We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,679)
Filter reviews
3,679 results
Traveler rating
2,016
822
404
223
214
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,016
822
404
223
214
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdead seathe grillprivate poolmain buildingitalian restaurantbelly dancerdeluxe roomwadi rumbeautiful resortyour eyesday passmini bardinner buffetbeach areamovenpickzaraspa
Filter
Updating list...
2,752 - 2,757 of 3,679 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2010

First of all the good points... Lovely rooms, great views....

We were in the "best" dead sea resort so we didn't expect things to be cheap however, we did not expect to be made to feel like captured wallet wearing a sign saying "here to be fleeced"

There is nothing (other than other hotels) within walking distance so there was no real choice for food, drink or entertainment. Prices for everything were at the "ouch" end of expected and there were minimum charges for most things. For example, dinner was subject to a minimum charge of 25 dinar (35US) per person, no options for something small... 1.5 litre bottle of water... 3.80US and so on. To compound this the service was slow everywhere and at every turn there were signs which said things like, the chattels in the room cost x$ each and will be charged to your room (should you wish to buy these). I waited 45 minutes for a (US15) 300ml beer at the pool for example.

The hotel is hopelessly inefficient at check in. On arrival we waited in the car in 40+ heat for 15 mins as gate security tried to ascertain if the car before us was a casual visitor or staying guest, Casual visitors have to pay a day rate to get in.

We queued to check in for over 30 minutes, we waited for our bags to be delivered to the room for another 40 minutes, we were given a room next to a family with a screaming baby. Now while that is not the hotels fault, why they thought it a good idea to put a baby in a room with a connecting door i have no idea...

The best bit of all though was when we tried to get hold of Customer liaison so we could request a room change. After 3 or 4 attempts to get someone to answer we were diverted to a mobile of someone who was on holiday? Apparently this 5 star hotel has 1 person as guest relations and when she is on holiday, her phone still rings and ... well tough luck...

The cable car to the beach was "being repaired" (we saw no workmen) so we walked up and down the unshaded and steep stairs in the 47 degree heat. I couldn't help wondering what the other (less expensive hotels) were like..

I could go on but why bother. This is without doubt the worst 5 star hotel i have ever had the misfortune to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nziain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabienChesnais, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Dear Online Customer,

Thank you for posting your constructive feedback on Tripadvisor.
We regret to read that you experience was not up to our expectation and to our promises.

We have well noted each of your comments and shall work on the areas of improvements.
In regards to the Front Office issues, we are currently working on re-structuring the department with the addition as well of the 2 extra desk in order to improve the overall efficiency of the check in & check out.

We again thank you for your feedback and hopefully have the opportunity to host you again in our Arabic Village.

The Moevenpick Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We felt that we are in a real village, wonderful green garden we had a romantic time on the beach lounge

Zara sap is marvelous, friendly staff , service great , we lost a sunglass and a camera after 2 hours they brought it , they are so nice , helpful ,,,, sure we will be back again

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirasJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabienChesnais, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

Dear Online Customer,

Thank you for the great and positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
This is sincerely great source of support for us.

We look forward welcoming you back in our Arabic Village.

The Moevenpick Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Pros
-Had multiple pools
-Great food and a lot of choices for restaurants(Chinese, Italian, and grill)
-Completed the Dead Sea experience with the mud baths and nearby pool
-Had sports fields and tennis courts
-Spacious and pretty clean rooms
-Had bathroom amenities
-Loved the adobe style around the rooms and everywhere. It really made a big difference in my trip.
Cons
-Need a better system for golf carts
-Bed tilted when we were sleeping
-No clock in the room
-Took food a long tome to come as well as other things

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Super M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabienChesnais, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

Dear Online Customer,

Thank you for posting on Tripadvisor your constructive feedback.
This is great source of support for us.

In regards to the club car, please note that we have just purchased Solar club car to increase and improve hopefully the transportation within the resort.

We look forward welcoming you back in our Arabic style Village.

The Moevenpick Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I stayed at Movenpick, Dead Sea resort July, 2010. My bad experience started with reservation where I made reservation by phone and found that there was no reservation in my name at check in. Upon arrival there was long line on check in and after 20-30 minutes wait at check in, the agent is inexperienced and unable to help resolve problems with very poor customer service you expect to see from a five star hotel. The reservation issue was resolved by making a new reservation but not after calling more than three people to help us with a two hour delay of our limited stay in the Dead Sea area. We went on to swim and enjoy the resort facilities. The mood has changed and the kids had fun swimming and playing, even this little fun had to be ruined by the unexpected emergency siren that mistakenly went off asking people to leave the hotel. My children were frightened and ran outside the building to the extent that my son started shaking and vomiting from the fear of the siren. The staffs were not helpful in explaining the situation or helping the people in evacuating the building on the assumption that this was a real emergency, we were left without any guidance in fear to leave on our own. At the end we were told that this was a failure in alarm system and nobody was there to apologize to the customers that came to spend their hard earned money to have a good time. The response I received from the hotel manager when I sent him a complaint was just as cold, and does not come close to a sincere apology. Then I started reading the comments on your web site about Movenpick at dead Sea, I found out that the same line of apology was given to many customers by the same manager, a cut and paste apology.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rami49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Valued Guest, I refer to your stay at the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, for which I thank you. I am truly sorry that you were faced with several inconveniences during your stay at our resort and would like to take this opportunity, in order to apologize for any shortcomings. It goes without saying that the matters raised have been followed up and remedy actions taken accordingly. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with best regards. Abedrabo Twaissi General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We ended our week long trip to Jordan at this Movenpick. We also stayed at the Movenpick Aqaba and Petra and this one was by far the best of the three. It is true that the check in and out were a bit slow. The room was okay but certainly not fancy. This is fairly typical of Middle Eastern accommodations. The food and drink were expensive again typical. Go to Happy Hour and the local wines, very good, are 2 for 1. You have to ask about this as it was not posted. It is nice to sit in the bar and have a few pre dinner drinks and watch the sunset. Smokers are everywhere. Very typical.
The grounds are nice enough and look like an old village. The breakfast is typical buffet, large hotel fare.
The part that is GREAT is the beach area on the Dead Sea. It is lovely, peaceful, and beautiful. As a couple we stayed totally away from the family pool as it was crowded and loud. Parents at one end and Asian nannies and kids at the other. The private pool would have been wonderful but the whole place was reserved for a private party. Disappointing since we paid to use the WHOLE RESORT but again typical for the Middle East.
All in all, if you stay on the beach under an umbrella and have a sandwich and a few beers it is very beautiful and relaxing. The Dead Sea is great fun. Do not shave the day before or day of getting in the water. You will be sorry. I would suggest you try to avoid the weekend days. Thursday was wonderful, Friday was crowded, and Saturday was not much fun.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DohaSessions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabienChesnais, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

Dear Online Customer,

Thank you for posting on Tripadvisor your constructive feedback.
This is great source of support for us.

We look forward welcoming you back in our Arabic style Village.

The Moevenpick Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews