We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning property, patchy service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning property, patchy service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Kempinski is very well located on the banks of the Dead Sea, with easy access to the water and beautiful views of the surrounding white hills. The hotel is beautifully designed and built on a cliff side in multiple levels leading down to the Dead Sea. There are several great pools located throughout the property.

There are rooms in both the main building and the resort area (located next to the Dead Sea) which is a golf cart ride or downhill walk away. We stayed in the resort area, which I would highly recommend since its close to the pools, restaurants and the Dead Sea. Our room was well sized but quite basic in terms of furnishings and finish. We didn't mind though since the rest of the property had more than enough to engage us.

The service at this resort is not great though. The reception staff was ok and check in was efficient. However, the staff at the bar and italian restaurant were poor and behaved like they were doing us a favour by serving us. The food was also poor. The buffet restaurant was a bit better. The pool staff was mostly absent and it was hard to get a drink, towels, etc. Given the hotel was not running anywhere near full occupancy, I really think they could do better.

Nonetheless, we enjoyed our time here and given the quality of the facilities, would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Stay in the resort area, near the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sohilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Sohilc,

Greetings from The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

Allow me to extend to you our sincere thanks for writing your comments on your previous stay at our hotel and sharing them with us on Tripadvisor. This important tool allows us to maintain our image and strengthen our level of services that we provide to you, our valued guest.

Please be aware that your comments have been delivered to the concerned departments to pay attention to these important details and ensure they are well-handled.

Should you plan any visit again to the Dead Sea, please do not hesitate to contact me to make your next visit as enjoyable as possible.

Best regards,
Henk Meyknecht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,617
    481
    215
    102
    94
See reviews for
575
1,002
127
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our first Kempinski experience and we are hooked! This property was awesome - from the beautifully manicured grounds to the attentive staff. Tourism in Jordan is down which was fortunate for us in that we felt like this was our own private resort. The Dead Sea experience is one that everyone should enjoy and this resort is the place to do it!

Room Tip: Our standard room was roomy with a huge walk-in shower in the spacious bathroom. We had a balcony wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Robin,

Warm greetings from the lowest point on earth, The Dead Sea.

I am very delighted to read your nice words about your visit to our Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea. We very much enjoy receiving such comments that reflect the level of satisfaction of our dear clients.

Once again, many thanks for sharing your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spent 1 night here and got upgraded to a Pool Lagoon Suite which was terrific and not only right on the Pool but was a very close walk to the Dead Sea.
The Suite was beutifully appointed, all possible items you need, plus a great room attendant who bought us more Towels, water etc as soon as we arrived.
The Bed was very comfortable, the Bathroon huge and lots of space in the Suite, with your own private Deck onto the Pool area.
We had dinner in the Thai Restaurant, which was a bit sparce, but OK all the same.
Other than that, it was exactly what you expect and should receive from a 5 Star Property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Geoff48,

Greetings from the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

Many thanks for sharing your pleasant feedback about your stay in our hotel. We highly appreciate the time you spent in writing your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future hopefully.

Should you need any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us,

Best regards
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel kept up to the usual excellent Kempinski standard. We stayed for two nights in the main hotel part. The Ishtar area, which is closer to the beach, would be a great place to stay if you wanted to make a real holiday out of it. You wouldn't have to move from the hotel at all! Rooms were spacious and of an exceptional standard. Food was good and service was excellent. Of course, a swim (or float) in the Dead Sea is a must from their private beach. Do try covering yourself in mud!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Dead Sea so you can't choose a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Maureen H,

Greetings from the entire team of the Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

On behalf of the team of our hotel, I would like to personally thank you for the nice words you have addressed to us via Tripadvisor about your stay in our hotel. We are more than glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that it was as comfortable and relaxing as you planned it to be.

We look forward to welcoming you always at this fascinating spot in the world.

Best regards,
henk Meyknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this resort and everyone was very welcoming and friendly. The resort itself is beautiful and very big

Friends had recommended we stay in the villas nearer the beach which looked stunning but were a bit over our budget. We barely spent anytime in our room which was in the main building but there was nothing wrong with it. It was quite modern and had a nice view over Jerusalem. The hotel also has a buggy service to take you around as it is quite a long walk so I never felt we missed out on too much!

The food was great however we went for the seafood bbq on one of the nights and the service was terribly terribly slow but the food was still good.

We travelled with our 1.5 year old son and was surprised to even receive a spare nappy and a bottle of johnsons baby wash for our little one when we returned to our room for bath time - it was just a nice touch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cd_nel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear cd_nel83,

Allow me to thank you on behalf of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea team who was more than delighted to have you stay with us recently.

Your comments are very much appreciated and rewarding at the same time to all of us, knowing that our dedication to provide our valued guests with Kempinski's personalized service is actually paying off.

Once again, many thanks for your wonderful words and we look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Best regards,
henk Meyknecht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Sitting with glass of Jordanian Chardonnay looking outover the Dead Sea, with the lights of Jericho and Jerusalem twinkling in the distance was just what we needed after spending 3 days walking round Petra. The hotel is lovely - we had a room in the main building where the view is the best and you are ideally placed to use the top swimming pool and the spa. The food was good - with a good variety of cuisines on offer. It's definitely worth making a visit to the spa as you get really pampered as well as the use of all the facilities all day! At the bar, it's worth ordering a gin and tonic as you have never seen as much stuff on the table afterwards. All the staff extremely helpful and friendly so always worth saying hello as you go by. It was my first dip in the Dead Sea and my first taste of Jordan. I will definitely be back...

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for a clubtype room - just ask for one high up in the main building and admire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damo_and_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Damo_and_Jen,

Warm greetings from Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your nice words that you described our hotel with. We very much enjoyed reading them after receiving them with great honor and gratitude.

Once again, many thanks for taking some of your precious time to share your valuable feedback on tripadvisor.

Best regards
henk Meyknecht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I chose it because it had private beach access, my only reason for going to the Dead Sea, obviously. It has all the grandeaur and plushness of a 5 star resort property. The Ishtar section of it is more charming so I would suggest pick that. Though the rooms in the big main building are perfectly lovely too, with very nice balconies and views over the water. The italian restaurant had great food and very nice staff. The beach is good and the Dead Sea makes your skin gleam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Property: Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing