of days at the Dead Sea. The rooms are so spacious and clean. The view from the room is exclusive seeing all these pools and the sea. I guess the sea area needs to renovated but the pools are really exclusive specially seeing the sea while swimming. We tried different restaurants. Oblelisk restaurant dinner buffet was good and tasty. Drinks at Ashur was fair but argeleh (hubbly bubbly) is special. My favorite place for food was Isin Bar, Sushi is so delicious, we really enjoyed dining there. We tried the in room dining, it was okay but not the best in the hotel. All in all i recommend the hotel

Room Tip: We choose a villa near the lazy river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKhamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Ms. Khamis,

Warm greetings from the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the lowest point on Earth!.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager * Area Director Jrodan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

this is a special place..site,at the lowest point on earth.the dead sea.a unique view of the westbank, jerusalem ,jericho.jordan valley.greeted on arrival with a cold towel for face and hands(weather was hot)and a cold refreshing juice.we had 2 nights in the main hotel building all rooms with a sea view .rooms are spacious with large balcony.very well equiped with a complimentary fresh fruits,free minibar,facilities for tea and coffee.largebath.there is beautiful design for every detail in the hotel wheather in the lobby,scattered tables with newspapers and magazine next to free glasses of juice.there is many swiming pools each with different design and shape at different levels of the hotel.with frequent visits by the waiters once with cold refreshing towels second by small glasses of different drinks third by small BBQ stick wth small peices of fresh fruits.you must try and cover your body with deadsea black mud at the mud station and it is free.....it is fun(donot forget the camera),healthy(as you will find how smooth your skin will be)and after a while experience the unforgetabble deadsea swim....breakfast buffet was very very rich and you will not forget it .when you have it at the restaurant balcony surrounded by few pigeons smooth breeze and a stunning view.we have dinner at the kosh restaurant terrace a BBQ salmon,shrimps,kebab with DJ of the nice songs of the70ties&80 ties followed by arabic oriental dancer and arabic music for 65 us$ each.we had only soft drinks (this only on FRIDAY night).the SPA is a must see.. ellegant very large variaty of messages rather expensive i had arabic message (90 min for 200 us$)expensive but nice to try one. this is not my the first visit(the first was in 2007) .i tried the seaside rooms it was more luxary but more expensive.all in all it is aluxurious hotel 8 years old so roomfurniture may need some very minor maintainance .expensive but the quality the services the staff the set up make it worth it

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr majed j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Dr. Majed,

Warm greetings from the lowest point on Earth!

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the lowest point on Earth!.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager * Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
536 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range: $175 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing