We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Day trip”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just went to the Moevenpick for the day while on a trip to Amman. It was wonderful! It is beautiful and the service was great. I can't speak to an overnight experience, but it is well worth it to leave Amman early in the morning and spend the day there just to return at night.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Dead Sea!

Thank you for sharing your kind comments of your visit to our Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea with us.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed a day at our pools and we do hope that the next time you visit us will be for an overnight experience.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    697
    348
    195
    181
See reviews for
636
865
159
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful property where we spent 2 nights with our teenage children. Staff was a bit inattentive at times, but overall good service. The rooms had a stale smoke odor in spite of being non-smoking rooms. Think housekeeping could be better, but no major issues. The outdoor facilities are great and the rooms just need a bit more attention and upkeep. Overall a good experience. Food was generally good(some was average though) and service was fine as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

It is of great pleasure to us to read that you have in general enjoyed your stay and that positive memories have remained with you.

However, we have also noted your feedback with regards to the service provided to you and we have shared your comments with our team to improve the mentioned points in the future.

We would welcome another opportunity of proving you that we are worthy your patronage to the Dead Sea.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you like big resorts this one works very well for families. You have direct access to the Dead Sea and plenty of pools, and can easily reach some of the other main attractions in Jordan.

Deluxe rooms are well designed, in a modern reconstruction of a village in low rise small blocks. All rooms have outside space, we were on the ground floor so had garden access which we were pleased with.

Processes like check in were very slow, not sure if this is due to IT issues or training of staff.

Zara Spa was good.

Breakfast is chaotic and stressed after about 8 am - there we never enough glasses/cups/saucers etc and areas of the buffet were not refilled as frequently as they needed to be to serve all the guests. This resulted in groups and individuals wandering around looking for the item they needed or trying to asked for help - little groups of discontented people milling between serving tables - not a great ambience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ServalontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for kindly describing and recommending our facilities to other travelers here on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind words and we may ensure that the standard of our services and facilities will be well maintained.

Furthermore, I am sorry to read that the check-in and breakfast was not up to your expectations. We have noted all your constructive comments and shared them with the department head concerned in order to improve all mentioned points. We truly appreciate you sharing your feedback, as it will assist us in bettering our services and facilities.

Our team wishes to be of service to you soon again to showcase you the standard the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea really stands for.

Kind regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Now that I am at the end of my second-trimester we had planned for a relaxing weekend.To my disappointment after a long day on the beach, turning in to bed I felt several bites on my legs and was surprised to find bugs all over the bed sheets and under our pillows. Their solution to the problem was to upgrade my room, yet I paid for the room at 50% discount!!!!!! It was the worst weekend ever and after 10 days now I am still suffering from severe itching and my husband bites are still being treated by anti-inflammatory.
Despite the fact that when I was on the beach I ordered for a beef burger and got it without beef, just imagine!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank LeenH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Kind greetings from the Dead Sea!

Thank you for giving me this opportunity to explain and apologize again to you.

I do sincerely hope you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards. It is a standard procedure to ensure that all our rooms are prepared and clean prior to check-in. When detecting this issue in your room, we wanted to ensure a hassle free stay for you, therefore moved you to a suite and discounted 50% of your bill to apologize for the inconvenience.

Your present feelings are appreciated, however, I do hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are 2 adults + 2 kids (6&9). Spent 2 nights in the beach rooms. Rooms are absolutely splendid and we had a good time. Room cleanliness could be better (kettle was dirty, room was dusty) but the room size, views and location were stunning. We were a stones throw from the dead sea. there is no real beach in the conventional sense; but a bathing area and you can venture out as far as you'd like. Lifeguards on duty ALL the time which is very reassuring. Lifeguards at the dead sea were very sweet and helpful; didnt interact at all with the ones at the pools.
Dead sea mud was kept in a large pot and you are welcome to play around as much as you want. Fun!. Showers closeby. Clean. Cold water only :)
Friday the resort was packed with day holidayers.
4 pools; with one that's heated. Our kids refused to go to the other pools once they'd been in the heated pool. There's a cute man-made beach pool for little kids; which is absolutely delightful for younger kids.
Food: SOme good, some average. Breakfast spread was great! Didnt eat the Asian food; so cant comment
Service: Very very good. Every time we asked for something, we got it. Happily.
Price: Expensive. Pinched a bit
Will I recommend it. Yes! For Dead Sea, I wont stay elsewhere; but the hotel can do better

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musingsinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Dead Sea!

Firstly I would like to thank you for providing us with your kind feedback. I am happy to read that you will recommend our beautiful resort to other travelers.

However, we have also noted your constructive comments with regards to the cleanliness of the rooms and the service of our lifeguards at the pool area. We are steadily working on improvement of our facilities and services and we will share your feedback with our employees to further do so.

Thank you for choosing the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea for your visit to the Dead Sea.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We were there with our 1 year old daughter and this is our 7th or 8th time. But also the last. We called ahead and asked them if we could get the room earlier. They talled us that the chech in was at 4pm but normally it is possible to get the room earlier. So we came at 1.30 pm. We could have some lunch first. The guy in the reseption told us that the room would be ready soon. They would call us. When it was 4pm- the actually check in time- and after being to the reseption 3-4 times my husband went again. They then told us that the room was still not finished! When we asked when it would be finished they told us at 5pm. We did not get the keys before 6.30. That is 2,5 hours after the time! We had to change at the bathroom- my daughter had to have her nap in the car!! When we got the room it was a living room and a bedroom. My daughter slept in the bedroom while my husband and I relaxed in the living room. When she woke up we wanted to open the door to pick her up- but the door was not possible to open. Two guys had to come and kick the door in. After tried everything else.

Btw; when we were in the reseption and our suitcases were with the personal at the door. Then I saw one of ours bag with dome other bags on its way to the elevator. I stopped the guy and told him that this was mine and that we still did not get any room yet. I gotta suitcase back. To many people working - also at the buffet- but no control.
A advise; have the coffee and the with the other drinks so people can take it themselfs. Several people complains on this one.

This is sad, because we liked Mövenpick Dead Sea. Time to try something else like the others of my friends. To much small things that destroys your holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for kindly taking your time and providing us with your thorough feedback. As you had informed us that you will be returning to our resort and you faced issues already the last time you stayed with us, we had upgraded you to one of our Village Suites and we truly wanted to meet your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience.

We have also received your feedback from our internal guest satisfaction survey and our Resident Manager has replied to you today.
However, after reading your comments as well here on TripAdvisor I would like to express my apologies for the hassle you went through during your stay. I may assure you that we have shared your feedback today with all our Department Heads and we will take action to improve our service levels and facilities.

I have noted that you do not want to return to our hotel at the moment. However, if you do change your mind, please be so kind to notify either our Resident Manager or me personally in order for us to take good care of you.

Thank you and kind regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Would have liked to have spent more than one night there. Location is perfect, abutting the Dead Sea- you can walk straight down to sea, with changing facilities. Super pool and lots of facilities. Large low rise development with good sized room and bathroom with Dead Sea Mineral goodies. We arrived in early hours of morning(due to flight schedule) and they had left sandwiches in the room- a nice touch. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Kind greetings from the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your short stay to the full extent. Thank you very much for your good description of our hotel facilities and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort for a longer visit.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sweimah hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing