We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service ever !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed in March for 3 nights and it was my first time at kempinski , we stayed in ishtar superior room , very nice room especially the bathroom . food quality is excellent but it is over priced. the concierge staff is Wow!!! , i passed by the concierge desk and i was welcomed by Murad, i asked him about the excursions we can do and if there is some place we could have dinner, he gave us all what need in a very professional way. This was the BEST service i ever had. Am thinking to visit this hotel again soon

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nooryanayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,735 - 1,741 of 2,836 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

If stifling local "hospitality" when you wouldn't want it and lack of assistance when you need it sound like your idea of a great getaway, then look no further. You can't take 5 steps in this hotel without someone trying to give you a cold towel, trying to give you a hot towel, trying to carry your bag, trying to carry your breakfast plate from the buffet, trying to do whatever possible to interrupt your goal of relaxing.

Do you enjoy going out to dinner while on vacation? This place has some terrific restaurants that provide a variety of cuisines. These restaurants allow guests to bring ill mannered, unruly, and disruptive children to dine along side you, just in case you were relaxing. You won't get any help from the staff either - parents are always correct at the Kempinski Ishtar; yelling, running and throwing large chunks of food into the infinity pool are all deemed acceptable behavior and will be tolerated. This will surely provide you excellent entertainment while you wait 20+ minutes for your bottle of wine.

Did I mention that while you're at dinner, hotel staff will - without prior notice - perform a turn down service? Not a bad touch ... if they don't rifle through your wallet and/or purse while "cleaning" the room. That's right - it's hotel policy to make note of all valuables left in a room prior to securing them in the room safe. The guest then must call the locksmith to have the safe opened. The locksmith (keep in mind this is after you've had dinner and possibly had some beverages) will then pull out a list of your valuables and read off, one by one, the exact bills you have in your wallet(s). What's that? Your wallet was in your purse? No worries - hotel staff will remove it, open it, count the bills, then return it and lock it up for your pleasure. Not sure how much cash you actually had in your wallet? Well, good thing those maids made note of it for you...

Lastly, if you have some type of gift card, reward balance or anything else that may apply a discount to your stay, don't make reservations in your name - this will save the hotel money and make them happier. The fact that your husband/wife booked the room but you have the discount in your name means nothing to the accounting department and you will pay full price (regardless of what the welcome guy told you during check-in), ensuring the multitude of staff who do nothing retain their jobs to not serve you.

Do yourself a favor and spend your money at the Swiss ice cream place next door - they actually strive to keep your business and you'll want to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmNi7K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

very nice resort, very big .. wouldve liked to have more sea view rooms. ours was big and clean with a big balcony but closed in shutters so we had to peek to see the sea.
service at the hotel is terrible but when they do answer , the personnel is very welcoming and nice
pool areas are beautiful

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very international clientele. Very large, lots of steps and terraces. The breakfast buffet was amazing, complimentary bubbly wine, and so many choices, constantly replaced and fresh...european pastries, asian choices, arabic choices, thai noodles, pancakes and so much more.
Most annoying was no wi fi in the room, only data cables. Also our friends had a wake-up call and were offered complimentary coffee delivered to the room.
The beach and swimming area were lovely, mud was available for application and the mirrors were useful so as not to miss any skin....dont shave face or legs prior to going in the Dead sea!
We had a room, it was very big, so was the bed! We had ground floor, with a walk out walled in deck and access to the grassy area.
The pools looked lovely, especially the infinity pool.
The Thai restaurant had a nice outside seating area, the menu was tasty but nothing extrordinary. Service was friendly.
Expensive but

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank physiomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a recent long-weekend at Kempinski Ishtar and I was incredibly impressed. I was a little put-off by reviews describing the hotel as sterile but I didn't find that at all - to the contrary, I thought this was one of those rare resorts where you actually get a sense of place. You are so obviously in Jordan - in a modernist take on a Bedouin village. Its a stylish, magnificent place with benchmark Jordanian warmth and hospitality.

And its full of atmosphere - from the classical pianist in the oh so chic lobby, to the Ammani glamazons dancing at the pool bar. Every restaurant we ate in was different and each excellent in its own way - yes food is expensive (but not by Australian standards). As others have noted, the pools and spa facilities are superb - the beach is the best hotel beach on the Dead Sea (on either side).

Where else can you sit at a roof-top bar, suck back on a shisha pipe and watch the lights of Jerusalem twinkling across the sea?

Simply fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms are enormous - you may need a compass to find your way around. Be prepared for minimalism
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekeystotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Views at the property over the dead sea are absolutely stunning. The Hotel complex is enormous (and could be considered sterile if its not your decor style) and its also pretty spread out and admittedly its very very easy to get lost, but as such the rooms are very spacious as well and lend for lots of privacy.

Wifi only in the lobby and data cables in the rooms means if your traveling with an ipad, you'll be spending a lot of time in the lobby.

All up, we had great service and the rooms were very comfortable. would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very disappointing hotel in a great location with wonderful views across the Dead Sea.
Romantic sunsets but what an awful hotel.
Too large and no atmosphere.
Service is poor, food is average and very expensive. Buffet restaurant OK, but decor too modern and sterile. Cocktails watery and no flavour. Wine choose limited and v.very expensive.
Only good thing:
Lovely Spa and facilities and good swimming pools especially the Infiniti pool

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissesN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
7.5 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
700 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range: $182 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing