We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Peaceful & charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This resort is right on the Dead Sea and is nestled in a remote & peaceful area. If you're looking for a place to enjoy the unique qualities of the Dead Sea, this is it! We were a party of three (self,spouse & friend) touring Jordan and this was our first stop. A great way to be introduced to the Jordanian countryside before going on to the extra-special Petra! (See my review of Petra)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franc-Rapallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We are delighted to read such praise for our hotel. Many thanks for taking your time to post your positive memories and thoughts of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to our resort, we truly hope that your travels bring you back to the Dead Sea, maybe even in the warmer Summer months.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    688
    344
    191
    181
See reviews for
628
856
157
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat Oman
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My stay in Moevenpick was in 2009. The resort is organised like a citadel surrounded by fences. The main building is at the road level. Then the resort terrain is sloping towards the Dead Sea. Inside of the yard you will find exotic garden with small river stream, bungalows, restaurants, terraces, at night in dim light - shadow mosaic. Near the open Arena where live shows are taking place while you are dinning, is one very old Olive tree.
The room was decorated in greek or roman stile. Good breakfast. In all the restaurants you can taste the Jordanian wine along with wide selection of food.
I consider a good measure of personal safety the scanning of the car and luggage's at the arrival and anytime when we returned from trips.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoletaSimionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Dead Sea!

We are thrilled to read such praise for the services and facilities we provided to you. We are delighted that your stay with us has remained more than a positive memory and that we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

It would be a pleasure for us to be of service to you soon again and we do hope that your travels will bring you back to the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We upgraded our rooms and got the room in Wadi Rum section with Dead Sea view. The rooms on first glance looked awesome but close inspection showed dusty furniture and dirty mugs. When we asked the staff to replace the mugs, he tried to wash those in our room and when he couldn't clean it he never got the replacements.
The Dead Sea experience and heated pools were the highlights but dinner in the Italian restaurant was a downer. The food was burnt and tasteless. After complaining about the food, it took five men and half-and-hour to say sorry and not charge for the bad dish.However, the belly dancing and sheesha were good.
The breakfast was the only saving grace when it came to food. Overall, the staff experience was bad for a five star hotel. They need to improve the service mentality to deserve that rating.

Room Tip: Negotiate to get a better view room. Wadi Rum section has the best view and worth paying little extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamAAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We would like to thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate you recommending the entertainment, wonderful beach rooms and vast recreation facilities we offer in our resort.

On the other hand I would like to apologize for the various shortcomings you have encountered in different areas of our hotel. We have noted your feedback and we have certainly shared your comments with our team in order to avoid such observation in the future.

Our team would be more than pleased to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future in order to show you an advancement of our services.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days and overall the reputation of the hotel is higher than the reality. The access to the Dead Sea was atrocious and should have been better. The pathways for walking where not very even and you could easily trip up and fall down. Everything is very expensive even the water at £1 a bottle. The tap water is perfectly adequate. All the staff were most helpful. However the room cleaning was erratic and not done until the early evening. This I think is because all the domestic work is carried out by men who are not as fussy as women. The in house car rental run by Hertz is to be avoided as it is much more expensive than other car hire firms. The cars with a driver on various half and day trips are eye wateringly expensive by any western standards. So beware arrange the car hire beforehand. Similarly with drinks by the pool. If you think of the cost in England, triple it here and you are near the mark. After all it is a Muslim country. Overall the stay was very relaxing but rather let down by what is offered for the price.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for taking your time to share your precious comments with us. We are happy to read that you were able to experience the hospitality and friendliness Jordanians are renowned for.

We understand that the access to the Dead Sea can be quite difficult, especially with the very oily Dead Sea water, therefore, our life guards are in place to assist our guests. Furthermore, please note that the Hertz desk in our lobby does not only provide drivers with cars, they do offer rental cars for JOD 35 per day in order to cater for diverse guest needs.

Our Executive Housekeeper has taken careful note of your feedback and we do apologize for any inconvenience caused to you. Furthermore, please be informed that we do not recommend to drink tab water, therefore, we do provide a free minibar (with a daily complimentary refill) to our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea for your vacation. We would be more than happy if your travels bring you back to the Dead Sea in the future.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here on 2 separate nights in Jan 2013, and we were not impressed either time.

Room had dusty floor (like it hadn't been swept), room was smelly/musty (like dirty water smell), even though we had booked more than 3 months prior, they did not have a king room and gave us a twin room, for a 5 star hotel did not have all the amenities - the safe was broken, the were no slippers provided, service was slow, restaurants were closed. Generally disappointed.

The pools are great, the access to dead sea is great, the grounds are amazing. But the experience was not good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattiwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback of your stay with the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea here on TripAdvisor. We value our guests’ comments and we appreciate receiving your constructive review.

Please note that our ‘Grill’ restaurant is currently closed due to urgent maintenance works, however, we do offer a range of other restaurants, bars and lounges which are operating at the regular timings.

I am concerned to read that you have left our hotel disappointed and that we were not able to meet your expectations. We have noted your comments and I would be thankful if you would send me a message with your details (Barbara.Steinort@moevenpick.com) in order for us to check your room and take action accordingly. We have shared your review with all our team and our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer have implemented an action plan to avoid the points you have singled out in the future.

Our team would appreciate another chance to win you back as our guest and to showcase their 5-Star service better. Please be so kind to inform me personally if you decide to return to our resort and I will ensure that your next stay will remain a positive memory.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a little r&r following a super week long tour of Jordan. Our room was lovely and we took advantage of the opportunity to swim in the Dead Sea. It’s a short trek through the hotel grounds to reach the sea but it was a memorable and interesting if somewhat over-rated experience. Swimming and relaxing in the sunshine around the pool afterwards felt great however.

We ate in the buffet restaurant in the evening which would have been OK but we’d become somewhat bored by the buffet experience after staying in the sister hotel in Petra. As in Petra, lots of choice but nothing special. The a-la-carte restaurant didn’t appeal either. We enjoyed the variety and quality of the fare presented at breakfast however.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recentvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

Many thanks for kindly recommending our services and facilities. We appreciate your feedback and we would like to assure you that we do take our guest comments very serious. We value your review, as it helps us to improve the quality of our offers.

I would like to inform you that beside our ‘Al Saraya’ buffet restaurant we do have a variety of bars, restaurants and lounges, where you can order A la carte. Moreover, please find following link, to have a closer look of our food & beverage facilities: http://www.moevenpick-hotels.com/en/middle-east/jordan/amman/resort-dead-sea/restaurants/.

It was of great pleasure being of service to you and our team is looking forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having spent several days touring Petra we made the trip to the Dead Sea and stayed here for three nights.Security is very good, check in was seamless and informative, the welcome drink was delivered like i have never seen before and my daughter loved it.
We were in the main building and the rooms were a generous size and well appointed. We had booked interconnecting rooms so our 16 year daughter could have her own space and we could move about as we wanted given the fact that teens seem to sleep forever.
We had breakfast in the main restaurant each morning and we found the selection and quality first rate. The traditional food of the region was on offer and was very nice.
We also had the buffet dinner one night and again the variety and quality was first rate. The price for any food was very reasonable and in line with what we pay here in Australia. We tried the local Jordanian wine which was first class. On several occasions in Jordan we tried the local wine and every time we found it to be very good. Some red wines leave me with a splitting headache but not these wines.
Room service was used on the first night and it was prompt and of a very high standard. We also had some Moevenpick icecream afterwards which the person who took our order advised we should have when convenient after our meal and it would be brought to our room. Good service.
My wife and daughter had a couple of treatments in the spa and their feedback was that the standard was extremely good. I used the facilities as well and whilst there is a JD 25 charge i felt it was good value and it keeps the large crowds at bay allowing those who want to relax the opportunity to do so.
We enjoyed the arabic foods on offer and also the desserts which where first class. The waiter at the bar took the time to explain how Turkish coffee is made and with the addition of cardamon it was a great taste and as advised, we had post meal to aid digestion. (don't drink the entire beverage or you will have the sediment of coffee grinds to deal with)
The hotel uses Hertz to organise tours and we did one through Baptism, Mt Nebo and Madaba. The driver was great and he tolerated my endless questions of everything to do with the region, politics and religion to reduce my ignorance on each topic.
Room amenities were spot on and the wireless (imperative for my teenage daughter) fast and good value at 5JD for 24 hours.
Overall a great resort, great food and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We are thrilled to read your lovely review of your stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to post your recommendation here on TripAdvisor. We would like to inform you that your feedback is a true motivation for all our employees to provide the finest service. We are more than happy that you encountered the excellent service and facilities our resort is renowned for.

Moreover, we do hope that you decide to return to our hotel in the not too distant future. Therefore, please be advised that we do have interconnecting beach rooms available, with spacious private terraces, from which you can access the Dead Sea and beach area swiftly, which is definitely an advantage in the hotter summer months.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sweimah hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#6 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing