We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Certificate of Excellence
jordan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Luxury and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My 2 sons invited me to celebrate my birthday at this hotel , it's as usual the best , looking 4 service and luxury come here , the pools are heated witch is a must in this time if year , rooms are clean and spacious , breakfast was amazing every thing you can think of is there . Italian restaurant was delicious , the mini bar was free refilled twice a day , they offer u complementary soft drink on the pool , the staff starting from the GM of the hotel to the house keeping staff are amazing ,welcoming , careing , I love this hotel , highly recommended when u visit our beautiful lowest point on earth Dead Sea -jordan

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nisreen-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    466
    202
    97
    89
See reviews for
548
972
123
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Of course, this is a great hotel. For the price you pay, you don't expect anything else, no? But still, I don't judge this one as being the top 5 star excellent place to be.
Food is great with an overwhelming choice at the buffet in the morning, a great snack near the swimming pool at lunchtime and an evening where we took twice Italian and once Thai. But all that comes at a European price for a quality that just does not match the real thing.
A nice choice of swimming pools although a bit crowded on Friday with more local people at the swimming pool. Not sure if they stayed for the weekend or were allowed with a day pass. If day passes are possible in this hotel, I would say that it does not match the 5 stars they have.
The rooms are perfect and very spacious. We stayed in two Ishtar Superior Rooms, connected to each other. While we booked online for 3 beds in one of the rooms, they tried to let us pay extra. I had to walk to reception myself (after calling 4 times) to make clear I wanted the bed without having to pay. Knowing it's a big hotel..., it took me some time.
Sadly enough our balcony didn't have the perfect view given the palm trees in front of it. Probably higher priced suites would give you this view. Not needed given you can enjoy views the whole day.

Still recommend this one but one needs to be critical when you pay this price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
262 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I enjoyed a very pleasant mini-holiday at Kempinski Dead Sea.
Everything is 5*: exquisite lobby,excellent staff,great rooms with elegant bathrooms,sparkling white linen and towels,very good restaurants.
The resort is beautifully designed;you enjoy your breakfast or dinner on terraces with sea view; it's a pleasure to walk among old olive trees and Bougainvillea bushes;there are many swimming pools and the beach is excellent.
I enjoyed the fact that the desk with the hairdrier and make up mirror is located very discretely in the room;in other hotels they are located in the bathroom and by the time you dried your hair you need another shower.
When I came back to my room from dinner-excellent food at Obelisk restaurant-the staff already changed my towels .
I really had a great time and I recommend this hotel for its elegance and privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihaela11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is beautiful and comfortable, it is perfect for a family vacation or for business professionals who are looking for some relaxing time. It has nice bars on the pool and a stunning infinity pool that looks over the sea - but it is too quiet for young people. There is not much to do at night but it is close to the other hotels that may have parties or night activities.
I would recommend this hotel for couples because the rooms or cabins offer privacy and a romantic atmosphere. I would recommend it for families with children because there is a huge pool for children and a children club that can entertain children while the parents relax on the pool or in the dead sea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Over-the-top, fantastic! The staff brought fresh fruit to our room upon arrival. They will help you apply mud to your body, if you choose to take the 'treatment.' Or you can mud yourself, let dry, them float it off in the amazing Dead Sea. The water is warm, you cannot sink and all is right with the world. The resort itself is stunningly beautiful, with multiple pools that look over the Dead Sea. The bathrooms are marble and granite and each room has a nice deck. Excellent beds, too. If I return to the region, I would certainly choose this hotel again. It was one of the finest I've used.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spottypottamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Midway through the holiday we factored in a couple of days of luxury at the Kempinski. We had lovely adjoining rooms with a partial view out over the Dead Sea that we could enjoy while sitting on our balcony sipping our beer.

As a previous reviewer has stated the bathrooms are very luxurious, the beds are extremely comfortable with the single beds being generously sized. The complimentary mini bar containing beer, water & soft drinks is a very nice touch.

Opted not to use the spa - paying approx £50 for a group yoga session seemed a rather outrageous.

Restaurants, not overwhelmed by the choices on offer for dinner, ate in Italian & Thai both okay but not outstanding. Was put off by the stray cats roaming round the outdoor seating at the Italian - not helped by guests feeding them. Breakfast at the Obelisk had a great selection.

Staffing - very friendly but no great organisation, eg forgetting orders, or at breakfast having to constantly go to them when requiring coffee/top ups.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Kempinski for a night at the end of a business trip in Israel and Jordan. Its right on the Dead Sea and in a perfect location to see all of the sights. Its a beautiful property that I wish I could have spent more time enjoying. The hotel is truly a luxury hotel. The restaurants and pools are great with amazing service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2EastCoastTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.1 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#6 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Property: Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing