We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movenpick Dead Sea the perfect place to finish our Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Reviewed December 4, 2012

After spending ten weeks travelling Europe and The Middle East, we spent our last night at Moevenpick Resort, Dead Sea and were not disappointed. Our check in person Amer was fantastic and in his perfect English he did his best to accommodate us when we arrived before the check in time and upgraded us as well. The resort itself is set out like an Arab village, great atmosphere and impeccable gardens. The room was spacious with a lovely wide balcony and a free mini bar. Everything had a 5 star feel about it. We swam in the Dead Sean, enjoyed a spectacular sunset, two for one drinks in the bar and were served a sumptuous breakfast and fresh juice from the attentive waiter, Salomon. Overall, we couldn't fault our experience. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a private pool and spa which we didn't utilise. We preferred to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fran_terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Dead Sea!

Many thanks for your candid review. We are very pleased that we have achieved our goal to provide you with a fantastic experience at our Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea.

I have passed on your commendation to Amer and Salomon, whom you have so kindly singled out for taking great care of you.

We hope that you have had a safe trip home and that we might have the honor of welcoming you back to the Dead Sea in the near future.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,508 - 1,514 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

I typically stay at Marriotts worldwide and decided to choose the Moevenpick. Check in took over 30 minutes. Our room had a broken window shade, non-functioning shower drain, fan that was either off or on hurricane force, a mini bar that had a half eaten yogurt from a previous guest and dirty chairs in the outside patio area. Had to call service several times to get water for the room (which should have been in the complimentary minibar) and to get an extra bed for the kids.

However, property is very nice, spa is very good and food was good.

Room Tip: Main building supposedly has renovated rooms, so try to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to review your recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that our Zara Spa, food & beverage offers and vast grounds have exceeded your expectations.

On the other hand I am concerned to read about the service and issues you encountered in your room. We do take your constructive comments very serious. Therefore, I would appreciate if you would be so kind to contact me (Barbara.Steinort@moevenpick.com) and provide me with further information (your room number, the date you stayed with us) in order for us to investigate these matters.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. Our Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea team would hope that you would give us another chance to show you our true commitment to hospitality.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Staying in Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea is really relaxing after a whole day long drive.
The hotel is equip with great hardware, room/public recreation area ... etc.
The food is the Italian restaurant is sort of average in my opinion, but breakfast is stunning. Overall I will recommend this hotel if you got a chance to stay in dead sea and wish to enjoy the dead sea mud in a really short distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roderick_Hsiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear valued guest,

We are grateful for your support and kind recommendation. Thank you for singling out many positive elements of the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea.

We do hope to have the pleasure of being of service to you soon again.

Best regards,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The welcome kehva was a nice touch, the room assigned to me was nice, large, clean, well-lit and aesthetically pleasing. This was a standard double room on the main rooms block (not the village rooms). The view out the balcony was not Dead Sea view and even though I asked for this, was told this was not available in the standard rooms, which I felt was a little unfair given the high price.

The bathroom was clean and very artistically done and huge too. The shower/water pressure was amazing.

The life guards at the beach are very pleasant and dependable. Generally the hotel staff is helpful, though service is a little slow. Check out was the slowest.

The wifi at the hotel is not free except in the lobby area, which can be an annoyance as the resort is sprawling and my room was very far away (atleast 10 minutes brisk walk) from it. In the rooms, wifi is priced exorbitantly, so that from the 100+ people I know who stayed there while I did, hardly anyone purchased it.


Travelled solo for business

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zkhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Greetings from the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea!

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you remained with many positive memories.

We have shared your feedback with our team and we are steadily working on improving our service levels to maintain the standard our hotel is renowned for.

Please be informed that our IT Director is currently looking at different options for providing the Internet services to our guests more conveniently in the future.

If you decide to return to our resort, please be advised that Superior rooms in the main building are priced slightly higher, but are all sea view facing, therefore, really worth the price difference.

Our team wishes to be of service to you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

very friendly local staff, beautiful room and bathroom, perfectly situated to Dead sea, beautiful SPA! beautiful place to stay for sunsets. we were only missing some more local food, for example a local restaurant. the breakfast is very good too, international specialities as well as local ones. Reception and Guest relations staff is very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from the Dead Sea!

Many thanks for taking your time to post your comments here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read your kind feedback and we would like to inform you that your review is a great motivation to all our team. Your comments are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of the products and services we offer to our guests.

We wish to welcome you back to your home away from home in the near future.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Karge complex with amazing pools and beaches. The spa is a must see. Close to nearby attractions like lots wife, baptism sight, mount nebo and madaba. Many places to eat. Just watch your spending, it all adds up!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricaLilly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear valued guest,

It was of great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel and we are thankful that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our passion for hospitality. We very much appreciate your positive feedback, in particular your kind comments with regards to our facilities.

Our Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea team is looking forward to another occasion of being your host.

Best wishes,

Barbara Steinort
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having read the latest reviews on the day of approaching the Movenpick Dead Sea I was filled with apprehension. The fears proved founded. Unfortunately for such a beautiful setting and with so many facilities the place just lets itself down. Firstly note one thing - the check in is 4pm. YES 4pm. I can't think of any hotel in the world where check in is 4pm. I am sure there are some but none which aspires to a 5 star billing. Then invariably - as other reviewers have pointed out - the room you booked is not available. But, lo and behold, despite the place being half full,while they cannot fulfil your booking they can find another so-called better room with twin rather than king beds. While the pool and man made beach are very nice, the route down to the Dead Sea (surely this place's main attraction) is a mess, A broken promenade which seems to be in some state of collapse gives way to crumbling, rock filled steps offering a rickety hand rail for support. The platform which leads out to the Dead Sea can be reached only over sharp slippy rocks and is frankly uncomforttable at best and dangerous at worst without reef or water shoes. Flip flops are not ideal as a discarded one thrown into the rocks testifies. The rooms are pleasant enough but there are strange growrths of a filler type material seeping from between the shelves. Throw in a few feral cats wandering the property or staring longingly through the window, staff who barely speak a language other than Arabic (not their fault) leads to delays in the delivery of any requested items. The response to a broken parasol and a lack of cushions on an admitedly hug terrace was for a staff member to leap the wall and borrow the necessary items from next door. It is such a shame. It could be so good and I am sure that Barbara S will thank me for the feedback but in a troubled time for tourism in Jordan in particular and Middle East in general she needs to do more than offer thanks. She needs to sharpen up the act if this hotel isn't going to fade into the shadows of neighbouring properties.

Room Tip: Go for Beach rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear valued guest,

We appreciate receiving your constructive comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

As you have read some of the other TripAdvisor Reviews which I have replied to, you were maybe able to see that check-in time is at 4pm and if the room is not ready we do offer our guests the use of our facilities. Furthermore, our check-in and check-out time is clearly stated in our various booking channels.

Our hotel is located at the Dead Sea, Jordan, therefore, almost all our employees are Jordanian and native Arabic speakers. I understand that not all of our team members have excellent English skills, but we do support them by offering English classes which they attend to improve the service they provide and to mend the language barrier.

Our Director of Engineering and Recreation Manager are currently looking into diverse options to enhance the access to the Dead Sea, as the natural rocks can make entering the Dead Sea quite tricky.

I am sorry that I have not actually met you while you were in our hotel, as I am certain that we could have met your expectations and that we could have made your stay special. Your concerns have been reviewed with the Heads of Department and I can ensure you that we do take your feedback very seriously.

We would be more than happy if you would give us a chance to regain your confidence in our services and facilities. If you decide to return to our resort please be so kind to advise me personally of your travel plans.

Yours truly,

Barbara Steinort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sweimah hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel Resort
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road, Sweimah 11180, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#6 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range: $90 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the lowest point on Earth. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea and its picturesque village setting are there to fulfill you every wish. The resort features an exceptional environment for business events, one of the largest, most advanced spas of the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Dead Sea
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Hotel Sweimah
Moevenpick Hotel Amman
Moevenpick Hotel Dead Sea
Movenpick Dead Sea
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing