We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and a beautiful location....but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good and a beautiful location....but”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the hotel. Beautiful location, great facilities, sumptuous food - just a shame the service left a lot to be desired... I was allocated a room with no sea view although the hotel with its many rooms was far from full - I'd expect business trippers to be treated differently. Spent 2 hours waiting for a replacement remote control for the TV and in general waited way too long whenever going to one of the 3 reception desks (hardly ever were more than one occupied by staff). For a hotel of this format and reputation I would have expected much more diligence...

Room Tip: sea view would have been nice...but I'm afraid you will have to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for taking your time to post your review of your stay at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea here on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you highlighting our facilities and vast grounds and that we have met your expectations with regards to this.

However, I would also like to note that September and October are high season for the hotel and therefore, in case a guest would like to have another room than booked it will be chargeable. Moreover, I would like to note that we do have Superior rooms with Sea View available to reserve and the price difference to Standard rooms is only little.

We have taken careful note of your feedback with regards to our service and we have shared it with our team in order to improve the mentioned points.

It would be of great pleasure to all our team to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    709
    354
    197
    182
See reviews for
655
878
161
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amman
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My two kids and wife and i had a really relaxing time at the Moevenpick resort Dead Sea. The sand pool is amazing for kids, the service on the pools can be better. the buffet is better than most hotels at the dead sea specially for families. The service in general is great but our beds were old. i sure did not like to be over charged for a pocket of ice so we can have cold water in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabilabusanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

Firstly, I may thank you for contributing your thoughts of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you singling out the service provided to you by our employees.

However, I would also like to inform you that we do charge for ice, in case it is ordered without any drinks.

Moreover, please note that we do have a soft room renovation scheduled for this year in order to upgrade and refresh our rooms and therefore, we will take your suggestions with regards to our beds into consideration.

We look forward welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future to show you a further improvement of our services and facilities.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The foyer in this hotel says it all the minute you walk in the door; luxury, attention to detail and the best smiles in the business. There is little you want to do except indulge yourself in all this resort has to offer from the numerous swimming pools, restaurants, bars, spa facility, tennis courts and more. If you don't want to walk through the stunning gardens and grounds the staff will drive you, nothing is too much trouble. This is an experience everyone should enjoy in addition to floating in the Dead Sea.

Room Tip: Hand over an imprint of your credit card on arrival as it makes it easier rather than carrying your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

Your kind comments with regards to your stay at our resort are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise for our facilities and services.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel whenever your travels bring you back to the Dead Sea.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent two nights here at this wonderful hotel. It is the low season now and as a result there were fewer people than normal. My wife was there a day earlier for a conference. The rooms are airy and with high ceilings you feel that is very spacious. We had a double room (a double bed). It has a terrace with couch and table outside. The bath room was large and the supplied cosmetics were excellent. The mini bar soft drinks and water were complementary which is unusual. The linens were heavy duty including bathroom. The internet was free but a bit slow as is to be expected. You can pay for faster internet if you like. There is central AC which is fine. We paid the extra 25 JD to use the spa and all its facilities, several pools both indoors and out. Good drinks and friendly staff all around. We had stayed at the Marriot next door in May and it was more expensive and the room was not as nice. Both my wife and daughter had spa treatments for a little over 100 JD. We ate at the cafe that had live entertainment (a belly dancer who was quite good). We will come back. Of course there is the dead sea itself and it is always the same. Bring some plastic sandals as the entry into the water is rocky as there is no beach. Towels are very large and heavy. You can easily get burnt if you are not careful use your sunblock liberally. Having tried two resorts there, I prefer the Movenpick.

Room Tip: The E block of rooms are near the outdoor cafe and with the live music, it can be loud there. We swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

Firstly , I would like to thank you for kindly recommending our hotel to other travelers here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you have taken your time to share your positive memories of your stay with us.

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your visit and I would like to thank you for letting our team know how impressed you were with the service you receive as this is of great motivation to all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Dead Sea in the not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A good hotel if not the best to enjoy the Dead sea with its direct access and nice loungers to read your book while enjoying the view ! We stayed in a room in the Village area which was really nice (and it seems nicer than the rest though I didn't wander around much). Room and bathroom are nice and big. Nice breakfast, but the rest of the food / restaurant is really expensive and definitely a budget if you plan on staying a while. You *must* check out the SPA, not so much for the jaccuzzis and all but for the breathtaking view and the serenity from it. Staff is helpful but again the services from the hotel are very expensive, it's worth getting in touch with drivers and taxis before (eg the hotel will charge you over 60JD for a taxi ride to Madaba when it's in reality about 20).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antigone726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

I am happy to read that we succeeded in meeting or exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

However, I would like to note that with regards to the prices of our offers, a recently conducted price survey among resorts in our region has shown that our services are competitively priced accordingly.

Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Dead Sea is someplace to visit, but admittedly, it is not a great beach. It smells bad and the facilities are lacking. However, the Mövenpick does all it can to make a trip there wonderful. The hotel is very nicely designed, and the rooms are good. There is a sense of privacy that is surprising, and most places on the property have great views of the Dead Sea and Israel on the other side.

I was there for a conference, and the dinner they put on was wonderful. While food in Jordan is universally good, this meal was certainly a highlight of my stay.

The staff is friendly, making everyone feel welcome. I would certainly consider staying there again while on vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for providing us with your constructive and valuable feedback. We value that you have taken your time to write about your stay at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea.

Moreover, we would like to note that our team tries its best to make the entrance to the Dead Sea as easy as possible, however, due to the sinking water level this can be a hard challenge.

However, thank you for recommending our facilities, the design of our hotel and the service of our employees. We are very proud that we were able to satisfy your needs during your visit.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days as a base for sightseeing and to relax and enjoy the spa facilities. It's definitely worth paying extra for a day pass to the hydrotherapy spa facilities (the pass is free if you book a certain number of appointments totally a minimum of 100 JD). Aside from access to the Dead Sea (with lifeguards), there are a number of pools from which to choose. There are also a number of different restaurants -- we ate at 3 of them and never had a bad meal. The breakfast and dinner buffets in the main hotel are also very nice. There is a free business center with Internet access. One other thing: the free toiletries at this hotel may be the best I've ever used!

Room Tip: We were in the newer wing past the conference center. It was a longer walk to the hotel lobby, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Dead Sea!

We appreciate your kind feedback of your stay at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea.

Thank you for highlighting our services and facilities and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Moreover, please note that the amenities we provide in our rooms are 'Trinitae' products which are produced here in Jordan and they are already very popular all around.

We look forward welcoming you back to our resort in the near future and thank you for your continued support.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sweimah hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
900 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#6 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing