We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight break with family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overnight break with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We travelled down (literally!) from Amman and spent the best part of 2 days at the Kempinski with an overnight stay. Very impressed by the service and attention from every single member of staff - they all seemed to want to go out of their way to help. The weather was kind and the children spent most of the time in the (small) heated children's pool. Shame they couldn't use the circular pool which was even warmer but only for age 14+. Check-in was quick and easy, buffet dinner and breakfast really good, rooms spacious and well-equipped. Complimentary water both at the pool and dinner was welcome, also complimentary drink by the pool and refreshing face-cloths. Access to the Dead Sea was good.

Drawbacks: the hotel was not buggy or wheelchair-friendly. There were golf buggies to take you around but that necessitated getting the baby out and collapsing the buggy. The heated kiddies' pool was quite small and had no slides or fountains; fortunately we had brought toys to play with in the water and I noticed the hotel provided some on request.

Our stay worked out at about £100 per person dinner bed and breakfast, based on 2 sharing, which was very good value. I'm sure it gets more expensive later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dozival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ms. Dozival,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

It is with great pleasure that we received your comments regarding your previous stay at our hotel. Without your comments, we wouldn't have reached to this level of service and expectation as every opinion makes a different at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    472
    209
    98
    90
See reviews for
563
986
123
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The last hotel on the strip with a nice view over the Dead Sea. On arrival, we booked a twin room and thanks to the manager we got an upgrade to a Junior Suite with a King Size, excellent start to our holiday. Staff is really friendly from at the gate straight through to the porters, thanks that brightens up your day after a long drive.

Dinner each night we went down to the Italian restaurant in the complex. Ideal setting, look out over the pool and enjoy dinner. Can recommend the Tortellini dish and the Tiramisu for desert. The Jordanian red wine they serve by the glas is certainly recommended? Second night we did it again but after we didn't have any luck at Kish bar for sushi as the chef for the evening was too busy at Codes. Walked over to Codes for Thai and they mentioned a 30 min wait for main meal, in this instance I would expected better precaution by the hotel when they do have big conference groups arriving during the quiet time of the season and neglect the tourist traveller.

Breakfast had a broad spread, they could do better with the quality of coffee, a plunger with coffee would've been a nice add-on.

The food at the pool bar is great, panoramic view over the heated pool to the sea. Plenty of sunbeds await and complimentary water helps with the hydration. Quickly at your service with a towel and a chair.

Went for a drift in the Sea and not too far down to walk from the chairs, by the look of it need to reserve as when we were down on the beach it was deserted and were told we need to move our stuff to another chair with-out towels. Menitioned towels on the way but had a quick shower as we got out and wind dried ourselves..... They could do better.

But overall it was a good experience, this is probably due to the timing of the year / season for the tourist industry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oiltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Olitraveller,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

We would like to thank you for your comments on your previous stay with us. Without such comments, we would not have reached to this level of service which aims to provide our valued guests, like your good self, with exceptional services.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel very soon in the near future.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The potential is the rebut still missing some details. My first impression was not that good. I had a problem with my reservation and the front desk was not willing to help at all. Probably this was a particular person ( His name may be Farah) while the rest of my experience with front desk was great, especially Hadeel. Then the guy driving me to my room got lost and kept going in circles till he found the room. My room was 4401, probably the worst location in he hotel.it is a new room but didn't like it. Most of time no hot water available . No electric plug beside the bed!! First time to see such thing food was good. Service in the Thai restaurant was great. Nice gym with very helpful staff. Still it isverygood hotel but I had quiet special issues.

Room Tip: Avoid the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Mohammed,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

We received your comments with sincere gratitude for sharing them with us. We highly appreciate your time to write your feedback on your stay and we do apologize for the shortfall in the areas you mentioned. Rest assured that all your points have been addressed to the concerned departments to ensure such incidents are not to occur in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel to ensure your experience with Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea is memorable and exceptional.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

For us the service was what made our stay at the kempinski so special and relaxing.
From the word go we found it attentive and professional and unlike some reviewers I found it genuine and warm.

On arrival we were given an upgrade to a better room. Good start. I had mistakenly booked a twin room which the receptionist changed suggesting we had a complimentary drink on the terrace while they checked the room. Meanwhile the hotel manager came to greet us and wish us a great stay,

Our room was gorgeous. Large, great bed, lovely big bathroom with bath and shower.
We had a problem with the lock on the door - it was sorted 2 minutes after reporting it.

The Thai restaurant, The Code, was fabulous. At 42 or 52 JD for a complete meal for 2 people, this was good value given the standard and variety of the food. I love Thai and I was not disappointed.

We had such a relaxing stay. I felt the staff were so well trained. I work in the travel industry and know how difficult it is to get to and maintain this standard - so hats off to the management.

Yes, It's quite expensive but its beautiful and the standards are high. The breakfast was great, and we certainly did not need lunch!

We loved our stay here and want to say thanks to all the employees in the hotel who are working so hard to make the guest experience so good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ms. Lulu,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

We would like to thank you for your comments that you have posted on TripAdvisor regarding your previous stay at our hotel. We highly appreciate them and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed twice (with Petra in between) in the main block which have great views of the sea and the West Bank.

Flawless service, most comfortable beds, great bathroom and excellent breakfast buffet.

We also tried the Italian restaurant (pizza etc), which overlooks one of the pools. In-room dining was excellent with quick turnaround times. The free mini bar has water, soft drinks, juices and beer, but only one sugar free variant (Pepsi). Diet 7-up, Tonic etc has to be purchased.

Whilst there's no wi-fi in the room there was a free wired connection (we were in a suite), with wi-fi in the public areas.

No issue with towels by the pool and free bottled water provided. At weekends the lower pools can become busy and the music more suitable for a younger crowd. The top pool was always peaceful, and perhaps the far end of the lazy river.

We hired a car from Europcar which are based in the hotel which made the whole process very easy and took the hotel transfer from (and to) the airport, which I would recommend if you want a stress-free start.

If you are driving yourself from the airport, there's a new road being completed and the detour whilst marked does not have many signs. Head for Amman and then take the King Hussein Bridge turn off. Once you double back you will then see the sign for the Dead Sea. There will be a police checkpoint en route. The Kempinski is between the Movenpick and the Dead Sea Resort.

I would suggest you take flip flops for walking into the Dead Sea. Pack spare swimwear if you intend to cover yourself in the mud as it does stain some fabrics. The poolside/sea side showers are not hot.

All in all a great place....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huss186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Huss186338,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea,

We would like to extend our special thanks for your nice comments you provided to us via Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to another visit to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We loved our stay here. Beautiful hotel, but the people are what makes it vey special. Everyone, whether it be Mohammed the porter, Ronnie the restaurant manager, or the wonderful people helping out at the beach was terrific. Only two small issues - no wifi in the rooms, and the Dead Sea is rocky.

Otherwise a perfect stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spa- Changing area was not kept clean- Moderate to high priced for the type of service provided. Teen facial no steam or extraction just serums 110.USD 90 min massage= 10 min of commentary 15 min to undress and dress, 10 min foot scrub and rinse turns out to be about 60 min of real massage time 182.48USD. Was provided miss information by front desk about needing a room to utilize day spa services. Room was rented 118.70 that was really not needed- Inside door handle fell off when entering the room. Called to have it fixed stayed in to room for 20 min waiting called again waited 10 more min , no responded. Didn't want to miss my spa appointment so we closed the door and took our belongings and changed in the spa, because we were afraid we would get trapped in the room if we closed the door to change. Never was able to use the room. The temperature outside was chilly and could not find an outside pool was heated for my daughter and I to swim in., even 1 of the spa Jacuzzi's was not heated? Couldn't find anyone to turn on the jets in the world pool for 30 min. Over all I was disappointed most of all because when management was notified of the issues they reassured us things would be taken care of but when we left the spa changing rooms were still dirty and the door handle was still broke.- I travel frequently all over the world I choose 5 star hotels to be comfortable- This Hotel disappointed me

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#6 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Property: Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing